We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing”
Review of Sala Prabang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sala Prabang
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed at Sala prabang during the low season so although there were still plenty of people around the road along the riverfront where Sala prabang is sited was fairly quiet at night. Never had any complaint about losing sleep due to noise. The rooms were comfortable and serene decor in beautifully resorted French colonial style villa. We were in an annexe just down from the main building. No mini bar in room but some are available. Fresh bottled water every day and an adequate if not 'flash' breakfast. No pastries but terrific house made fresh yoghurt to have with fresh season fruit each morning. Would recommend this hotel but ask for a room with fridge so you can sit on the balcony and enjoy a cold beer Lao and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovLifeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 266 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2011

If you check out the architecture collection in the library, you will begin to understand that a lot of thought and technical talent went into the hotel's restoration. The use of natural materials such as stone and bamboo and the simple design accentutate the serene feel of the common areas and the rooms. As others have said, don't bother paying a premium for a 'river view' as trees hide it. And, with the wonderful weaving taking place in the area, its unfortunate that they haven't incorporated them into the decorations. The breakfast, across the street and overlooking the Mekong was very tasty and certainly atmospheric. We did hear noise as the street came to life after dark.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicspics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The Sala Prabang seems to be in a great situation, right beside the Mekong river in Luang Prabang. However that is also its drawback, as we found the situation made it very noisy, mostly as a result of motor bikes and tuk tuks late in the evening. This is a small hotel in a converted colonial-era building, which also means it has little sound insulation. We also found we had minimal hanging space for clothes and no drawer space at all. However the breakfast restaurant across the road and overlooking the Mekong was a very attractive place to eat and the breakfast was good. The position did also mean that we were in easy walking distance of most of the key attractions of Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OxfordMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed in another building of the hotel around the corner for 5 nights.
The rooms are minimalist...no decorations, small but neat and clean. However, the walls are paper thin. We heard our next door neighbor coughing through the night. Heard people leaving at 5:00AM which sounded loud enough to be in our room.
The room has only a bed or beds and 8 inch wide hanging space in an open wardrobe with absolutely no place to put your clothes but the floor.
Toilet not sealed to tiles on floor properly so there was leakage on the floor and a constant fetid smell. Bathroom sink also leaked.
Breakfast was a chaotic affair. Although breakfast was served from 7:00- 10:00AM if you were not early the fruit was gone and not replenished. They didn't bring you a coffee or tea to your table . It was self serve all the way from toast to eggs with 1/4 of a peice of fatty bacon placed on your plate with a que for everything. It was rare that all our breakfast was warm at the same time. There is ONE slow speed computer for all guests! Not only did you have to wait on line to use it but every guest complained about the intolerably slow speed. We gave up and went down the street to a high speed internet cafe.
Guests were instructed to remove their shoes BEFORE entering the hotel vestibule however on two occasions I saw one of the managers having a meeting with barefoot guests while he was fully shod!
The staff were wonderful and helpful however there are so many better places to stay for the high price that they ask. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trulyByronBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The previous reviews for this hotel are very mixed, but we thought it was lovely. We stayed in the main building, in a 'riverview room' (rather misnamed, as though it did face the river, the view from the balcony was obscured by trees - but still very pleasant). The room was large, the beds comfortable, we had a perfectly reasonable wardrobe, the water was hot, the bathroom a good size, and it was a great pleasure to sit on the balcony at the end of a long day (and we did have two chairs, unlike a previous reviewer). Staff very helpful, and breakfast good. Our room was quite quiet, even though it faced the street (and I'm a very light sleeper)

Other reviews have talked about the lack of heating - it was quite chilly, in December, but we just asked for extra blankets, and slept very cozily!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelquestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We were in the annex and had a room, with a small balcony, overlooking the river.

The rooms are not huge and hanging facilities are minimal. But they are clean and comfortable.

Service was fine. The annex had a concierge/porter on duty all day and night.

Breakfast was outdoors overlooking the river. The owner told me that he was not serving dinners on the terrace as it was currently too cold to offer good hot food.

No WiFi but a free PC running the slowest internet I have seen in decades. But it was there if one needed it - and every other cafe seemed to be offering free WiFi for the internet obsessed.

The hotel is in a good location for exploring LP.

Totally recommended.

T&C

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandCFulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

we stayed at the Sala for 4 days for our second visit , I have only praise for all the staff and management and the owner was also very attentive and remembered us. I do not understand the last review as there was a safe in our room and nothing not even a piece of paper was thrown out. It was a lovely peaceful atmosphere and NO television But just cross the road to watch the activities of the mekong was great .Would recomend this to anybody wanting a peaceful happy holiday, Thanks to all and hello to Sydney the happy dog

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbensonCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#24 of 71 in Luang Prabang
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#37 of 71 in Luang Prabang
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 71 in Luang Prabang
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#35 of 71 in Luang Prabang
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala Prabang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Prabang

Address: 81/1 Ounkham Road, Ban Xieng Mouane, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $56 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sala Prabang 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sala Prabang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Prabang Hotel Luang Prabang
Sala Prabang Luang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing