We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and staff”
Review of Apple Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place and staff”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here five nights and liked it a lot! Location is central but still quiet in a nice alley. The owner couple is great and really friendly. There is also a nice balcony with free coffee and tea! Price is cheap for that quality.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanjasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy S, Owner at Apple Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Tanjasai,

On be half of Apple Guesthouse, I would like to say "THANK YOU SO MUCH" for your review. We all appreciate what you have rated for us. We are sorry if we have done not good enough for you while you were staying with us, we hope to do more for your next return and would improve all the weak points those indicating at the guesthouse. All over all, we are very happy for your review.

Warm Regards
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    64
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
80
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at Apple Guest House for about a week in October 2013. The place had just reopened, so all the rooms were new, spacious and clean, and really good value!
It's located in the old town, just meters from the Mekong. Great location with lots of good riverside restaurants nearby, and just one block from the main street.
Jimmy, the owner is really friendly and helpful, and speaks perfect english. I felt very welcome in this place, and it will be my number one choice when I return to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReiseVegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy S, Owner at Apple Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Vegar,

Thank you so much for your excellent review that you have given Apple Guesthouse, on be half of Apple Guesthouse I appreciate every minute of your time and your effort that you put toward this review.
Vegar, My wife and I are really really happy to see your fabulous comment on the TripAdvisor and we are glad to hear that you had good time while you were staying at the guesthouse. I really hope Apple Guesthouse would have an opportunity to see you again in the future.

Look forwards to hearing from you soon Vegar " miss you my friend"

Warm Regards
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a lovely looking guesthouse with a great location but it is definitely more expensive than it should be.

Our double room was tiny, the water shut off for much of one day and the cable tv kept malfunctioning (when you are paying for such things it is nice to have them work). Although they were willing to give us a small discount for these troubles. The beds were not comfortable.

We had wanted to book some tours and a bus onward through the guesthouse. The staff were indeed very friendly and tried to be helpful but they didn't speak english very well so we decided to wait to discuss it with the owner. We ended up waiting three days because every time we asked for him, he was out on some errand or away for the day.

Also, for what we were paying, we would expect our room to be made up daily, our bathroom cleaned and the garbage taken out, but this was not the case. We had to ask for more toilet paper when it ran out and for the garbage to be delt with (considering what goes in bathroom bin this was quite gross). By the end of our 5 night stay there was mold accumulating in the bathroom sink.

The general sentiment is in the title of this review. The place looks lovely and charming but looks aren't everything. There are much better values out there.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice looking with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelcie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy S, Owner at Apple Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Kelcie Y,

First of all, I would like to say Thank you for your review that you given to Chanthanome Guesthouse. Kelcie, I totally understand your frustration and stressful feeling when you need information but you could not get it right away.

Anyway, Luang Prabang has no Chanthanome Guesthouse that you have stayed anymore. I, Jimmy have bought that guesthouse and changed the name to Apple Guesthouse so i'm a new owner and manager. I have done major renovation and built 3 more rooms and improved most of facility in the guesthouse. Even though internet, i have upgraded to high speed internet and add more router into the building so you can surf internet inside the bedrooms and anywhere around the building I also purchased LED TVs for every room upstair and changing new beds for some room etc. I am sure it will be better than previous owner managing the guesthouse you stayed last time. I have heard a previous owner could not speak any English.

By any chance you come to Luang Prabang please come to say hello. My name is Jimmy, I am an owner/manger of Apple Guesthouse. I have graduated University degree from Thailand so I could speak English quite ok "no worry" I can have a conversation with you when you come to visit me next time. I will try to answer any questions you would like to ask as much as i can.
Apple Guesthouse was born in 25/08/2013, now it fully open for tourist who come to visit Luang Prabang. The door of the guesthouse is opened for everyone please come and stay with us.

Look forwards to meeting you in the near future

Best Regards
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Guesthouse

Property: Apple Guesthouse
Address: Xatikhoumman Rd | Xiengmoun Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apple Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Guest House offers quaint, personalized and friendly 10 room accommodation in the heart of this unique UNESCO heritage city, just behind the main tourist street and two doors from the mighty Mekong River and its varied restaurants for all budgets. A short walk will get you to the major attractions; temples, restaurants, tourist information, tours, and morning and night markets are just around the corner. Rooms are spotlessly maintained; many in teak, which is the traditional Lao style. All have air conditioning, fan, free Wifi, LED TV with CNN, BBC, HBO and the Australian network. The two superior rooms each have their own private balconies overlooking the quiet streetscape. One superior double room has a fantastic brand new private bamboo porch creating a stylish romantic atmosphere for people like "YOU". Our family rooms are very spacious. And the customer service by Lao owner Jimmy (a former Buddhist monk and who has lived with his Australian family for 12 years) and his beautiful wife "Nou", is truly exceptional. They both speak excellent English, have good local knowledge of the city and countryside and are very helpful with Tuk Tuk, travel and tour bookings.  The common balcony upstairs overlooks the alleyway’s activities, where you can sit and enjoy free tea, coffee, cool water and magazines, and is a popular place for people using the free WiFi.   Nou and Jimmy invite you to come and experience our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apple Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing