We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Performance of the Lao Staff! Congratulations!”

the balcony by Lanith
Ranked #90 of 226 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $7 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Dear Customers The Balcony restaurant is CLOSED FOR TRAINING PURPOSES at the moment - thank you all so much for your support. Our training centre is in full time training - for information on the Lanith Passport to Success training program please contact the email address shown A RESTAURANT WITH A CAUSE! The Balcony is a restaurant with a cause. As a social enterprise all of our profits are reinvested into community development by providing access to international standard food and beverage skills training for young Laotians aspiring for a career in the dynamic hospitality and tourism industry. Exposure to a real life culinary environment, coupled with rigorous classroom learning is the backdrop for changing lives. As Laos' leading provider of hospitality and tourism education and training, the Lao National Institute of Tourism and Hospitality (Lanith) has operated the Balcony since 2013 as a training restaurant. All staff have been certified by Lanith to deliver service on an international level. These highly motivated locals are eager to exceed your expectations by focusing on every detail and to ensure an unforgettable dining experience. We are just minutes from downtown Luang Prabang, but light years from the tourist hordes. Step into the Balcony's spacious restaurant just moments away from Laos' ancient capital and make yourself comfortable overlooking Nam Dong river and the mountain panorama. Come join us for a memorable dining experience or stay in one of our four guest rooms and help us to make a difference in the local community. Our menu mainstays include signature seasonal dishes based on local ingredients some grown in our herb garden. We also offer a vast line up of top-shelf cocktails and a growing wine list. We pride ourselves on delivering top quality service and train our staff, from waiters to cooks, through our award-winning Passport to Success industry training programme. Come and stay with us! We offer four guest rooms and we also have a meeting room facility. The Balcony is open during the tourism high season from September until April. From May to August we do open for bookings with a minimum of five people - just phone the day before. WE PROVIDE FREE TRANSPORT!
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was actually on mission to visit the Balcony to discover the training quality that the Lao staff had undergone. Veronica and Chef Pit was on their holiday in Vangvieng on that day and the Balcony was run by the young Lao team. On my arrival to the main entrance of the Balcony, there was a sign posted at the door "Welcome Mr. Inthasone" which makes me feel like a VIP guest. Christmas, the potential future Balcony Manager met me at the door calling my name with a great smile leading me to my room. The room was clean and tidy with a big balcony looking towards the garden and creek. Beautiful scene so I kept the door open for the whole night.

I visited the kitchen and talked to the young Lao potential famous chefs. One boy and four girls, well dressed in Chef's outfit, very clean and tidy kitchen indeed and very professional. I requested for the best menu they could offer and they advice me the set menu. To my surprise, I was served with a welcoming starter "Present of Balcony" followed by Rosita Rice and Buffalo Cheek. This was the first experience to have such tasty European food "made in Laos" by young Lao Chefs from Lao buffalo! The taste of each dish is remarkable and at lot better than many five stars hotel in Thailand that I have stayed. It has a unique taste. The desert was also delicious and lots of chocolate. The cocktails were as good as any other cocktail bar. The breakfasts at the balcony of the room were very well prepared as well. This was a memorable visit for me and will share my experience with all my friends.

Congratulations to Christmas and all his team mates, who for the first time to run the Balcony bar by themselves and allow Veronica and Pit to have a nice break in Vangvieng. Hope to see you and your team take over the Balcony Bar in the near future when the project comes to an end.

Congratulations to Veronica and Pit as well. You have done a great job just in a short time period. You now have the true followers who will be following your footsteps. Wish you all the best and success in your life.

Thank you very much for your hospitality!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Inthasone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear valued Guest,

we are very happy to see that you liked the balcony and the whole Lanith concept!

The team says thank you for this fabulous review!

All the best
Veronica Heintz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 61 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

What a little treasure this place is. If you are craving a little 5 star experience then this is it. The food was prepared with love and an expert hand. The flavours were well balanced and popped in your mouth. This place only leaves you wanting more. The menu was simple but executed perfectly. A highlight being the chorizos sausage dumpling. Make sure you leave room for dessert, you won't be disappointed. The cocktail list is also fun, a bit left of centre which I loved. I had the mango sangria. This dinner was only made better by being picked up and dropped off by the shuttle service - run by the restaurant. Note this restaurant doesn't take cards so make sure you take enough cash. Not expensive compared to western standards. We spent about 800000 kip which included 4 cocktails and a 4 course meal x 2 people.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pickledpenguin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear valued guest,

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your dinner and our cocktails, especially the Mango Sangria!

Thank you for this wonderful review!

Regards,
Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Someone said yes. Someone said no. But someone we trusted said yes, so we went. And the vehicle picked us up in old Luang Prabang and drove us out to heaven knows where - for a totally unforgettable experience. Delectable haute cuisine in a beautiful environment served by beautiful Lao waiters under the supervision of Luxembourg chef and manager. The food was sublime and creative. The waiting staff were impeccably and chicly attired. The whole experience was beyond what we had expected when we arrived in Luang Prabang a few days ago. Anyone who doesn't give themselves this experience needs their head testing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear valued Guest,

thank you for this lovely review, we appreciate very much! The team is very happy that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We are looking forward to meet you in LPQ once again.

Best Regards,
Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

It's all about customer service here and the friendly, attentive staff really out shined other restaurants in the area. Food quality and freshness was very good. Unfortunately, we went on a very hot evening and there is no air conditioning. We sat on the balcony in the hopes of catching a breeze or two (which didn't happen) and there were a lot of flies bugging us throughout the meal. I think this place would really be super top notch if they either had air conditioning and/or some kind of screen on the balcony to fend off bugs. I'm sure this is not an issue during the cooler season, but the temperature and bug number certainly ended our dinner earlier than we would have liked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear valued guest,

we appreciate your review on Tripadvisor and want to say thank you for this excellent comment about our restaurant and staff.

Please let us know next time and we would put in place our ventilators to make your dinner even more comfortable.

Regards,
Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We couldn't believe our luck when we ate here. We saw a card advertising the restaurant, phoned to book a table and they offered to collect us as it is a 10 minute ride in a tuktuk downriver from the centre. We ate a gastronomic dinner and had very good wine - like eating at a top London restaurant. The owners and staff were really friendly too and we loved the whole evening. Choose from 2 set menus or a la carte-we had the gastronomic special at 275 kip and it was worth every kip!! If you want something special, try this and you won't regret it. They then took us home again, of course!!! Just brilliant......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jacque1b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and we sincerely appreciate that you have visited the balcony during your stay in Luang Prabang! and we want to say special thank you for highlighting our good services and friendly staff.

Warm Regards,
Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the balcony by Lanith also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to the balcony by Lanith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing