We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the balcony by Lanith

the balcony by Lanith
Ranked #59 of 199 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $7 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Dear Customers The Balcony restaurant is CLOSED FOR TRAINING PURPOSES at the moment - thank you all so much for your support. Our training centre is in full time training - for information on the Lanith Passport to Success training program please contact the email address shown A RESTAURANT WITH A CAUSE! The Balcony is a restaurant with a cause. As a social enterprise all of our profits are reinvested into community development by providing access to international standard food and beverage skills training for young Laotians aspiring for a career in the dynamic hospitality and tourism industry. Exposure to a real life culinary environment, coupled with rigorous classroom learning is the backdrop for changing lives. As Laos' leading provider of hospitality and tourism education and training, the Lao National Institute of Tourism and Hospitality (Lanith) has operated the Balcony since 2013 as a training restaurant. All staff have been certified by Lanith to deliver service on an international level. These highly motivated locals are eager to exceed your expectations by focusing on every detail and to ensure an unforgettable dining experience. We are just minutes from downtown Luang Prabang, but light years from the tourist hordes. Step into the Balcony's spacious restaurant just moments away from Laos' ancient capital and make yourself comfortable overlooking Nam Dong river and the mountain panorama. Come join us for a memorable dining experience or stay in one of our four guest rooms and help us to make a difference in the local community. Our menu mainstays include signature seasonal dishes based on local ingredients some grown in our herb garden. We also offer a vast line up of top-shelf cocktails and a growing wine list. We pride ourselves on delivering top quality service and train our staff, from waiters to cooks, through our award-winning Passport to Success industry training programme. Come and stay with us! We offer four guest rooms and we also have a meeting room facility. The Balcony is open during the tourism high season from September until April. From May to August we do open for bookings with a minimum of five people - just phone the day before. WE PROVIDE FREE TRANSPORT!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is a fantastic restaurant with terrific food and some of the best restaurant service I have come across in Laos - a country where service and quality dining is often in short supply.

The a la carte menu was as good as anything you could eat in a quality restaurant in the west, with an original mix of flavours, excellent presentation and attention to detail.The waiting staff were very attentive to our needs without being overly present. The setting is also inviting: fresh, modern and stylish. We sat on the balcony - as the restaurant's name suggested we should - and enjoyed a cool breeze and a nice view over tropical garden. We were told the menu will be switching to Tapas in another month or two.

The Balcony is about 10 minutes out of town. But it wasn't a problem. The restaurant runs a free shuttle to pick guests up in town. Our tuk-tuk came to the door of our hotel and dropped us home again after the meal. No waiting at either end and no extra charge.

There was also another reason we wanted to eat here .. the Balcony is not an ordinary restaurant .. it is part of a training school that teaches restaurant and hospitality skills to young Lao people, and hopefully lift skills training in the industry and set a benchmark for other restaurants. Yet it seems the Lao staff here could teach a few tips to staff at many other more established, more expensive and better-known restaurants I've been to in Laos.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antipode222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your dinner with us and we want to thank you for this excellent review! We shared your comment with the whole team.

Warm Regards,
Veronica Heintz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
“International Gastronomy with a discreet Laotian Touch !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I agree with other reviews giving this restaurant an "excellent" mark. In my opinion, this is a restaurant with international class gastronomic quality. Deserves a star. International class chief, and "service de salle". With a Lao touch, just enough to make it special, without overload - for food as well as for service. Good wine selection at affordable prices; at least one of the more expensive white wines could be served by the glass. Pick-up and return service from/to our hotel worked perfect. Nice Balcony overlooking garden. The knowledge that this is linked to a training program of hand-picked young Lao people for restaurant and hospitality gives this dining experience an additional interest. Very good value for money (50 Euro for 2 persons, having had the "small menu" - which was largely sufficient-, and including a glass of wine)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Frank H,

We want to say thank you for this fabulous review, the whole team was very happy by reading it! and it was a pleasure to have you here.

We are looking forward to meet you once again on your next visit to Luang Prabang.

Regards,
Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the balcony in Luang Prabang and it was a pleasure to us. A good room, amazing food, really friendly and helpful staff, a great chef and a very nice manager. Pit and Veronica are running a project in Luang Prabang under the flag of lanith to educate Laos people in cooking at and managing an high standard hotel. I think they are doing a great job, cause the staff is acting like this. The food was amazing and you should remember the chefs name: Pit Wanderscheid! Also the captain of the national cooking team of luxembourg... It was a pleasure to stay and eat here and of course to meet you! Move on like you do!!! Jan, Melli and Stefan

Helpful?
Thank Sidwilkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Jan, Melli and Stefan :)

we remember well your visit at Lanith ! Thank you so much for sharing your stay and we are looking forward to meet you again somewhere in this small world.

Very Best Regards,
Veronica and Pit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Two times in a row great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This place is a must if you are not afraid of a 10 min ride out of the center. (they provide pick up and return foc).
The rice risotto as a starter was delicious and the Multi Language Manager did a fabulous job to explain us the food creation in details. The staff well trained, knowing that they are trained in order to become independent by this restaurant organization...
Well done...and Thank you

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mohmo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

as mentioned before, we are very happy that you enjoyed your dinner and that you like the Chef's preparation of the Mekong Fish.

We appreciate that you shared your experience!

Warm Regards,
Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“3 MEKONG FISHES at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went there yesterday looking for somehting else then all these rice dishes I had over several weeks now.... What a great find. The cook a luxembourg chef is great! The staff, while still under training as they are part of a National Institut for Tourism and Hospitality (Lanith), always smiling helpful and ATTENTIVE which is not the norm in Laos.
The wine selection - congratulations. If you think it is a draw back that they are a bit (5 min) out of town, just give them a call and they provide their yellow shuttle. Great place all boxes ticked ! Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

It´s a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the balcony dining experience. Thank you for your lovely review and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor!

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the balcony by Lanith also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to the balcony by Lanith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing