We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable sunset”
Review of Mount Phousi

Mount Phousi
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Half-Day Luang Prabang City Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unforgettable sunset”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The climb up Mt Phousi seems exaggerated. I expected to be fully exxhausted and to climb for 45min - 1 hour but it was over in 15 min. Since I was already at the top, I waited more than 1.5 hours for the sunset (at around 5.45pm). It was all worth it, but be prepared to fight for a photography spot with tons of other tourists. Still, the sun setting over the river was a most unforgettable and precious memory.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank runningnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    944
    1,254
    479
    62
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Experience sunset with too many tourists”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Climbing up for more than 300 uneven steps, I found that the top of Mount Phousi at sunset was not any better than visiting temples along the steps. Our tour guide led us up to the top using the unusual passage through 3-4 small temples. At the top of Mount Phousi, it was so crowded with tourists watching the sunset.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank asdaSap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“I can't see my house from here!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

In a town surrounded by large mountains, it would be surprising if there wasn't one in the town itself. Luang Prabang does not disappoint with mount Phousi.

Located right next door to the royal palace museum, it takes about 15 - 20 minutes and 20,000 kip to reach the top. There are two entrances, one is across from the palace. The other is impossible to find going up so take it going down and enjoy trying to find your way though people's backyards to the nearest road.

On a clear day, the view from the top is spectacular. The mountains, river and city all make for an amazing backdrop for this UNESCO city. The temples and buddha statues are also very picturesque. Not much more can really be said, it's something best experienced personally.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_cardholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The walk to the top is something like 329 steps. The view is quite good. You can see all of the town and both the Mekong and Kam rivers. Not much else to say.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank elaaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Hidden treasures abound!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I had read some reviews of Mount Phousi, which is a hill with a temple on top in the centre of Luang Prabang, and most of these reviews had dissed the place as being nice to look at from the street but not much to see once you were up there. We decided to go up there anyway, if for no other reason than to get more exercise. Once we'd climbed the 300+ steps and got our breath back we saw excellent views of both the mighty Mekong and the smaller Nam Khan rivers. Then we stepped inside the small temple at the top where there was a collection of golden buddhas. We sat inside the temple for about 15 minutes and then decided to see if there was a way back down from the top on the other side of the hill. This was when we discovered a veritable treasure trove of outdoor golden buddha statues. Some of them were sitting, some standing and two were reclining. The bodies of the buddhas came in all shapes and sizes: large, medium and small, thin, fat and in between. We also found a cave containing what the sign claimed to be a footprint of the Buddha (if that's true he had enormous feet!). We also saw accommodation for monks on that side of the hill. Then we found the steps that led down the to Nam Kang River side of the hill. Don't fail to visit Mount Phousi.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Phousi also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Mount Phousi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing