We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Apsara
Nearby Hotels
$115
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$99
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$98
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$46
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $52/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$86
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveler rating
221
154
35
19
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
154
35
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe nam khan riverthe main streetupstairs roomthe riverhomemade jamstamarind restauranteggs or pancakeswatching the worldpapaya saladnight marketin townsecond buildingenjoyable staythe main hotelshower and toiletday bedlovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 433 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2008

A slightly blowsy, unpretentious, old lady, but one you'll love getting to know. Great location, just 50 metres off the main street. Overlooks the river. Delightful staff. Wonderful, stylish food. Period rooms with creaky wood floors, eclectically furnished and decorated. Beds okay, just, a bit firm. Did I write great food, it is. Would I go back, sure would.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dlr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

After reviewing The Apsara online, four of us travelers decided to stay there in two rooms for several days. The hotel is as previously reviewed, a beautiful place to stay in Luang Prabang. If management fixes the Security Issues outlined below, I'd strongly recommend it; otherwise I'd recommend never staying there unless you want to risk loss of any valuables in your rooms.

Management is way too lax on security for their guests, in my opinion. Our safes were opened multiple times and we lost a total of approximately $1,200 of our cash to employees of the hotel. The manager did what he could to refund, through comping the rooms, part of the money; stating that it had happened before. But, we remained shocked at losing money through inappropriate access to the room safes, and even after the refund they gave us, we lost about $600 net.

I pointed out that the rooms were not secure as the staff left them unlocked daily during cleaning; and the safes didn't reset passwords when opened with the master key (the method used to steal our money).

Management seemed to miss the idea of overall security as an issue needing serious and immediate attention. Hopefully they will replace the safes with ones that work appropriately, and the balcony doors will be locked. Management stated 'those doors only open to the balcony, so only other guests with balcony access could get in' as if that weren't sufficient threat to security. Many thefts are from other guests, just think of hostels across Europe.

Anyway, the hotel is beautiful and convenient, but security is a threat to the guests from the prospect of in-room thefts. If security is addressed, this hotel would be rated a '5' rather than a '2' or even a '1'.

6  Thank Jeremyg38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Stayed at The Apsara for 5 nights and found it just OK.

Sure the rooms are beautifully decorated but they lack some of the facilities that make hotel rooms comfortable and Luang Prabang is a stylish town with lots of other just as stylish rooms available.

There is a booklet inside the room with information on the hotel and the town. One of the sections is on breakfast where is states to ask if you want an earlier breakfast. When we requested this the staff at reception obvioulsy found this too much effort so we just cancelled the request. It just annoys me when something is offered and then not delivered.

The breakfasts were good but limited in variery and size - they seemed a little tight on this i.e did not refill the tiny juice glasses or give more toast etc.

On a good point - the hotel was situated on a quiet street close to everything you need in town. Although really I would class The Apsara more of as a guest house than a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BabyDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

This hotel is well located being away from the main street and the general noise of traffic, but within easy walking distance of the centre.

The sitting area, reception and the restaurant are open and fronted by averandah which is a delighful setting for a meal and evening drinks.

The room was spacious and airy with dark wood furniture and floor which lent it great character. We had room number 1 which had a small balcony where you could watch the world go by, which in LP happens at a leisurely pace. There was a large very comfortable bed, and a bath in the room hidden by a screen, and a good shower with plenty of hot water.

The breakfast was adequate but rather dull, with fruit, choice of eggs, and bread with delicious homemade jam. We didnt eat in the restaurant as there are so many choices in town. We did try the barbecued soup at the riverside place opposite and that was a lot of fun.

This hotel was a delight to stay at with a real flavour of the locality.The reception staff were very helpful and attentive.I would be very happy to highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed at Aspara for three nights while exploring Luang Prabang. It is very conveniently located and relatively quiet - being one street down from the main street with its hoards of tourists.

It overlooks the river which is pleasant, but rubbish dumped down the bank and occasional strong smells can reduce the pleasure.

The hotel has been converted from a rice store, and this has been competently done, with a few glitches - the doors to the balcony didn't close properly. Otherwise an excellent medium priced hotel with a great restaurant and friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews