We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent service and location”
Review of The Apsara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Apsara
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with excellent service and location”
Reviewed October 14, 2008

I stayed in the Apsara for 4 nights. The hotel is in a fantastic location. We paid $60/night and had a lovely, clean room with a huge bathroom. Breakfast was included (eggs, baguettes, fruit) and the hotel provided us with plenty of bottles of water during our stay. We had an in-room safe, A/C, and a porch area with 2 chairs, but no TV. The staff was very courteous and helpful. We looked at several hotels/guesthouses in Luang Prabang and this seemed to be the best of the mid-range priced hotels. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rseifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    136
    35
    18
    4
See reviews for
41
196
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

A slightly blowsy, unpretentious, old lady, but one you'll love getting to know. Great location, just 50 metres off the main street. Overlooks the river. Delightful staff. Wonderful, stylish food. Period rooms with creaky wood floors, eclectically furnished and decorated. Beds okay, just, a bit firm. Did I write great food, it is. Would I go back, sure would.

  • Liked — Location, casual style, food.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dlr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

After reviewing The Apsara online, four of us travelers decided to stay there in two rooms for several days. The hotel is as previously reviewed, a beautiful place to stay in Luang Prabang. If management fixes the Security Issues outlined below, I'd strongly recommend it; otherwise I'd recommend never staying there unless you want to risk loss of any valuables in your rooms.

Management is way too lax on security for their guests, in my opinion. Our safes were opened multiple times and we lost a total of approximately $1,200 of our cash to employees of the hotel. The manager did what he could to refund, through comping the rooms, part of the money; stating that it had happened before. But, we remained shocked at losing money through inappropriate access to the room safes, and even after the refund they gave us, we lost about $600 net.

I pointed out that the rooms were not secure as the staff left them unlocked daily during cleaning; and the safes didn't reset passwords when opened with the master key (the method used to steal our money).

Management seemed to miss the idea of overall security as an issue needing serious and immediate attention. Hopefully they will replace the safes with ones that work appropriately, and the balcony doors will be locked. Management stated 'those doors only open to the balcony, so only other guests with balcony access could get in' as if that weren't sufficient threat to security. Many thefts are from other guests, just think of hostels across Europe.

Anyway, the hotel is beautiful and convenient, but security is a threat to the guests from the prospect of in-room thefts. If security is addressed, this hotel would be rated a '5' rather than a '2' or even a '1'.

Helpful?
6 Thank Jeremyg38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Stayed at The Apsara for 5 nights and found it just OK.

Sure the rooms are beautifully decorated but they lack some of the facilities that make hotel rooms comfortable and Luang Prabang is a stylish town with lots of other just as stylish rooms available.

There is a booklet inside the room with information on the hotel and the town. One of the sections is on breakfast where is states to ask if you want an earlier breakfast. When we requested this the staff at reception obvioulsy found this too much effort so we just cancelled the request. It just annoys me when something is offered and then not delivered.

The breakfasts were good but limited in variery and size - they seemed a little tight on this i.e did not refill the tiny juice glasses or give more toast etc.

On a good point - the hotel was situated on a quiet street close to everything you need in town. Although really I would class The Apsara more of as a guest house than a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BabyDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

This hotel is well located being away from the main street and the general noise of traffic, but within easy walking distance of the centre.

The sitting area, reception and the restaurant are open and fronted by averandah which is a delighful setting for a meal and evening drinks.

The room was spacious and airy with dark wood furniture and floor which lent it great character. We had room number 1 which had a small balcony where you could watch the world go by, which in LP happens at a leisurely pace. There was a large very comfortable bed, and a bath in the room hidden by a screen, and a good shower with plenty of hot water.

The breakfast was adequate but rather dull, with fruit, choice of eggs, and bread with delicious homemade jam. We didnt eat in the restaurant as there are so many choices in town. We did try the barbecued soup at the riverside place opposite and that was a lot of fun.

This hotel was a delight to stay at with a real flavour of the locality.The reception staff were very helpful and attentive.I would be very happy to highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Character room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed at Aspara for three nights while exploring Luang Prabang. It is very conveniently located and relatively quiet - being one street down from the main street with its hoards of tourists.

It overlooks the river which is pleasant, but rubbish dumped down the bank and occasional strong smells can reduce the pleasure.

The hotel has been converted from a rice store, and this has been competently done, with a few glitches - the doors to the balcony didn't close properly. Otherwise an excellent medium priced hotel with a great restaurant and friendly and helpful staff.

  • Liked — great ambience and quiet location
  • Disliked — unable to properly close doors to common balcony
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

The hotel replied to our emails promptly, and we arranged an airport pickup. But they never showed up. When we arrived in a taxi, the reception didn't quite understand the issue and didn't really seem to be concerned. When we got to our room, our toilet and sink didn't work; it was fixed promptly, but the issue actually happened again. We checked out and checked back in after a trek, and the bathroom in our room was quite dirty and the air conditioning was extremely loud. And when we came back one day, the room smelled like raw sewage -- we were promptly moved after complaining, but . . .

All in all it's a lovely hotel, the staff was very nice and tried to please, but I'd just assume go elsewhere in LP to pay half the price for perhaps 85% of what we got.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KMBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#27 of 69 in Luang Prabang
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara

Property: The Apsara
Address: Kingkitsarath Rd | Ban Wat Sene, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#18 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Apsara 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first and still one of the most beautiful boutique hotels in Luang Prabang, the Apsara was originally a rice warehouse situated on the banks of the Nam Khan [The quieter side of town]. The Apsara is also right in the heart of the heritage village, making it the perfect place to stay. From the comfort of its large, airy bedrooms, rated by the Washington Post as "an inch beyond decadence", it's easy to explore temples and the lanes of Luang Prabang. After which you can relax on the river terrace and enjoy the spectacular views and a refreshing Beer Laos. But that's not all, our restaurant is well known for having one of the most interesting menus in town as well as a superb wine list and the driest martinis in Laos. As Hip Hotels said "Both the restaurant and bar reflect a refined sense of taste" and who are we to argue with that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Apsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang
Apsara Luang Prabang
Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing