We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to return here”
Review of The Apsara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Apsara
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

What a wonderful relaxing place to be in. Our room was No 14, next to Tamarind, but we were not bothered by any noise other than the usual street noise. Huge walk-in shower. Two lovely generous sized soaps, plus shower, shampoo and body lotion. Flannels, tissues, a fridge, what more could you want. The bed was comfortable, not quite as hard as we have previously experienced. Two chairs outside meant we could watch the World go by. The street is one way so this helped cut down on traffic volumes and noise.
Breakfast was excellent, different fresh fruits each day, wonderful home made jams with hot crunchy baguette, a choice of eggs with bacon, muesli (wonderful), soup etc. etc. great chef! We enjoyed lunch an dinner on different days.
Wi-fi worked in the room, sometimes better than others but you could go through to the lounge area.
So central you can walk to the night market, Temple, Wats, Royal Palace Museum.
All the staff are really helpful here and go out of their way to make your stay a special one. We loved the hotel and if we venture back to L.P. We shall certainly stay here. I can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the river will have some street noise, but are lovely. Ask to view the room first t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 411 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a classical colonial room on the first floor which was charming. Bid bath, shower is close to the toilet but works fine. Bed was quite hard but this seems to be the case in most hotels in the area. Friendly and helpful staff handled everything in a positive and efficient way. Better value that the sister hotel across the river and more charming. The restaurant is very good too. Central location for seeing all the sights of Luang Prabang.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Of course, this is a great boutique hotel as others mention but I have to add that the room notes are the funniest I have read in a hotel, as well as being informative. They reflect the friendly style of the English owner. And the restaurant here is an absolute find. Excellent modern Asian fusion from an Australian chef with his front of house French Canadian wife is served at a very reasonable price. All in all an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

All three hotels where my wife and I stayed during our recent trip to Laos did not rate a "very good" based on our years of traveling in Nepal, Vietnam, and Cambodia. At all three hotels, the problem seems to be management.
Although we had some problems with email connections, Ivan handled our reservations in an acceptable manner. Upon arrival we discovered no WiFi in our room. The Apsara Laotian desk Internet person was unable to remedy, so it was decided that we should move to another room. Since this required Ivan's approval, he was called and arrived to discover the Ethernet cable was unplugged at the server. In the middle of our first night in Room #10, the AC stopped working. In the morning, water was dripping on the floor from the AC and the ceiling. (The guest from two doors down - Room #8 said they had the same exact problem the first night.)
We also had a sink spigot that was completely unattached and bed comforter with a blood? stain. After we explained the problems to Ms. Siew (one of two employees with English skills,) all three problems were remedied the next day. During our three days, Mr. Loun (the other English speaker) made a valuable recommendation for a "doctor" at a local pharmacy for my wife when she wasn't feeling well. Mr. Loun was cheerful, helpful and the person to seek when a front desk attendant was unable to understand my sign language (a frustrated effort on my part to make a local call from room.)
The Apsara two buildings (coincidently the other two hotels also had more than one building) require management to more be "hands on." At all three of the hotels where we stayed, the "locals" would have received a higher rating. Without Mr. Loun and Ms. Siew, our overall rating would have been "poor, with them a "good" rating, not an option with Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Upstair balconies are small, but provide a nice window onto the lively street scene. Superior rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Wonderful location. Lovely conversion. Lots of real character. Upstairs room was charming. Staff and management were friendly, attentive and informative. Breakfasts were good. The evening meal we ate there was tasty, nicely presented and surprisingly inexpensive.

Oh, the WIFI was horrible in the room. And don't drop peanuts on the bedroom floor, they drop between the old ,wooden boards and are difficult to retrieve!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Loved the hotel and the staff. This is one of the most elegant hotels we stayed in during our 3-week trip and service was impeccable. We stayed in a 2nd floor double superior room with a front-facing balcony over the Nam Khan river. Beautiful! Great location, within walking distance of everything but close enough to the tip of the peninsula to feel away from the crowds. Our room had a large & comfortable 4-poster bed with 2 pillows each! The airy & spacious room has a lovely, old-fashioned feel to it, with lovely wooden floors and a step-up to the bath area. I hesitate to say “bathroom” as there is a large bathtub outside the toilet/shower room, which is blocked off with a standing screen. Never used the bathtub but the shower was fine (and, unlike another reviewer, never had a problem with the hot water running out).

Breakfast was excellent, with both western and Lao options. Juice, fruit, coffee, and homemade jam (delicious!) served with the meal. We ate dinner here one night and loved it – I wish we had more time to spend in Luang Prabang as the meal was our favorite during our stay.

Service could not have been better – someone else mentioned the lovely Catherine; she was a wonderful hostess/waitress and discreetly oversaw the restaurant staff; service could not have been better. The front desk staff was gracious and helpful with whatever questions or concerns we had.

Although there are many other places to stay, we were very happy with our choice. I’m sorry we were not able to stay longer – Luang Prabang is a languid town and this was the perfect place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: Get a front-facing room with a balcony - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for four nights over Christmas. the food was superb, the service friendly, the room very comfortable. The hotel, centrally located with a view over the river, provided free bikes for guests. They arranged a great boat trip for us on the Mekong. We simply loved Luang Prabang, and the Apsara certainly contributed to our enjoyment.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room that was just on the far side of the Tamarind restaurant, at ground level. You c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chausiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#12 of 71 in Luang Prabang
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#25 of 71 in Luang Prabang
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#19 of 71 in Luang Prabang
397 reviews
6.1 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara

Address: Kingkitsarath Rd | Ban Wat Sene, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $60 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Apsara 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first and still one of the most beautiful boutique hotels in Luang Prabang, the Apsara was originally a rice warehouse situated on the banks of the Nam Khan [The quieter side of town]. The Apsara is also right in the heart of the heritage village, making it the perfect place to stay. From the comfort of its large, airy bedrooms, rated by the Washington Post as "an inch beyond decadence", it's easy to explore temples and the lanes of Luang Prabang. After which you can relax on the river terrace and enjoy the spectacular views and a refreshing Beer Laos. But that's not all, our restaurant is well known for having one of the most interesting menus in town as well as a superb wine list and the driest martinis in Laos. As Hip Hotels said "Both the restaurant and bar reflect a refined sense of taste" and who are we to argue with that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Apsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang
Apsara Luang Prabang
Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing