We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another positive review for the Apsara”
Review of The Apsara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Apsara
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We booked the Apsara based on TripAdvisor reviews and we can only repeat the positive reviews already given for this hotel. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms which had a balcony overlooking the street below. Our room was charming and both air conditioning and a ceiling fan kept it cool. The bathroom was clean and a good size.
The balcony outside the main reception/dining area was a great, cool place to watch the world go by and we enjoyed quite a few cocktails and cool drinks during our stay.
The breakfasts were adequate and well presented with fresh fruit, baguettes and tropical jams which were made daily apparently. Eggs could be cooked in a variety of ways if you wanted them.
The one addition we would have liked would have been tea and coffee making facilities in our room. An early morning cup of tea before heading out to watch the monks' procession would have been welcome and as we both had tummy bugs while staying it would have been nice to have been able to boil up some water ourselves and not have to phone for it to be delivered.
We did enjoy our stay at the Apsara and we loved Luang Prabang. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Kiwi-crawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 411 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed in a standard upstairs room at the Apsara at a rate of $70/night for 3 nights in April of 2008. We booked at the Apsara based on the positive feedback on tripadvisor and the hotel far exceeded our expectations! Luang Prabang is an enchanting, laid back, and incredibly well preserved city and the Apsara provides the perfect setting to experience this gem of a UNESCO World Heritage site. From our initial room reservation through the hotel website, we were impressed by the hotel staff’s availability, efficiency, and helpfulness. We secured airport transfers to the hotel at a reasonable rate of $7 for a car (or $5 for a tuk tuk, which was the same rate we saw at travel agencies down town), and the drivers were always early and courteous. When we arrived to the hotel, we were immediately enchanted by the stylish, tasteful décor of the hotel restaurant and lobby. Our bedroom was similarly stylish and spacious, with a number of comforts including air conditioning and fan; a comfortable desk and large hutch; a digital safe; large bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel; a lovely balcony with chairs overlooking the river; and a highly effective electrical mosquito pad with a benign scent. The room was kept exceptionally clean, although like much of Luang Prabang in April we had to become accustomed to sharing our space with the occasional insect, ant, or gecko. The room rate includes breakfast, which is served in the beautiful hotel restaurant and includes a basic (yet generous) serving of two eggs, baguette, tropical fruit, coffee, juice, and homemade jams. The homemade jams and fresh tropical fruit were among the most delicious food we enjoyed during our two week travels through Indochina! We also organized a private tour to the Kwangsi Waterfalls through the hotel at a rate of $25 (only a few dollars more than we were quoted for a 3 hour tour by tuk tuk drivers in town) and we were very pleased with our friendly driver, who spoke excellent English, gave us unlimited time at the Falls, and kindly offered to take us through some of the neighboring villages on our way back to the Apsara. We would definitely recommend this day trip to others! Late one evening I had an upset stomach and the hotel staff generously gave me two large baguettes (at no charge) and offered some helpful advice about how to tend to “gippy tummy”. While there are several guest houses in Luang Prabang offering basic rooms at a fraction of the price, we really felt that we were getting something special at the Apsara in terms of the quality of the accommodations, atmosphere, service, and location. There are more expensive hotels in Luang Prabang that likely offer comparable service, though not with as prime a location, and we felt that the Apsara was a great deal for what we received. We are already dreaming of returning to Luang Prabang and would definitely return to the Apsara!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank MSBtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Very nice hotel with an ideal location in a quiet part of an already very quiet city. Very nice bar and restaurant as well. Easy walking distance to where every you wish to go in the town.

Get a room upstairs- the floors are all made of wood so you will hear everyone's footsteps on the lower floors.

A great location to explore a wonderful town.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

I have just returned from the Apsara which is a charming hotel in every respect. The rooms are beautifully appointed and are both comfortable and immaculately clean.The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming and will do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible right from the moment you are met at the airport. We also spent four nights in the villa which is in a superb location on the main street and the envy of many passers by. The downstairs was a bit hot at this time of year but the verandah was shaded and we could sit out there and read.
It would have been nice if breakfast had been included with the villa but there are plenty of cafes and restaurants around to have a choice. The 3 Nagas restaurant next door was very obliging for take away sundowners.
The hotel and the villa are in an excellent location at the quieter end of town and the proximity to the airport really didn't cause any distrubance.
The food in the restaurant was delicious and the sticky rice a real treat.
There is an information booklet in the rooms which is invalaubale and a great read. I was really sorry to leave and can only dream of returning.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz_Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights having moved from Maison Souvannaphoum at the other side of town.

Location is really good. Located by the Nam Khan River, the quietest and most picturesque part of LP old town. The Apsara have two buildings close to each other both of which have retained all the features of the original buildings. We stayed in an upstairs superior room above the restaurant/reception. Small balcony with lovely views over the river.

Rooms are huge with plenty of space to spread out. Bath and basin separated from the main room by a screen in traditional colours. From here, this leads to separate toilet/shower room.

Rooms don't provide tea/coffee making facilities or TV but this doesn't detract from the feel of the hotel that combines enough luxury with authenticity and certainly a touch of flair in the design with Lao/Chinese influences.

All the staff are really friendly and Ivan is a genial host.

Breakfast is limited and perhaps the only area where the hotel earns less than full marks. It is a served set menu of orange juice, fruit, toasted baguette and choice of 2 eggs. Would benefit by offering some choice as you are basically stuck if you don't like what is on offer.

Had dinner there one night which was excellent topped by 2 gin and tonics relaxing in comfy chairs and watching the world go by.

Only other limiting factor is the lack garden area in which to relax. Its location in the old town prevents development although Ivan advises he has acquired a plot of land across the river where a new hotel with pool and gardens will be developed in time.

Overall an excellent stay at very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Had a great stay at the Apsara. The building is (like the rest of Luang Prabang) beautiful, overlooking the Nam Khan river, the rooms are stylishly decorated, the bathrooms are spacious and well-equipped and it's in walking distance of just about everything. We had only breakfast in the hotel restaurant as, although we intended to eat dinner there, the choice of quality places to eat is overwhelming and we never got round to it. The staff are friendly and polite and helpful and we felt very welcomed when we arrived. This was one of the few places that didn't get in a flap about us requesting a double room, and is otherwise quite gay-friendly, as is the whole town. Only negatives are poor internet accessibility and the disappearance of 1,500 Thai baht from the room. However, as this wasn't in the safe, I took it as my own fault and didn't report it. overall, a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank don't_fly!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We loved The Apsara's Villa Savanh!

We are 2 families who just returned from Luang Prabang, and rented The Apsara's private villa/house for 5 days. It was heavenly, and the location was perfect., just around the corner from the Apsara. The monks receiving alms in the morning was just outside our window. Nice gentle way to start the day.We are 4 adults and 5 teenage children who all were accommodated comfortably, with space and privacy to spare. 3 bathrooms were also very helpful! We liked having a fridge, but would have thought it perfect if there was a simple breakfast of pastry and juice included.Considering the price, in comparison to other accommodations in the area, we feel this would not be out of line. The upside was it's location, and just down the street from many stores.
We were met at the airport and taken well care of by "I" and Ivan and their staff. We were just happy to be on our own, away from the guesthouse crowd.
Only real downside was a noisy. not quite running air conditioner n one of the upper bedrooms, and they could use a couple fans on the main floor as there was not much of a cross breeze.
We would recommend this option to families, as the cost per night is close to what it would be to rent several rooms in the guesthouse.
A nice,central private oasis in the center of town.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrvlngFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#12 of 71 in Luang Prabang
907 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#25 of 71 in Luang Prabang
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#19 of 71 in Luang Prabang
397 reviews
6.1 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara

Address: Kingkitsarath Rd | Ban Wat Sene, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $60 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Apsara 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first and still one of the most beautiful boutique hotels in Luang Prabang, the Apsara was originally a rice warehouse situated on the banks of the Nam Khan [The quieter side of town]. The Apsara is also right in the heart of the heritage village, making it the perfect place to stay. From the comfort of its large, airy bedrooms, rated by the Washington Post as "an inch beyond decadence", it's easy to explore temples and the lanes of Luang Prabang. After which you can relax on the river terrace and enjoy the spectacular views and a refreshing Beer Laos. But that's not all, our restaurant is well known for having one of the most interesting menus in town as well as a superb wine list and the driest martinis in Laos. As Hip Hotels said "Both the restaurant and bar reflect a refined sense of taste" and who are we to argue with that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Apsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang
Apsara Luang Prabang
Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing