We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Aspara- very enjoyable”
Review of The Apsara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Apsara
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Aspara- very enjoyable”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first time to Luang Prabang and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Aspara. We had a room that opened up to the street which was right across from the river. Luang Prabang is not a big city so the street traffic was not that busy or noisy. The room was comfortable and had a rustic and artistic appearance. The bed was very comfortable. The people and the service were excellent. The big surprise was the restaurant. It was outstanding. I think the best food we had was at their restaurant. We had a great stay there and it was one block south of the main street where the monks do their morning collection of food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure1234988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    136
    35
    18
    4
See reviews for
41
194
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We loved this hotel.. Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, amazing pillows! Excellent cocktails.
Only ate in restaurant once, but memorable food. Seemed all very informal and relaxed. Easy to walk into town. Hotel able to organise any trips that you may want.. Would DEFINATELY recommend it to friends, and have done!

Room Tip: We were in a less expensive room on street level, but it was quiet and very comfortable. Felt very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

our room was spacious and comfortable, with a good bathroom. The breakfast was good in parts; fruit and eggs OK, bread boring. The hotel is very well situated, so that you can walk to temples, market etc. The restaurant, for lunch or dinner, was very good. Staff were helpful, We can recommend this convenient and pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 775Jenniferruth775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Small hotel in an old building so high ceilings and big rooms. More atmosphere than the average new build "boutique" hotel. Ideally placed for visiting the old town and going to cafes bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEDLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was my sixth visit in as many years to this lovely and well run hotel in this most enchanting village in Laos. The rooms are very large and decoration is modern and elegant yet subtle. It is wonderful to see that the place has not changed and that the service remains as good as ever. I had room 7 which has direct access to the road, yet it was not at all noisy. Several complimentary bottles of water are left each day in the rooms. The reception area, part of which is used for breakfast, lunch and dinner, is decorated with beautiful Chinese lamps and modern oriental furniture and objets d'art. The restaurant is excellent. Menu is fusion with en emphasis on Thai cuisine. It also has several 'international' dishes in case one is not in the mood for Lao or Thai meals. I particularly love the buffalo steak and sausage and the Thai smoked aubergine salad. A lovely and very full breakfast is included in the daily rate. Go for the masala omelette. Hotel's location is ideal and prices are very reasonable for Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: The upstairs room are superior rooms and more elegant but I love the direct access to the street in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed in the Apsara for 3 nights. It is a fantastic location off the main street with views of the river. Rooms were comfortable in the old colonial style with nice little balconies. It was a pity that the English owner did not appear to have any interest in the guests, hardly acknowledged our existence and spent quite a lot of time smoking in the restaurant and lounge area, leaving cigarette buts and empty glasses at the end of the night. The local local staff were very friendly and helpful. There was no encouragement to use the outside terrace area for a drink or meals and the absence of customers in the restaurant may say something about the level of interest in guests. The restaurants on either side of the Apsara were welcoming and were full each night. We chose another hotel when we returned to Luang Prabang and had a great experience, so consider options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neridac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsaraRiveDroite, Manager at The Apsara, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Neridac_13,

Thank you for staying with us at The Apsara. Please let us correct your comment with regard to the owner. The gentleman you saw spending a lot of time smoking is our regular restaurant and bar customer. He is not the owner of The Apsara. The reason this person you saw spends most of his time in our hotel is that he lives next door to the hotel.

As for your other comment with regard to encouragement to use the terrace area for a drink or meals you would notice that we have the tables set up at the terrace complete with white table cloth, table runner, cutleries and glasses ready for seating and we will leave the seating preference to our customers as to where they wish to be seated. The restaurant on either side of The Apsara may be full because they are serving different menus than us for example the open air restaurant is serving local styled barbeque which we do not offer and the price range is vastly different. The basis of comparison may not be fair to use as you are comparing different food menus, price range and ambiance.

Thank you.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Apsara for 11 days in January, 2013.

We stayed in a superior double room which we found very comfortable, commodious and attractive: we especially appreciated the AC and balcony.

The breakfasts were very good: fresh fruit, juice choice of eggs or pancakes.

The service was excellent. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Many of the staff went more than the extra mile to serve and assist us, from the staff in reception to Francis, the manager- and Ivan, the proprietor,both of whom did much to assist me during our stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs superior double room, where we stayed though a little pricey, was large, attractive an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy32066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#23 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara

Property: The Apsara
Address: | Banks of the Nam Khan, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#18 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Apsara 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first and still one of the most beautiful boutique hotels in Luang Prabang, the Apsara was originally a rice warehouse situated on the banks of the Nam Khan [The quieter side of town]. The Apsara is also right in the heart of the heritage village, making it the perfect place to stay. From the comfort of its large, airy bedrooms, rated by the Washington Post as "an inch beyond decadence", it's easy to explore temples and the lanes of Luang Prabang. After which you can relax on the river terrace and enjoy the spectacular views and a refreshing Beer Laos. But that's not all, our restaurant is well known for having one of the most interesting menus in town as well as a superb wine list and the driest martinis in Laos. As Hip Hotels said "Both the restaurant and bar reflect a refined sense of taste" and who are we to argue with that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Apsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang
Apsara Luang Prabang
Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing