We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Apsara
Nearby Hotels
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$192
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
$82
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$130
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveler rating
221
153
35
19
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
153
35
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe nam khan riverthe main streetupstairs roomthe riverhomemade jamstamarind restauranteggs or pancakespapaya saladwatch the worldin townnight marketsecond buildingthe main hotelquiet streetenjoyable stayshower and toiletday bed
Filter
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 432 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Wonderful place with old world charm. Very large rooms and baths. Great staff and breakfast. You can walk everywhere from here. We also like the Baan Chang Inn, ,near 3 Nagas on Sak Karin Road, no web site yet. phone (856-71) 253553
Very fun and nice staff. Transfer from airport in 1960 mercedes
Great rooms very deluxe interior. Better priced than Aspara or 3 negas. Enjoy. Try the breakfast at the 3 Nagas and resturants along the Mekong river. Also elephant ride and water falls a must do trip.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank Austx61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

After reading many positive reviews, we opted for The Apsara and loved it! Luang Prabang is an absolute gem of a place and the Apsara is just behind the main street, so quiet and peaceful enough to hear the chanting of the monks and the banging of their early morning drums. We had room 5, a spacious, elegant corner room with a good view over the river to the terraces beyond. The other rooms in the main hotel seemed to have trees blocking their view. Staff were friendly, observant and attentive without being fussy, the food was delicious and well priced. My only complaint is that smoking was allowed in the dining room and I found this unpleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WandererCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

We stayed (a party of six) for two nights at the Apsara in early January and found the hotel to be charming. Making a reservation was easy, through the hotel's website and their car picked us up at the airport on arrival. The decor is basic but stylish and the rooms we had (deluxe, on the first floor) were large with decent baths and showers. We could not find fault with the standard of the rooms (yes, they do have creaky floorboards) or the service. The breakfast, especially the coffee , is very good. We had dinner in the hotel one night and the food was of a very good standard for the area. Across the road, the local boys play petanque day and night and there is some noise from this but nothing too problematic. Also, you are likely to be woken up at four a.m. by the the bells and drumming coming from the many temples. It's worth getting up for the monks early walk through the town, but do be respectful to the monks and not flash your camera in their faces, as we witnessed. For dinner, try L'Elephant restaurant and give the Villa Santi a miss. There are many shops selling jewellery and textiles but unfortunately a lot of the local products are overpriced (in dollars) and it's hard to believe the local community benefit from these high prices. All in all, a good place to stay in a convenient location within the town.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank therobertsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Gorgeous hotel that is very well run. Fantastic touches throughout - e.g. huge wooden baths, silk lanterns and bedspreads. Delicious food and wonderful wine list.

The hotel is excellently situated too. The walk onto LP's main road takes a couple of minutes so you're not surrounded by tourists etc, but close to all the action.

Loved this place and would highly recommend it. If you're not a fan of rock hard beds though, be warned!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Paehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

The thing we loved best about the Apsara is that it is different from most other upmarket hotels. Its design and decor is quite individual, all the rooms look different, and there are lots of bright and bold colours. But it just works!

We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms in the main building. The room was a good size, with a small terrace over-looking the Nam Khan river. The hotel is far enough away from the main tourist drag of LP to be really quiet and peaceful, yet because LP is so small you can walk to all the restaurants in less than five minutes.

We also really enjoyed having a few drinks in the hotel bar, looking out onto the river, and the food was fantastic on the one night we ate there. We would have eaten there again, but there were many other good restaurants to choose from. Cafe Ban Vat Sene (near the 3 Nagas) was good, especially for lunches, and we also liked the Yongkhoune restaurant (on the Sisavang Vong (the main road), towards the Phou Si hill end) where my wife and i got 2 courses and a beer each for USD13!

The a la carte breakfasts were also pretty good - it was a nice chilled out start to the day eating it on the terrace watching the world go (slowly) by...

Whilst in LP we did a couple of trips, both arranged by Tiger Trails (main street, near to Royal Palace Museum) who we would thoroughly recommend. We did their 50km mountain bike ride - fairly hard going (left at 9, returned about 1.30) but good fun. Secondly we did a 2 day 1 night visit to their Elephant Lodge (about an hour south of LP) - 15km hike on the first day, watching the elephants bathe then a 1hr jungle trek on elephant back on the morning of the second day, then kayak back to LP (about 3.5hrs) - again hard work but really really worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jamesh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews