We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a Royal Treatment in Laos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Satri House
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For a Royal Treatment in Laos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

In India, several cities host hotels which were created from palaces belonging to the erstwhile maharajahs. I was surprised to learn that the Satri House hotel in Luang Prabang was once the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. The house was built over a hundred years ago and now has been refurbished to be run as a small hotel. The hotel has added some more rooms to match the earlier architecture. The entire hotel is well appointed with some exquisite art in the form of sculptures or paintings displayed at vantage points. Though a small hotel, it features two pools. The entire hotel is set amidst landscaped gardens giving it a feel of royalty. The location is in the heart of the city. The hotel offers free Internet access, free parking and free breakfast. The food served is excellent Laotian cuisine as well as Western cuisine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EB211Erma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor.

We're very happy to see that you really enjoyed the decoration of Satri House and the quality of our food.
The description that you give from our property cannot be closer to reality. As you said, we try to keep the impression of Royal Prorperty with a personal but still very professional service.

Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your review.

We would be very delighted to welcome you again at Satri House Secret Retreats.

Best regards,

Henri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    105
    27
    19
    6
See reviews for
87
269
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This unique hotel is listed with SECRET RETREATS, and was the most pleasant experience of many of the hotels of which we stayed in Indochina! We were booked for two rooms at the Lung Say Residence in Luang Prabang, but upon arrival, we had a problem with our not getting the two rooms of which we thought we had reserved. There was a gorgeous suite for my husband and I, but no place for our daughter, and after hitting "Trip Advisor" quickly, my daughter found this treasure and they took her into their "home". She said that is how she felt, that of being a guest in an exquisite home! It is run by two fabulous people who oversees the special touches. The design of the hotel is unique and there are places to discover at every turn!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Satri House is a truly magical place... we stayed there for four nights and wish we could have stayed for fourteen! Seven colonial buildings scattered in an enchanting and beautifully maintained garden Satri House offered a perfect refuge and a space where privacy is paramount. Because of the structure of the hotel guests appear to have the place for themselves. You may bump into other guests at breakfast or dinner but you feel as if you are the only guests. It really does feel as if you are staying in someone's extremely elegant and beautiful home. Yes it is stylish but there is so much substance here as well. So much of the local Laotian arts and crafts are displayed here the curious guest can spend a whole day admiring them. But it is the people that make this such a special place. The hospitality is top notch - from the front desk to the gardeners to the wonderful and attentive waiters to the man feeding the fish in the ponds. The quality of the food is sensational - from Madame Mem's divine tomato, tamarind and pineapple jams to wonderful Laotian dishes for dinner. The service is thoughtful and considerate ie the charming waiter (Wye - probably misspelt his name - apologies) treating guests to refreshing juice by the pool which none of us had asked for but was so appreciated. The rooms are wonderful - they take you to a different age. The beds were very comfortable. Everything about the room - from the beautiful crystal shampoo and soap containers to the fabrics and sculptures - was about discrete luxury. I could keep on writing as we have both been thinking of this place since our return to England. I recommend Satri House place wholeheartedly. I hope it never loses its magical character. And a couple of more tips re restaurants: Tamarind is a must visit. As is the restaurant of the Three Nagas. Laotian food was something of a discovery for us. We are a gay couple - an art historian and a banker - and we found the welcome here full of gentle warmth. From Henri to Madame Mem and from Chunthy, Pon to Wye, everyone at Satri House thank you. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonArmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you again for staying with us at Satri House and for this very nice detailed comment that you shared on Tripadvisor.

It is a joy to read that you enjoyed every single part of our property and moment spent with us.
Your feed back is for us very important. Seeing that you find every service excellent is for us the accomplishment of our hard work.
I will forward this beautiful review to all the person concerned.

Once again, all the team is joining me in thanking you for your kindness.
it was a real pleasure to accommodate you.

If you would like to come back to Luang Prabang, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Henri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codicote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

First appearance was a tasteful and charming hotel with lots of lovely antique furnishings and we certainly were not disappointed in our room. Spacious and airy with comfy beds and up market furnishings. Not the best of views as we were on the back and the shower could have been better. Lighting was a little dim and no mirror in the bedroom. Only a half mirror in the bathroom. The top shelf in the wardrobe was dirty and my partner laid shorts in it which were then dirty. These are minor criticisms as our overall stay was wonderful. Grounds were beautiful, clean and attractive pool with towels and even hats laid out. Lovely garden to sit in. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant with continual smiling faces which enhanced our experience, especially restaurant staff. Breakfast was waiter service and the best poached eggs ever in a hotel. Lovely fresh orange juice and bacon. Lots of croissants and freshly prepared fruit. Really excellent. Tuk tuks.easily available. A the end of the drive. Do get up and experience the monks being given alms.
Would certainly unreservably recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anenome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Anenome5,

First of all we would like to thank you for posting such a nice comment following to your stay at Satri House Secret Reatreats.
We're all very pleased to read that you enjoyed the property itself and found the staff to be very courteous and efficient.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Best regards,

Satri House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

There are not enough superlatives to describe the beauty, elegance, taste and attention to detail of Satri House. Nestled in a side street close to the centre of town but with enough distance to feel you are in an oasis of calm, Satri House is without doubt one of the most magnificent hotels I have ever been blessed to stay in. Each exquisitely decorated room has it's own secluded balcony, the rooms themselves are breathtaking in their style, comfort and generosity of amenities. Antique furniture and textiles adorn every corner, landing and communal area and it is as if one has been invited to stay in the private home of an Emperor.
The food is of an outstanding quality, service is unparalleled and if you, like we, are lucky enough to have the opportunity to spend time in the charmingly beautiful Luangprabang, you should not miss out on the opportunity to visit this superb hotel. There is also an exceptional spa.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidcot73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Debogross,

All the Satri House team joins me in thanking you for your beautiful and detailed comment following to your stay with us.

It is a joy to read how strongly you enjoyed spending time with us. We always try our best to provide exceptional and unique stay to our guest.

Thank you again for your time and we wish to see you again in Luang Prabang in a near future.

Best regards,

Satri House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Satri House is probably the best hotel in Luang Prabang and Laos.
Beautiful. Impeccable. Understated elegance at its best. Service is top notch.
Forget about the overpriced competition. Not even close to this. You will not regret coming here. This is one of those reviews we regret writing because we want to keep the find a secret. But the people behind Satri House deserve it and need to be recognised. Stunning!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank EduardoCancado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Eduardo,

All the team of Satri House joins me in thanking you for posting your impression following to your stay.

It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed every single moment at Satri House.

Our guest's satisfaction is very important so it is always a joy to see that our property and service reached your expectations.

We really hope to welcome you again if you plan to come back to Luang Prabang.

Wishing you all the best.

The Satri House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

There seem to be 2 kinds of 5 star hotels. One has an army of staff, every conceivable pampering, an enormous buffet, and other signifiers of luxury. The other kind offers perfect peace, restraint, taste, and understatement. The Satri House is an example of this second kind. It has museum quality art, a lot of it. Also two swimming pools of jade green tile as well as natural pools for lotuses and turtles. The larger pool is long enough to swim laps in but the water is bracing. The bed screens (hand woven natural materials, of course) surround your poster bed in way where the gauze hangs straight and never touches the face. Such quiet and taste is simply not to be had where I come from (Washington, DC) or anywhere in else in North America, except maybe a museum after hours. Satri House seems to be affiliated with some other Asian hotels called Secret Retreats or something similar and I would search them out on my next trip to Asia.
On the down side the restaurant is too fancy for dinner (there are better choices in LP) and the breakfast menu is limited. I found the service much to my liking because it was unobtrusive and newer fawning. But if you like a big staff it might not be for you. One charming detail: they suggested a tuk-tuk to the airport rather than a more-expensive taxi. Whether or not you find this pleasing might be a good tell of whether or not this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Our room had 4 working French doors (!) 2 on each side. I would ask for a room with working French...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Jonathan,

First of all we would like to thank you for posting your impression after staying at Satri House.
We're all delighted to read that you find the property to be very pleasant, relaxing and beautifully decorated. We try our best to make you feel like if you were in a "home away from home".

As you mentioned, we are part of the luxury group Secret Retreats. All our hotel are located in Asia and all of them provide luxury experience, unique design and relaxing atmosphere.
Do not hesitate to check out our group website for more information at www.secret-retreats.com

Thank you again for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.
We're looking forward to welcoming you again at Satri House Secret Retreats.

Best regards,

Satri House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Property: Satri House
Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing