We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming colonial style hotel”
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Satri House
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our favorite part of this hotel were the grounds and the pool. The outside areas are beautiful and very peaceful. Rooms were nice and clean and the staff did a good job with the turn down service including mosquito spraying each night. Service was slow at the restaurant and sometimes we had to ask for things multiple times but the servers were friendly and, with all the charming cafés and restaurants a short walk away in town, it wasn't that big of a deal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller008058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for posting a comment following to your stay at Satri House.

We appreciate your constructive comment and remarks. We will, of course, do our best to improve our services.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you plan to travel back to Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

Satri House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Satri House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 568 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel about 10 mins. walk from town. It is a converted 'palace' with numerous public rooms.
Breakfast is lovely (we eat out)......a nice little bar. Our room was large and airy.
The problem, which others have mentioned is Management....the front desk staff are poorly trained and do not understand easy questions. Check out was a minor nightmare with three people who seemed to occupy our room and their charges applied to us! We soon sorted it out!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Kattyukres,

Thank you for your comment and remarks on Tripadvisor.
All the team strives hard to provide professional service while improving their english level.

Thanks to your comment we will keep working on improving our service and make sure to reach our guest's satisfaction.

Your sincerely,

The Satri House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at Satri House for New Year Eve 2014 for 3 nights and the overall experience was a nightmare: there was no heating system in the rooms, in the restaurant in the spa whereby our total bill for 3 nights was over 1,800 USD. It can be cold in Luang Prabang at that time of the year and hotels and restaurants all over the city provide small heating devices to their customers while Sathri House did not. Internet was not working properly. As there was no kettle in the room, I asked for "hot water for a tea" at 11pm and got the reply that the kitchen was closed. One of the staff organised a boat trip for us and we found out the following day that we paid 100% than the normal price. When we addressed these issues to the General Manager of the hotel he acknolewdged it (including in an email) apologised but failed to provide a partial refund/ discount on our total bill. We were offered instead an upgrade for our next stay as if leaving in London we were likely to come back to Luang Prabang ... the whole experience was highly upsetting, unprofessional, despite the beauty of Luang Prabang and its temples. I strongly advise NOT to stay at Satri House as there are lots of other Hotel/ Boutique Hotel which offer much better value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheSyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Virginie,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday in Luang Prabang.
I totally agree with you that at this time of the year, the weather was exceptionally cold in Laos.

I would like to mention that we did put extra heater everywhere in the restaurant as in your room.

I would like to mention an other very important thing. You complain about a 100% extra charge for an excursion. The thing i don't understand is that you never speak about any problem like this when we spoke during your stay and before you check out. You definitely mentioned the cold weather but never noticed to me this extra charge.

In the email that you sent to us, requesting a 40% refund of the entire stay, you were complaining only about the weather and threatened us that if no refund were done, you will then post a very bad comment on Tripadvisor and many other website and media.

When i read that you said that i "approved" an extra charge for an excursion that i never heard, i find it rude as it is totally wrong.

Be aware that Tripadvisor is a way to express your review, sharing real feelings and real facts with others.

Best regards,

Henri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was our 4th visit to Luang Prabang and I was really looking forward to staying at the Satri Housefor the first time. Despite all the other glowing reviews unfortunately it just didn't push all the buttons for us. There are lovely antiques all over the hotel and the rooms and bathrooms are very stylishly decorated and well appointed with beautiful asian pieces of furniture and touches but... Most particularly the rooms were noisy. Not because of the cockerels as in Luang Prabang you can't escape them but they are very echoey. I don't know whether the walls are hollow, but it was as if our neighbours were in the same bedroom except they weren't being noisy. The staff are lovely and very friendly but lack training and speak little English. Breakfast in particular was a shambles. Most mornings there were several staff milling about but no-one actually in charge. In four mornings we were never actually given a menu although they do exist so we would look around at what everyone else had and order from there. I ordered breakfast one morning which never arrived although the owner who arrived after us was served immediately. Reception is manned overnight but not by any managers until around 9.30am so if you have a question requiring an answer you need to wait. Not ideal if sightseeing starts at 9 o'clock. It was quite cold whilst we were in Luang Prabang. I think when the weather is better this hotel would come more alive as it is in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Not ideal for elderly people or if you have difficult walking as there are steps everywhere and ligh...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maynris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Maynris,

Thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor.

We're happy to read that you loved the property and the staff. In the other hand, we would like to apologize for the bad impression that the breakfast gave you. We are, every day, improving our quality service and the team is working hard to keep it constantly.
We are surprised about the comment regarding the managers at reception as, every day, one supervisor starts working at 06.30am. Those supervisors are the one who can deal with all your questions, inquiries, bookings,...

Thanks to your remarks we will keep improving our facilities and services.

Your sincerely,

The Satri House's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I am not sure you will find a more beautiful place to rest your head in Luang Prabang.
The hotel collected us from the airport and a mere 20 minutes later we where unpacking in our room, the hotel grounds are simply stunning with two swimming pools, a spa and a couple of lovely lounges to relax in. Our room was fab, lovely big bed, bathroom and a separate toilet, the room had two lovely full length doors that opened up onto a lovely balcony!

What more could you want? Well it got better at breakfast, from eggs to amazing noodles and oh the home mad jams! Stunning and enough to ensure we never once ate lunch!

At the end of most evenings we sat in the aptly named smoking room, the smoke was from the fire merrily burning away, we chatted with fellow guests and had a blast.

The down side? Well yes it does have one, the staff are lovely in every way, however they haven't quite reached the heights that match the hotel, it's certainly not bad enough to put you off, in fact I loved the chaotic brilliance that would occasionally kick in, if anything it made our stay all the more brilliant!

And a final note, coffee was out of this world and the lady who presents breakfast was a gem

Thanks guys when in LP we will be back

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Dave C,

We would like to thank you for posting such a detailed comment following to your stay at Satri House.

We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and the hotel and that you found the breakfast to be stunning and tasty.
It is always with pleasure that all the team joins me in thanking you for sharing your impression.

We wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely,

The Satri House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Satri House is very special, an elegant and refined oasis of taste and serenity. It is not the typical 5 star luxury resort. There are no tvs and no flashy embellishments. Instead, you will find a jewel like residence where every detail and every view has been carefully thought out to provide the maximum aesthetic pleasure. Some of the staff really do not understand English or French, but there are plenty of people around with whom it's easy to communicate, and Henri, the manager, could not be more helpful and solicitous. A stay here will make the magical city of Luang Prabong even more perfect. We were enchanted and would gladly return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Miriampar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Right when I saw the first Satri House pictures, I knew I would have loved it. Its appearance lived up my utmost expectations. Everything is painstakingly, almost obsessively, arranged by Madame Lamphoune whose taste is out of discussion: telephones dating back to the 1920's - perfectly working! - gorgeous multifaceted glass minibottles for shampoo and bath conditioner, bamboo containers to cover the plastic of water bottles courteously supplied to wash one's teeth so not to touch tap water, incredibly beautiful wooden windows and blinds, opens corridors full of colonial pictures, silk items and Buddha statuettes, impeccable gardens and pools...
Also, the smoking room painted in coral red is stunning, just like the yellow restaurant/breakfast room, where an excellent staff caters the international clientele with dedication and discretion.
Simply it seems to be part of that house, where prince Souphanouvong lived as a newborn, in the 1910's.

The points to improve are two, in my opinion: the front desk staff and, most of all, the pond right after the entrance should be eliminated. No doubt it's beautiful and choreographic, but also a real source of life for mosquitoes. When I arrived in my room, I killed twelve bugs and did not intend to open the windows for the remaining 3 days.
Mr. Henri, the very kind General Manager, told me they know the problem and are thinking about how to solve it. Once they will manage to improve such two things, I guess Satri House will have very few rivals on the LP hotel scene.

Room Tip: Rooms are all superb. Just ask for a place away from the pond to avoid problems with mosquitos.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gfpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting such a detailed comment after staying at Satri House Secret Retreats.

The guest's satisfaction is our goal so this kind of remarks will help us to improve our service.
We hope that you will be able to come back to this beautiful city and will visit us as well.

Wishing you all the best.

Yours sincerely,

The Satri House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 68 in Luang Prabang
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $114 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing