We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic, elegant boutique hotel - a gem in Luang Prabang!”
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Satri House
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

From the moment that we arrived, I was enchanted with this beautiful property. It is classically and tastefully decorated - and everywhere one looks, either in the rooms or walking about the grounds, there is an alcove with a beautiful statue or piece of art. It is a mix of the old and the new.

In addition, this hotel is an oasis of peace. In fact, my husband and I found it so relaxing that on our free day from activities, we did not leave the property! We stayed on the grounds, enjoying the ambience and serenity of the hotel.

Specifics -
Location - perfect, close to the center of town; within easy walking distance of the main street & night market
Rooms - spacious and clean; the beds soft with elegant mosquito netting; the bathrooms large and fresh
Service - highly attentive, requests easily accommodated; the main staff fluent in English so there is minimal issue with communication
Restaurant - breakfast is outstanding; other meals that we ate there had a variety of food options, both eastern & western style, all excellent quality
Spa - relaxing, tranquil; the massage that I received was excellent and just as I had requested

If you are planning to stay in Luang Prabang and you would like to experience tranquility within a charming hotel with excellent service, the Satri House is exactly what you are looking for!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Christine M,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay at Satri House Secret Retreats.
This very lovely detailed comment is like the accomplishment of our mission: Make sure that our guest spent a wonderful and unique stay with us.
We're very glad to read that you find the property and the service itself to be that good and efficient.

We will be more than glad to welcome you again at Satri House.

Wishing you all the best.

Henri Spanneut
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 592 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt looked after and relaxed, the service was wonderful but every turn has incredible details..... Beautiful secluded sitting areas, archways leading to statues and water ... So far this is the best place we have stayed throughout our holiday. Well worth the extra to be in such a special place in a superb location. And it has a fair sized swimming pool which seems to be a rarity in Luang Prabang ... Wonderful after a days trekking in the jungle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Heather D,

All my team is joining me to thank you for posting your impression following to your stay at Satri House Secret Retreats.
We're very happy that you found our property to be that beautiful and moreover that you think it was the best hotel you experienced during your South East Asian trip.
We try as best as we can to keep an atmosphere of uniqueness combined with relaxing places with a lot of antique objects to watch and learn about.

We will be very glad to see you again here at Satri House Secret Retreats if you planned to come back to Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent a full week in the Satri house and enjoyed every minute. After an excellent 'boutique' breakfast with Lady Mem as charming host we took the free hotel bicycles and went off to discover the city and the surroundings.
The design of the hotel is authentic to the last detail. Beautiful!!
Our 6 years old daughter loved the two pools and the hot tub in the hotel spa.
Management and staff of the hotel was always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk_Grossmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Dirk Grossman,

We would like to thank you for your comment. We're all delighted to read that you really like spending time with us at Satri House Secret Retreats with your family.
We're glad that you spend relaxing moment here with us and that your daughter enjoyed swimming in our pools.

We always take good care of our guest satisfaction and thanks to your reviews it helps us in improving our service.

We hope to see you again at Satri House in Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I booked the hotel on the back of TA reviews....it was an excellent choice....a calm atmosphere..very cool areas...lovely swimming pools. The staff were charming and consistantly helpful....they helped me organise a tuk tuk for a day...including making sure the driver knew exactly what i wanted to do. A delicious lunch of prawn in lemon grass and coconut soup was a perfect end to the stay. The only downside was the noodle soup for breakfast...tasted as if it came from a stock cube....nowhere near as good as the delicious fragrant offering i had in namtha market!...next time i will have an omelette and i will give satri hosue 6 stars!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukrandomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your impression following to your stay at Satri House Secret Retreats.

It is always a pleasure to read that our guest enjoyed every single moments of the stay and that you want to come back. We shared your impression to the kitchen regarding the noodle that you found not enough tasty.

Thank you again for posting this detailed review and if you want to come back to Luang Prabang we will be more than glad to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is very well designed and looks like a private house which is open for guest to stay with the owner. A lot of art to see, with nice rooms who have everything you need. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Restaurant offers a good mix of local and french kitchen and is located very nicely (Go there even you do not stay at the hotel!). Will come back...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank tomz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Tom,

Thank you so much for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We're very happy that you enjoyed Satri House and the staff. We are, everyday, improving our service and the quality of it so your comment are always very welcome.

We hope to have the chance to see you again at Satri House.

Best regards,

Satri House Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Satri House is a hidden jewel in Luang Prabang and our second visit this October 2013 was the same excellent experience as in October 2012.
15 minutes from Airport and hotel offers free bicycles for guests to use. It takes only few minutes to cycle to the town centre.
Hotel staff can arrange tours but it is easy to rent a scooter and visit the water falls or cycle to Mekong River, rent a boat and visit the caves.

Room Tip: I recommend the Deluxe Room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aquarius1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Aquarius,

Thank you so much for posting your comment following to your stay at Satri House.
We're all delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and moreover that you keep enjoying visiting us. We're glad that our property and our service is, every year, reaching your expectations.

We're really looking forward in welcoming you in October 2014 ?

Best regards,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

How glad I am that I booked this hotel, I can't recommend it any more highly. Lovely ambiance and great character. A little bit of France in a far off land. Madam Mem's home made jams perfect at breakfast. Comfortable and spacious rooms.





Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bobcat901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Richard,

Thank you for sharing your impression on Tripadvisor. We are really glad to see that you had good time with us and that you would recommend Satri House.

We hope to have the chance to see you again in Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
842 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
1 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $168 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing