We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Side of Paradise”
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Satri House
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

In a World Heritage listed city, where the push is to cash in on the tourist dollar, the standard of development is often just not consistent with the preservation of either the fabric of the site or its natural atmosphere. This is increasingly the case with Luang Prabang now moving towards the plasticity of a Dsineyland style cultural theme park comprised largely of selling opportunities and very little culture or the humanity which may have produced it. Satri House is an exception rather than the rule in this regard, although most of the hotel is newly constructed, the buildings are all consistent with the French colonial style both inside and out. There is no glitz here though there is plenty of glamour. A stay here evokes the "belle epoch' of French colonialism and despite what one may think of their gross and brutal exploitation of Indo China as a colonial power, in Satri House one can gain a very clear impression of the style to which they became so accustomed, and with that some understanding of why they just didn't want to let it go. The staff of the hotel are charming and helpful, though as is the case everywhere in Laos some flexibility and patience is an inherent requirement; and the gardens both complement the architecture and stand as beauty in their own right. For the "green thumbs" among the guests there is plenty that is exotic to marvel at with plantings drawn from Laos, Thailand, Vietnam and China. There are very few sites like this anywhere in SE Asia where the sense a guest gains is that of being at the home of a friend in exotic surrounds. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Heritage Area while it still has much to explore and a wonderful place just to kick back and chill. The food is good home cooked food, even if the menu is a little limited; there are other places in town that can cater to the desire for a culinary extravaganza but few who can top the simple comfortable fare here for the "daily bread."

Room Tip: Rooms in one of the two free standing buildings are special.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VientianeKingkiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting such a detailed comment of Satri House and Luang Prabang. We're glad that you find Satri House unique as it is exactly what we want guest to feel.
We keep our difference as an advantage. Luang Prabang as well is trully very special.

We're looking forward in welcoming you soon at Satri House

Best regards,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Satri House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 568 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a great stay! As an earlier reviewer said, it is hard to leave the hotel....the property itself is beautifully, decorated with taste and finesse. The service is excellent, the management is there from check-in to check-out and all during your stay, looking to provide you with any service you may require or just to wish you a great day or see that the AC is on prior your return to your room. Thanks so much for making our stay so wonderful. Thanks to all the staff, foreign and local for their attention and dedication.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denissimonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review following to your stay at Satri House.

We take always good care of our guest's satisfaction. We're very glad that we reached your expectations and that you enjoyed our property and service.

We look forward to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our biggest problem at the Satri House was getting ourselves to leave and explore Luang Probang. The hotel is incredibly comfortable and peaceful. It is more expensive than the average for Laos perhaps, but well worth it as the average is, well, average. We found good drinks, good gardens, very good food and well decorated comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SATeleSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your impression following to your stay at Satri House.

We're very happy to see that you enjoyed our property, food and service. We're very pleased that you felt that good in our hotel. If you want to come back, i will make sure that you'll have nothing else planned than enjoying Satri House !

Yours sincerely,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was the final 4 nights of our 25 night holiday in Cambodia , Vietnam and Laos and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Satri House is so beautifully presented with large lovely rooms and every staff member was just so friendly and helpful, always with a smile. The location is fantastic with just a short walk to the main street and market, but is located down a small side street so that there is no noise at all, just so quiet. Anyone considering a stay in Luang Prabang should seriously consider staying at Satri House

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Dennis,

Thank you so much for your nice comment regarding your stay at Satri House.

We're glad you enjoyed the room and the service of our hotel.

It was a pleasure for us to welcome you and we hope to have the chance to see you again at Satri House.

Sincerely,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I first stayed here on a business trip. After I told my wife about the place she has come with me every time I visit now and that is once a year. The rooms are very up to date in style yet you can see the old culture throughout the hotel. My wife spends endless hours in their spa. The location itself is located near the center of the city and is easy to get to many spots. It has newly built additions to the hotel also if you like that. The staff is excellent and the food is greatl. My wife tals so much about the place and now this part of the world that on our next trip we are taking two other coples to enjoy, AS I WORK ;-(

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurFun5389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Jim,

Thank you very much for posting a review following to your stay at Satri House.

We're all very pleased to see that you really enjoyed your stay even if is was more like "working-holiday". We will be very glad to welcome you again at Satri House if you planned to come back to Luang Prabang.

We hope to see you again here in your "office" away from home !

Best regards,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here twice during our off peak stay in July. Our triple room (2 parents plus teenage son) was large and had outdoor seating area by the internal pond. Just fabulous.
The service was superb, greeted every time we went anywhere in the hotel. The beds were the best in the whole of our 2 week stay in Cambodia and Laos. We had a handwritten note welcoming us back on our return too.
Make sure you make use of the free bikes. Just ask at the front desk for keys and you easily cycle into town, or explore some of the nearby villages as we did. Traffic rules maybe different from your home country, but it is an easy to negotiate.
Breakfast is good with an interesting selection of jams -pineapple, tamarind and tomato!
The pool is refreshing, towels had to be found for us. A pile somewhere for guests to collect maybe helpful.
A highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hot-chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, Front Office Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Satri House and for posting such a nice comment following to your stay.

It is always a real pleasure to read that you had a lovely stay with us and that you enjoyed our property and service.

If you want to come back to Luang Prabang, do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than glad to welcome you again at Satri House.

Best regards,

Henri Spanneut
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We staid 2 nights in Satri House during our holidays in Laos.
The house is beautiful, the rooms are really nice and big.
Decoration is absolutely amazing.
Location is nice as well, in a charming typical street.
However, we have been a little disappointed by the service. It is classified as a "Relais & Chateaux" but honestly, doesn't deserve this ranking.
Way too expensive (Xmas period did not help for sure) and the service is not up the level of expectation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlottafromparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, Front Office Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Carlotta,

Thank you for staying at Satri House in Luang Prabang.
We really appreciate that you share your impression following to your stay on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you found our property and the room very nice and that you liked our decoration.

We feel also concerned about your impression regarding our service. Since December many things have changed in our service to improve it and guarantee a high quality.

We will be very pleased to welcome you again to Satri House if you plan to come back to Luang Prabang.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you need any further information.

Best regards,

Henri Spanneut
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 68 in Luang Prabang
617 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $117 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing