We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the tropics”
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Satri House
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An oasis in the tropics”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent two nights and wished we had stayed longer. The staff was wonderful. Breakfast was excellent and the two pools were gorgeous. Several beautifully appointed sitting areas ensure that you can have space and privacy if you desire. The rooms were well appointed and ours opened on to a lovely patio. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    112
    27
    19
    6
See reviews for
94
289
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Satri House exceeded my expectations on almost every level. The facility is beautiful and the staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. A manager was always on site inquiring about our plans, experiences, and if there is anything else needed to make the stay wonderful. This attention could be seen to all aspects of the hotel management and it filtered down to every one of the staff. The breakfast was fantastic with fresh croissants and fruit juices. The whole feel of the hotel is relaxed elegance. The location was a 10 minute walk to the central downtown, which didn't seem long at all. I appreciated the separation from the markets and restaurants and this brief walk only enhanced my relaxation when coming home to rest. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: I like the suites. They are very private and quiet and not much more expensive than the regular roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjhpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel exemplified all the wonderful things you hear about Luang Prabang - relaxed, friendly and stylish.

The property itself is gorgeous. Built in charming French colonial style around a lotus pond, it is the former residence of relatively minor Laos royalty. Wondering around the property, there are many cozy nooks and crannys that make the space feel like a real home (albeit a royal home!) rather than a hotel. The entire place has been wonderfully decorated, with antiques dotted around and a very individual feel to the design. There are two lovely pools.

Our room was very comfortable, with a wonderful balcony overlooking the lotus pond.

The location is great as well, being far enough outside of the centre of town to avoid the constant honking of motorbikes but close enough to the centre to pop over quite quickly when the mood takes you (15mins on foot or 5mins on one of the hotel's free bikes).

The staff is wonderful. They are extremely gracious, efficient and helpful. As an example, coming back late one night by tuk tuk, they helped us break our large note to pay the drive. They didn't have quite enough to break the large note, but chased us down the next day to give us the rest of our change (which we had forgotten about).

Staying at this hotel, the sense is you are getting an authentic Laos experience. It's easy to forget you have a crazy, stressful life back at home.

The only negatives I would mention are the internet in the room is not great (but you should be enjoying the wonderful hotel and city anyway rather than being cooped up on your laptop!), the room was a bit dark (but that is what colonial architecture is like) and there is an owl kept on a leash (which didn't make very much sense and seemed sad to us).

Overall, highly, highly recommended to anyone visiting Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the lotus pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed four nights at Satri house. The hotel is beautiful and staff is attentive. The surroundings are wonderful with two pools, coconut trees and a spa. The hotel was not busy. Service was good most times. You had to ask for coffee or drinks in the bar in the afternoon. The resort is a 10 minutes walk from town so if you want to be in the center it is not your place. They provide bikes you can take but we love walking everywhere so it was nice. Thy have some construction going on and you may hear it if you go there in the next few weeks.

I think they are too expensive for what they provide and next time we will try few other hotels on the Mekong itself.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbarashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamphoune V, Responsable relations clients at Satri House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Good morning,

Thank you for your comment, like this we can have a feedback of our guest and improve our "oasis".

I can see you have enjoyed your stay at Satri House, this make me pleased.

Concerning the construction, effectively we are building 6 more beautiful (deluxe) rooms.
I hope it was disturbed your stay to much.

Good News for our future guests the construction will finish the 1st November, in 1 week.
Also we are finishing to covert the garden, now is more of an oasis it is a small paradise in Luang Prabang.

Thank you again.

You are welcome at Satri House.

Audrey
Executive Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having just left the Satri House I can honestly say that I have never enjoyed a hotel as much, in 20 years of travelling! The attention to detail, the beautiful setting, the antiques, the food, the service and the most incredible suite (422) that was like stepping back in time but with all the mod cons of today. I would wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone who wants to step back in time and recharge their batteries.

Room Tip: Our suite (422) was excellent. All rooms seemed to be beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Satri House is beautifully decorated - the interiors are fabulous and the attention to detail is exquisite. Negatives would be that there was clearly no management around when we stayed so service was a bit slack and impersonal at times (getting aperitifs etc). Had to ask every time for the sun loungers to be uncovered etc.
However other than that (and as mentioned I think it was only because management was awaY) it is excellent in every regard. The reflexologiy by the courtyard lake and the incredible giant indoor baths in the spa were amazing. What I enjoyed the most was lying on my day bed on our balcolny watching domestic life in Luang Prabang slip by. You are nestled in a residential street and you watch children head off to school, families gathering for meals, sellers peddling their wares, everyone returning from market. We have fantastic memories of this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentina233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I booked this hotel as a birthday surprise for my girlfriend. I booked it though Hotels.com as they were cheaper then booking through the hotel directly!

On arrival the staff were great and carried our backpacks for us. We were given welcome drinks and shown around the hotel grounds. It has 2 pools, a bar, restaurant, relaxing areas inside and out and a spa. Our room was downstairs near a small fish pond and was amazing. It had a 4 poster bed, lovely art on the walls and a separate toilet/bathroom.

The staff were so friendly and we had good chats with a few of them. The spa has some parts of it thrown in for free so a little bonus. The breakfast the next day was lovely. So much food we couldn't move afterwards. We ate on the terrace at the back of the resturant overlooking the large fish pond and it was great. We REALLY didn't want to leave. If we ever return to LP then this is the first place we will head to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank el_tel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
1.0 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Property: Satri House
Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing