We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Luang Prabang!”
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Satri House
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The best in Luang Prabang!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Satori House is THE place to stay in Luang Prabangl - lush gardens/koi ponds, friendly staff, two very nice swimming pools and beautifully decorated rooms. When we stayed there earlier this month, we were pleased to get upgraded to the junior suite (yay, rainy season)! The breakfast was good and featured a nice selection of Asian and Western items. The only negatives were the wifi (which was frustratingly slow/however, complimentary wifi is available at most restaurants in town) and the hotel was just a tad bit away from the heart of town. Neither, however, is enough to score this place less than five stars. Amazing!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbintheATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    114
    27
    19
    6
See reviews for
106
297
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Soleuvre, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Satri House in August and intend to go back next year. Outstanding friendly service and atmosphere, including the friendliness of the owner Mrs Lamphoune, we had the occasion to spent some moments with for an after dinner-drink. The design of the hotel is exqusisit up to the last detail, colonial inspired Laos style. Exceptional relaxing breakfast (homemade jam is a dream) with classical music, extraordinary zen atmosphere and outside area, 2 pools; well situated just a few meters from the night market and river. This hotel alone is worth to return to Luangprabang. We are looking forward to return soon to Satri Haouse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the Satri House for 4 days. The place had style: Buddha statues, hats for the sun, lotus pools, it was lovely. It also had an excellent lap pool. We had a junior suite which was a larger room with a separate bath and separate shower, very nice.

On the negative side, two issues. The first was lousy internet access. It was bad for the first two days then nonexistent for the second two. To me having good internet access is essential. I was told that they are upgrading their system but I suspect that they are only upgrading the WIFI (which wasn't an issue from our room) not their data/internet access. The second issue was the the restaurant (which did have a lovely breakfast) was not very good. We ate there once (which is what most guests do) and then chose to eat in town.

Note that the walk to town is no big deal. It is 10 minutes and they do provide bikes if you choose to use one. We liked the location as it was just outside of the tourist zone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpal32489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed or 4 nights in August on a short break from Singapore.
We were in a suite, located next to the small pool in the garden. The location was perfect, both within the grounds and the town, all of the sights being within a 10 minute bicycle ride.
The room was beautifully decorated in colonial Asia-tique style with no TV which was ideal (available on request).
We didn't use the spa preferring to opt for the local, more reasonably priced options in the town and when we visited it was low season so there were few guests at Satri House.
As a result we found that there were a little too many staff 'milling' around and although they were all very pleasant, we felt that there was a lot of giggling and messing about going on everytime we passed the office.
The breakfast was nice -we opted for the rice soup, but terminally slow and the orange juice was served in thimble sized glasses and only refilled on request - as we don't take tea or coffee this was really frustrating.
I'm sure this is one of the best hotels in the town and would recommend it for couples or famililes, probably a bit quiet for groups of friends.

Room Tip: Suites by the smaller pool are quiet and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Project25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Satri House on the recommendation of colleagues and we were not disappointed. As noted below, my husband and I traveled with my mother and 2 children (almost 2 and 3.5) and while I was worried about the "child friendliness" of the place, I shouldn't have. Our rooms were beautiful and one of the best parts (apart from the quiet and gardens) was the blockout shutters which had us all sleeping late - very rare with 2 small people.
Breakfast was limited and ordered from a menu but so tasty - although I wish I hadn't waited until the last morning for the soup. The bread basket full of toast, plain croissants and pain au chocolat was very tasty. We only ate in one night but the food was beautiful.
Staff were very attentive and accomodating - moving us from the restaurant to our room when our youngest wouldn't settle on the 1st night, ordering tuk tuks, and booking a car for us to visit the waterfalls.
A foot massage in the pavillion was very good - although a little short and it seemed there were no always spa staff on standby.
The gardens and pool are beautiful and the boys loved the parrot and owls.
Location slightly out of town but a flat 10 minute walk or a 5 minute tuk tuk ride.
We will be back.

Room Tip: As we were travelling with my Mother and our 2 children, we request a twin and a double room next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange_in_Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Satri House exceeds all expectations, beautiful gardens, fabulous rooms, bathrooms, amenities.
TV can be requested for the room if required. Lovely spa, swimming pool, good location.
This property has the best staff, from service, friendliness, professionalism, that I have ever experienced! Breakfast and Dinner was excellent and quite affordable. This Relais & Chateau property is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizpowrie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Nayok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The place was the palace of one of the royal members of Laos. The architect and interior were giving you the feeling of being in the 40-50s. Wood furniture, hard floor, antiques decoration. It was located a bit far from the tourist spots but hat was not a problem. The hotel provided bicycles for free. We rode them everyday to browse the temples and tourist attractions all days and nights.
They served great breakfast. Also dinner. We agreed that it was the only place that served food and drinks with good taste ever since we came to Luang Prabang.
The staff was nice. Particularly those at the dining room. I enjoyed taking hotel pictures at night too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaiKusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Property: Satri House
Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing