We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Satri House
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This hotel is truely amazing!!! It was our first trip to South East Asia, we came with our incentive group by end of March 2012. It was booked by our local agent and we stayed there for 4 nights. We all loved and enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms are spacious, very clean with beautifully displayed of those antique items. The smell of lemongrass was very special.The staffs were very friendly and helpful. They are willing to assist us-just about anything. The service and breakfast were excellent and the cocktail party by the pool side was the best!!! I must thank to General Manager of the hotel_Mr. Joffrey Gris, who took a very good and special care of our group. At last, we enjoyed our stay here and we highly recommended this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey G, Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

We were indeed extremely happy to have you with us. Our team is joining me to thank you one more time.
All the best!
Regards,
Joffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Satri House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 568 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hotel is stunning, and has been lovingly decoreted with a mixture of antiques and up to date facilities. It is located near the centre of Luang Prabang and with in easy access of all you could want to see. The whole atmostphere of the hotel is charming, with many beautiful different areas where you can relax and unwind - and two swimming pools! The staff are welcoming and always willing to help, the food is fantastic and they are willing to cater for any specific diets. The massages are also a must do! We had a wonderful, indeed perfect 5 days staying there and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends and family - or to anyone else who wishes to visit Luang Prabang. In fact I cannot wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey G, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Sometimes we do wonder what is more AMAZING as you mentioned in your title. Our guests or our Hotel? I guess the conbination of two goes well together.
Thanks again for staying with us.
Regards,
Joffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We arrived at Satri House after a long seven hour car journey and had a very warm welcome from the staff and manager of the hotel. The hotel is beautiful, with a warm character and atmosphere. Our room was spacious, elegant and very well equipped. . The bed was large and comfortable with a mattress topper and very good quality pillows. Best nights sleep of the whole holiday. Well appointed bathroom with large shower and constant supply of hot water.
The grounds are well maintained and very nice swimming pool which was well attended by the hotel staff. We had dinner once at the hotel which was delicious but we ate the rest of the time in town where there was more choice and atmosphere. Don't let the position of the hotel put you off,(10 minute walk out of town) as tuk tuk's are always available and very cheap.The lack of English spoken by the staff was not really a problem as one of the managers always seemed to be around. A nice touch....the manager let us stay in our room after check out time to enable us to have showers etc as we didn't leave until late in the day for our flight. My only criticism was they had run out of tonic in the bar so I had to go without my G and T !!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gitract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Great grounds. Fab food. Completely covered in artwork. Could not count them all in our suite! Suite however quite strange the liv rm was separate. You had to exit room, lock it and go next door to non private space...we never used it. WIFI was very limited and slow. 10 minute walk to start of main area. I would take tuk tuk to far end of town and work back. As great as it was I would stay along small river on backside of old town that was best part of town quiet but one block from action

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for suite
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We were surprised at how close we were to just about everything. Location was perfect, so central -- night market, fresh market, currency exchange, good restaurants, temples, the river....

I enjoyed the quietness of the hotel with the lush gardens. Having a library with all sorts of magazines and books was a marvel idea. The rooms were fairly large. Not everyone in the staff was proficient in English though, but they were very polite and trying their best. I must make special mention of a young gentleman named Domingo, who went out of his way to address all our group's needs and concerns.

I enjoyed our overall stay at Satri House and would recommend it to others.

I would have liked in-room coffee/tea service.

Because of the ponds in the premises I noticed mosquitoes but fortunately, I was never bitten.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milfloresdemanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Beautiful and exquisitely appointed property. Large and warmly decorated rooms. Well manicured grounds. However, the service provided just isn't what I have come to know as the standard for a Relais & Chateaux. The staff are lovely but they do not speak English for the most part (yes, I know I am in Lao) and it makes it very difficult to score points for service when simple requests are not understood -- at all. The manager and the restaurant supervisor are working to address a recognized gap and were very helpful in doing the extra to make our experience pleasant (much appreciated) but the staffing issues do need to be addressed to meet the expectations for a Relais & Chateaux and the price that goes along with that.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2travelthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in satri house for 8 nights end of feb 2012. The hotel and grounds are absolutely immaculate and our room which was a junior suite was huge with a seperate toilet and bathroom and huge shower down 3 other steps that was almost another room. We had a twin room as requested and the twin beds do not have mosquito nets so I voiced my concerns to manager and he immediately offered to upgrade us to the satri house suite when it became available the next day. He said that he would make the housekeeping staff aware that they needed to spray our room thoroughly on the first night so that we didnt get bitten and sure enough there was not a single mosquito still alive when we went to bed. We liked our room so much that we stayed in that one rather than move and the room was sprayed every night so in the whole holiday I didnt get a single bite.
The pool areas and gardens were beautiful and were swept and cleaned several times a day. The restaurant was lovely and we had huge fresh breakfasts every morning.
Our room was made impecibly every day and fresh water bottles and sweet treats were placed beside our bed every night. The staff were hard working and very polite and gracious. They went out of their way to be helpful and their english language was very good. One of the managers, 'Keo', really spent a lot of time making sure that our holiday was care free and he really deserves a special mention for being a truely wonderful person and a great asset to Relais chateaux. The location was excellent, just a 10 minute walk to centre of town or 2000 kip (about £1.50) tuc tuc ride if it had to go the long way round as centre pedestranised at night for market. We always felt completely safe walking back to the hotel at night, even though we were 2 females together, and there was without fail always a staff member waiting at the gate. Air conditioning in room was excellent. Hotel provides complementary bikes with their own locks if you fancied a trip to town or the nearby phousey market and we used them regularly. The restaurant supervisor even got up at 4am in the morning on our day of departure to kiss us goodby and give us a packed breakfast. All in all I would definately recommend this hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 68 in Luang Prabang
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
815 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $115 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing