We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Satri House
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Like going back in time, great service, incredible architecture, lovely decor !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    109
    27
    19
    6
See reviews for
92
279
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Our party of 4 + baby was welcomed at the airport by the Satri House car with driver and a lovely lady who gave us our first introduction to this magical place. At the hotel we were met by the ever attentive and caring General Manager, Joffrey Gris, and his amazing staff. I can say without hesitation that in no other hotel have we ever had such genuinely good service. Satri House feels really like a very beautiful private house, which it was originally. Lots of comfortable seating areas to read and relax. Delightful decor. Meals are delicious, from sumptuous breakfasts on a terrasse overlooking the garden to fantastic light lunches served on a lovely raised seating area in the garden ideal for our party, to excellent dinners. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable, with extremely good beds.

The hotel came top again when I suffered a triple fracture to my ankle on the 4th day of our stay, while riding a bicycle. A distinguished and very helpful lady from the hotel came with us to the hospital, interpreted for us, and looked after me until we left a few hours later to attempt a return to London. This was only made possible thanks to the kindness of a London doctor and fellow guest, who, after checking me, wrote a report for me to produce at the airline check-in, where it was made clear to us that without it I would not have been allowed to fly home.

I am immensely grateful to Joffrey Gris and all his staff, for their concern and attention at all times, but even more so after my accident. They couldn't have done more. In spite of the rather sad ending to our fantastic stay, we all keep wonderful memories of our holiday at this unmissable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VictoriaSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed for a few days in November. It is a really lovely hotel - very different to the usual five star resort properties. We stayed in the room recommended in the reivew by Mr & Mrs Smith. Charming, full of character, the staff were kind and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was fabulous though the evening meal in the restaurant wasnt brilliant - probably because most guests wander into the town to immerse themselves in the local culture. Luang Prabang is definitely one of those places to put on your bucket list. It's lost in time. Wonderful place, wonderful people.

Room Tip: They all looked lovely - each with its own character - you'd most likely be happy with whatever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singapore_expats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Satri House really feels like a home away from home. As you arrive to check in, you are taken into the library to sit and have a cool drink, no standing around at a counter here! The ambience is very welcoming, as this was originally a family home. Yes for a prince, but it has been very well refurbished and the combined European Asian approach works. My only gripe is about the mosquito population in our room.

The breakfast is one of the best I've had anywhere. Not that there is anything unusual, except perhaps the tamarind jam, made on the premises, but everything is done simply and tastes delicious.

The hotel is a little out of the main tourist area, which makes it very quiet. It's only a 5 to 10 minute walk to the shopping areas and there is plenty to see on the way. It's very easy to ride a bicycle around so we did this as often as possible.
We will definitely be back, and we don't say that very often.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room (it's only two floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lselse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We didn't want to leave! Satri House was absolutely enchanting, the management and staff wonderful, friendly and sincere and the cuisine, especially the Laos cuisine, totally divine. Satri House was our introduction to Laos and Luang Prabang and the whole experience was quite exceptional. In fact no other hotel we have stayed at, anywhere in the world can even begin to compare. Satri House has a delightful fusion of French colonial and Laos interiors, furnishings and artwork. The town is quite bijou and so it is really easy to get around by bicycle. The sure bet is we will find an excuse to go back. Hospitality Laos style and especially Satri House leaves everything else for dead!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterRoband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Delightful hotel. Superb attention to detail, impeccable service, great room. Full of nice touches such as burning open fire place in the living room, great books, whisky decanters. Great use of natural, local materials. Delicious food - the breakfast is divine; we had dinner twice and loved it. Staying at Satri House is like staying in a tasteful country house. Highly recommended. I do not generally bother writing hotel reviews but Satri House is special.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at Satri House for a total of 7 nights. We decided to go for a camping trip at the beginning of our stay and Satri House was very accommodating in keeping our luggage until we returned.

We checked in very late the first time and my husbands response as soon as we entered the room was "this has to be the coolest place we've ever stayed!" Granted, the shower in the first room was very strange and got everything wet when we took a shower, I was thankful they moved us to a different room for the second check-in. The bathroom did have a "sewer" smell at times, but we have found that unfortunately in Asia that isn't terribly uncommon. They light lemongrass in the rooms to help combat the smells.

Breakfast was great, a lot of good choices offered and the bread basket was impressive. We didn't choose to eat in the hotel often because there is so much more to be had in Luang Prabang, menu choices were OK, prices a bit high for what is offered. We were there over the new year and enjoyed the quiet, elegant celebration offered by the hotel that included dinner in the garden, a traditional Baci Ceremony as well as the launching of paper lanterns.

We always felt as though our comfort and pleasure were the hotel's top priority, even if our requests weren't always understood and/or granted on the first or sometimes even the second try. The manager, Joffrey Gris was very receptive to our feedback and welcomed all of our comments. He is clearly working very hard to make Satri House everything their guests hope it will be.

The hotel provides bicycles for getting to the main part of town which is about 5 minutes by bicycle. We were able to put our two children on bicycles with us that had cushions and foot pegs on the back. The hotel rented bicycles for us a few times when the bicycles with the cushions were already being used.

Our room overlooked the pool, I see this may not be for everyone, and privacy is not as great, but it was nice for supervision of our children as they could play in the garden and we could hear and see them clearly.

This is a very neat hotel, and after exploring all over Luang Prabang on the bicycles provided, we felt very happy with our choice of Satri House. There are many cool antique pieces and a few sitting rooms to explore. The internet didn't work for most of our stay, so I found myself in the office area whenever I needed to check-in back home, but we found that most restaurants were out of internet that week as well.

We really enjoyed our stay at Satri House and would love to go back some day.

Room Tip: Specify if you want a room with more privacy when you make your reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonianExpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Property: Satri House
Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing