We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time was had by all!”
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Satri House
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great time was had by all!”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at Satri House for a total of 7 nights. We decided to go for a camping trip at the beginning of our stay and Satri House was very accommodating in keeping our luggage until we returned.

We checked in very late the first time and my husbands response as soon as we entered the room was "this has to be the coolest place we've ever stayed!" Granted, the shower in the first room was very strange and got everything wet when we took a shower, I was thankful they moved us to a different room for the second check-in. The bathroom did have a "sewer" smell at times, but we have found that unfortunately in Asia that isn't terribly uncommon. They light lemongrass in the rooms to help combat the smells.

Breakfast was great, a lot of good choices offered and the bread basket was impressive. We didn't choose to eat in the hotel often because there is so much more to be had in Luang Prabang, menu choices were OK, prices a bit high for what is offered. We were there over the new year and enjoyed the quiet, elegant celebration offered by the hotel that included dinner in the garden, a traditional Baci Ceremony as well as the launching of paper lanterns.

We always felt as though our comfort and pleasure were the hotel's top priority, even if our requests weren't always understood and/or granted on the first or sometimes even the second try. The manager, Joffrey Gris was very receptive to our feedback and welcomed all of our comments. He is clearly working very hard to make Satri House everything their guests hope it will be.

The hotel provides bicycles for getting to the main part of town which is about 5 minutes by bicycle. We were able to put our two children on bicycles with us that had cushions and foot pegs on the back. The hotel rented bicycles for us a few times when the bicycles with the cushions were already being used.

Our room overlooked the pool, I see this may not be for everyone, and privacy is not as great, but it was nice for supervision of our children as they could play in the garden and we could hear and see them clearly.

This is a very neat hotel, and after exploring all over Luang Prabang on the bicycles provided, we felt very happy with our choice of Satri House. There are many cool antique pieces and a few sitting rooms to explore. The internet didn't work for most of our stay, so I found myself in the office area whenever I needed to check-in back home, but we found that most restaurants were out of internet that week as well.

We really enjoyed our stay at Satri House and would love to go back some day.

Room Tip: Specify if you want a room with more privacy when you make your reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonianExpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    114
    27
    19
    6
See reviews for
101
292
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is the best hotel my wife & I have stayed at in Asia! It's the perfect place to stay in beautiful Luang Prabang, just a 5-10 min walk from the centre of town but far enough away to be very peaceful and quiet. Satri House oozes with charm and character and is immaculately maintained. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, even though some of them are just in the course of learning English. And the food, as you would expect from a Relais & Chateaux, is outstanding. We can't wait to go back to LP, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicksinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great stay. The hotel is full of antiques and is beautifully decorated throughout. It is about a 5 minute walk from the town, but the hotel offers complimentary use of its bicycles (a great way to see the town).

We ate in the restaurant one evening and really enjoyed our meal. The choice at breakfast was good and fresh breads and home-made jams were great.

We stayed in a suite: the room was large and there were loads of little personal touches. The evening turndown service was excellent.

Best of all was the service from the staff. Everyone went out of their way to talk to you and make sure you were enjoying your stay.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Imagine - your friend, a member of royal family occasionally, invited you to his residence. That's absolutely the case of Satri house. The residence is located just a few minutes bicycle ride from the very centre of Luang Prabang, and it is very pleasant and relaxing ride. Every "appartment" (actually, appartment is the wrong word for the place you live in) has its own theme - our appartment had a large study, there nearby one was with sitting room. Design is great, there is no feeling of a hotel, in opposite - more likely of a museum or an old villa. Some tips - a flat screen TV will be installed in the room upon your request, and a taxi transfer to airport booked via hotel reception is two times more expensive than a standard taxi booked elsewhere in downtown. And don't miss morning monk procession - they proceed nearby the house around 6am, and one can get some food for donation at the hotel kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurkiTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Satri house is one of the better hotels in Luang Prabang, I would say I enjoyed my experience even better than Amantaka which was 4 times the price! It is good value and good service and a good location.

Even though it ticks most boxes, it lacks in a few areas. In a town that has quite a lot of land, the room sizes are small and has no views. My room lacked all privacy, and I had to have my shutters closed most of the day as people were walking by and could clearly look in. The beds and furnishings were comfortable, but it was the small size and lack of privacy that let down this otherwise this lovely hotel. There were a lot of bugs crawling around in the early mornings despite the room being sprayed the night before.

The food was adequate, not great, I tasted much better in other hotels in LP, and the service really was lacking, especially at breakfast, when they could serve a pot of tea and then wait 15mins before coming with a cup and milk. It was a pity that these things let down the hotel because otherwise it really is a very beautiful lovely resort and I could see that there is a lot of effort and passion that has gone into it.

I recommend that you ask for a private room when you book, not overlooking the pool or restaurant.

Room Tip: specify that you don't want a room overlooking the restaurant or pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisecocoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey G, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
We are indeed focusing on training our team to develop them. We are coaching a team which is the 1st generation of Hotel employees and have never heard or knew what is Hotel Business all about.
They are all learning extremely well with an amzing potential to do better and better.
Let s keep encouraging them....more needs to be done...we aware of it and on the way!
Thanks
Regards,

Joffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed here during our tour of the Far East. It was by chance we booked this hotel and it was one of the best hotels on this trip. Satri House is a historical home converted into a hotel. Its very centrally located in a quiet lane, yet within walking/ biking distance from all the sights, the night market, shopping and wonderful restaurants. It's very unassuming from the outside and the reception lobby is tiny and sparse, but the minute you walk in it's excellence all the way. The front staff was amazing, extremely helpful with their suggestions about good places to eat, visit, shop at.
The rooms are wonderful and decorated in a colonial style, complete with mosquito nets! The sit out balcony is great to relax and watch the world go by( our room was at the front of the hotel #122) the rooms are air-conditioned and the beds are very comfortable. There are beautiful silk robes set out for you when the beds are turned down at night and some treat is always waiting for you to taste when you return to the room at night.
There are large reflecting pools with lotus blooming in them. The swimming pool is great but as soon as the sun starts to go down the mosquitoes come out.
Breakfast is either Lao or western. The Lao noodle soup with chicken and fresh vegetables and herbs and spices that you dunk in is fantastic, as is their bread selections and home made jams. We did not have lunch or dinner at the hotel, preferred to eat local food outside. Loa food is one of the best in the world and unique in itself.
We would have eaten at the hotel but almost everything had pork in it which we do not eat, I would suggest to the management to please have more choices available.
The manager himself welcomes guests and makes sure you are comfortable, this makes you feel welcome and cherished.
The hotel offers complimentary bicycles which is the best way to get around Luang Prabang. It made our trip really fun.
The hotel arranged on our request a half day cruise on the Mekong to see the caves and enjoy the sun set.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellovertx59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Beautiful and well-designed boutique hotel with colonial architecture. Nicely decorated with antiques. Relaxing from the moment you arrive, and you feel like you're on a special getaway. Extremely comfortable and luxurious four-poster beds, very well appointed rooms with good light. Wonderful garden and pool area, nice little spa with jacuzzi and steam room. Bikes at your disposal for a tour around town, which is useful because the hotel is about 5-10 minutes from the center, or a leisurely walk or quick tuk tuk drive. Very friendly staff. Highly recommended!

Airport pick up and drop off was not included, but if it were it would make the welcome and farewell that much better. Is included in other hotels of that caliber. A bit of a problem with the sewage in the bathroom, lingering putrid odor, but staff worked to fix it.

Room Tip: I had a junior suite, free upgrade, and it was just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Property: Satri House
Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing