We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Service!”
Reviewed December 28, 2009

This is our first review on Tripadvisor as we don;t normally bother but the impeccable service deserved acknowledgement. We spent 4 nights in the Mountain Suite and it was worth every cent.

The room was nice, bed was super comfortable and the setting was very romantic. Our needs were anticipated and cheerfully acceded to. We had a problem with an independent adventure tour operator (White Elephant Adventures) and even though the tour rep was abusive and lacked professionalism, the hotel staff tried their best to resolve the problem. We only found out later that the hotel would not have recommended them (apparently Tiger Trails and Green Discovery are the ones to go with!), too late for us unfortunately!

Our final night pool side dinner was especially memorable. Food was one of the best in Luang Prabang especially the mains. They set up a portable brazier beside each table which was great as we were dining outdoors in 12 degree temp. The setting beside the main pool overlooking the Phousi temple was magical! And once again the service staff made the difference between a good and great experience.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiga3mata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    77
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
122
410
44
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Beautiful setting. We didn't love our room for a couple of simple reasons--the bathroom has an open wall to the bedroom, and there is a frosted window to the hallway; at night the hallway lights shine into the room and it's actually both really light, and also doesn't give you a feeling of real privacy.
The hotel is beautiful though, the pool is very nice, the service is great, and the the food was very good. Until the Amman resorts opens (early 2010?) it's the best place to stay in Luang Prabang, though I'd switch to Amman Resorts if I went again and it was open.
No gym, and the internet was really slow.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your personal observations regarding your stay at La Résidence Phou Vao. Your opinion is very valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and in ensuring that your expectations are met each visit.

You will be happy to know that, as a result of guest feedback like yours, we changed our Internet provider and installed new Wi-Fi equipment in order to provide our guests with secure, reliable and free wireless Internet.

Additionally, we are most delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities as well as the ‘great’ service and ‘very good’ food at the hotel.

We certainly hope that your future plans to visit Laos include La Résidence Phou Vao, because the only thing better than welcoming you, is welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

There is simply no better place to stay in Luang Prabang than the Residence Phou Vao. The service is superb with staff that speak very good english. I had been forewarned that I would need to exercise extreme patience in Laos. Not so at Phou Vao, everything worked beautifully. Try to avoid the hottest months since, even though the rooms are well air conditioned there is a lack of cool public spaces.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabianaChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maastricht
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

The magic of Luang Prabang can only be experienced fully by staying in this excellent hotel.
We loved the athmosphere, all of the lovely and caring staff and the exquise food by their
French chef.
Highly recommended!!

Philippe and Iris
Maastricht
Netherlands

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netsrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

La Residence Phou Vao was truly a relaxing and luxurious way to spend time in Luang Prabang, Laos. We arranged airport pick up via the hotel and it went smoothly. We were immediately whisked away to the hotel where we received a room upgrade. After being greeted by the hotel staff and general manager, we made our way to the beautifully designed and sizable room. The beds were lush, the hardwood floors gave the room elegance, and there was also a balcony area to recline and enjoy the beautiful scenery from the room.

The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the main portion of Luang Prabang. Its just a few minute ride in their more luxurious version of a tuk tuk, and the staff was always ready to drive us into town on no notice. They run a regular service in the evening hours at set times as well.

We opted to book the hotel's boat for a trip up the Mekong to the Pak Ou Caves. Our guide was so kind and did a great job of providing information and beverage services on the way to/from the caves. I would highly recommend this for a quiet and informative trip up the Mekong.

If you do have the chance, make sure to visit the spa. The services there are also outstanding and relaxing. Bliss!

Finally, the hotel's restaurant is also worthy of superlatives. The food was utterly fantastic and the service again outstanding. At night, they put floating candles in the pool and you can see a lit pagoda (i forgot the name!) off in the distance. They have a variety of cuisine including Lao and European dishes. The seafood risotto was off the hook.

Luang Prabang is truly a beautiful town and our stay at La Residence Phou Vao made it even more wonderful. We look forward to coming back in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parabola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

The La Residence is an upscale boutique hotel on one of the hills a few kilometers from the city center of Luang Prabang. We stayed at this hotel twice, the first time for three nights and then the second for one night (after returning from a trip upriver to Nang Kiaw). The first time we paid approximately $220 per night, including taxes. The second time we paid around $150 based on a few extenuating circumstances and some hard negotiation by my friend.

The pool at this hotel is the main attraction. The bar is nice, too, for that matter, as it overlooks the infinity pool and its amazing view of the jungle and hillside. The rooms are nice and very clean but probably not worth the money (you're paying 3 - 5 times more than other, very passable properties). The free wireless internet is a nice touch but can be a bit spotty at times and extremely slow always. The breakfast is very good with an array of fresh fruits, cereals, some typical hot food and an egg station. The coffee (as is the case throughout Laos by my observation) is excellent.

The service was terrific; they were instrumental in helping us make all sorts of arrangements from reserving a room at a tiny guest house up-river to renting motor bikes to seeing the alms ritual in town at sunrise.

They also provided transportation to town (too far to walk) on demand throughout the day and on a set schedule at night (free of charge). It was a 20,000 - 30,000 kip tuk-tuk ride back to the hotel each evening.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SphinxSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for staying with us at La Résidence Phou Vao and for sharing your positive experience with others. Your opinion is very valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and in ensuring that your expectations are met each visit.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments in noting that you found our staff ‘terrific’ and the rooms ‘nice and very clean’.

Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our exceptional location and extensive facilities.

We certainly hope that your future plans to visit Laos include La Résidence Phou Vao as it would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Luang Prabang!

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We are back from Indochina and on our tour on the Mekong, we also stopped three nights at Luang Prabang. As last winter we were really satisfied with the Orient Express Hotel in Yangon Myanmar, we staid at La Residence Phou Vao during this trip.
And it seamed to be the right choice. The hotel has a great and quiet location with remarkable architecture. The staff was very friendly and they tried their best, even if the communication in English is not always that easy.
During the first night the air con in our room was a bit noisy. On the next morning we met the General Manager and he immediately organised a room change for us – we even got a room "upgrade". The whole team took good care of us to make sure that we were completely satisfied with the hotel services.
To sum up, great location, great hotel and good team.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vroenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence Phou Vao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence Phou Vao

Property: Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Address: Luang Prabang 84330, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence Phou Vao 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned atop a hill, gazing across the sacred mountains, Belmond La Résidence Phou Vao is an unforgettable place to stay. Its calm, tranquil ambiance echoes that of sleepy World Heritage town of Luang Prabang - former royal capital of Laos - spread out below. Designed in a traditional style, this intimate hotel is gemmed with teak, silk and fresh cotton accents. The hotel's Phou Savanh restaurant is famed for its wonderful French-influenced local cuisine while Doc Champa bar offers guests a range of Laotian and classic cocktails. The award-winning Mekong Spa blends ancient techniques with modern understanding to ensure complete indulgence and well-being and is the first luxury spa in Luang Prabang, Laos. Furthermore the hotel offers a gym, boutique, tours & excursion desk, meeting room and organic garden with cooking class area. The hotel's 34 suites are elegantly furnished with emphasis on local styles and materials. The combination of parquet and traditional Lao textiles creates an immediate sense of peace and space in all suites. Large windows provide plenty of natural light and open onto the exotic gardens. A conveniently arranged terrace offers privacy, comfort and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Belmond, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond La Residence Phou Vao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Phou Vao By Orient-Express Hotel Luang Prabang
La Residence Phou Vao Hotel
La Residence Phou Vao Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing