We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent three nights at this lovely, peaceful property. The service was great and the room was comfy with great beds and ice cold AC. Lovely view of the gardens and town from our balcony. Breakfast was great, spa service was wonderful. We had one dinner which was quite tasty but pricey as were drinks in the bar. It was great to be 'away' from the main town which was but a two minute shuttle ride. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Loved the view from room 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonoluluRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    77
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
122
412
45
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Located on a hill and tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of town, this property oozes charm and elegance of the Old World. The collections of villas are well placed from each other, and beautifully set bordering a sweet cosy garden, and lots of lovely old trees. The heart of the property is around the pool and the great restaurant. The F&B manager, Patty shares her travels stories as well as her menu recommendations to the International, local and Turkish dishes lovely created by their Turkish chef. The spa is delightful and is a real treat after a day of sightseeing. The whole property is incredibly well managed by John, the General Manager and his team. My one comment would be that being an 8 year old property...the bedrooms are in need of "updating" for what would be otherwise a perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtrip222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

From the time you land to the time you leave, everything is pure luxury. The town of Luang Prabang is truly a gem within South East Asia and this hotel more than exceeds every expectation in terms of hospitality. We opted for one of their Garden View Phou Suites and they were so spacious and opulent. The gardens of this hotel deserve special mention. They are lush well maintained and a wonder to the eye.
The Spa was great and we especially enjoyed the pool/social area around the Spa. The main social area is also wonderful and the views breathtaking.
It is a short 5 min ride into central Luang Prabang, however there is always a hotel tuk tuk on hand and in the evening they have a very efficient shuttle service. To be just outside the historical district, in our opinion, is a blessing.
The staff were excellent and always around to assist in a courteous and professional manner. Special “shout out” to Pattie (Food and Beverage Manager – pure genius and the kind of person you long to meet on your travels).
Everything was sensational. John and his team make this hotel a “must stay” for guests wishing to experience the gems of SE Asia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarPANAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I have just spent two nights and three days indulging in the tranquillity of La Residence Phou Vao. We read-up on the town and hotel in particular before booking our holiday, so our expectations were high. We weren't in anyway disappointed and our leaving was tinged with not a little regret that we hadn't stayed longer.

This is an incredible hotel, full of old world character and oriental charm. It's also part of the Oriental Express Group, something we hadn't really appreciated before our stay but will definitely look out for in the future. The staff, led graciously by the GM, John Dopéré, were attentive and extremely helpful at all times without being intrusive. The room was comfortable and very well appointed whilst maintaining it's charm and outstanding balcony view. Our room overlooked the infinity pool onto the lush vegetation and the mountains beyond. The food is wonderful, the only issue is having to decide from the fantastic menus. The cocktail menu is worth a visit too.

This time of the year is considered "low season", which meant that we had much of the residence to ourselves. I would say this was a gift for us. The weather was great and tranquility only enhanced. Everything we read said the hotel was "a little way of of town", in a positive way, implying that you were away from the hustle and bustle of the town. It is just outside town but actually only minutes walk and with transport readily available whenever you need it. Ideal location..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is our first stay at an Orient Express property and it was everything and beyond what we expected. We arrived at the Luang Prabang airport and the driver was practically waiting next to luggage belt to help us with our luggage.

As soon as you arrived in the lobby there was a very unique scent which brings you back in time.

We were accommodated in the Prabang room which had views of the lush tropical garden full of frangipani flowering trees. The balcony looked into the hills of Luang Prabang.

The team at the hotel was professional and very genuine as well. On the second morning we got up early to attend the alms-giving ritual but we forgot to book the shuttle the night before. We went to the lobby at 5.30am and lucky for us the driver was already there. He took us to the place where the ritual takes place and he also helped purchased the rice and arranged for the mat so we could participate. (One note : it was advised that travelers do not buy the rice from the vendors on the streets).

Apparently April - September is the low season. However from our experience this is the best time to go as you can really enjoy the property. Actually I don'tt know why this beautiful time of the year should be the low season as the weather was perfeclt sunny for the 3 days while we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Beautiful property, great deal for the money in a luxury but not ultra-mega-thousands of dollars per night-luxury kind of way. Attentive staff, great detail, had the place to ourselves. Like many have noted, this hotel is not in town so you will need to rely on their vans or taxies to get to and from the sights of LP. The rooms was nice- I especially remember the bathroom being wonderful. The one thing that sticks in my memory months later is the TV in the room being small and outdated. Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at La Residence Phou Vao and were blown away. The service we received was the best we have ever had at any hotel. The restaurant was beyond delicious and the menu creative. Our room was large and had a wonderful balcony and view. We spent our afternoons at the infiniety pool which has great views of town. The entire property is beautiful and peaceful. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
570 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
743 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence Phou Vao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence Phou Vao

Property: Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Address: Luang Prabang 84330, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence Phou Vao 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned atop a hill, gazing across the sacred mountains, Belmond La Résidence Phou Vao is an unforgettable place to stay. Its calm, tranquil ambiance echoes that of sleepy World Heritage town of Luang Prabang - former royal capital of Laos - spread out below. Designed in a traditional style, this intimate hotel is gemmed with teak, silk and fresh cotton accents. The hotel's Phou Savanh restaurant is famed for its wonderful French-influenced local cuisine while Doc Champa bar offers guests a range of Laotian and classic cocktails. The award-winning Mekong Spa blends ancient techniques with modern understanding to ensure complete indulgence and well-being and is the first luxury spa in Luang Prabang, Laos. Furthermore the hotel offers a gym, boutique, tours & excursion desk, meeting room and organic garden with cooking class area. The hotel's 34 suites are elegantly furnished with emphasis on local styles and materials. The combination of parquet and traditional Lao textiles creates an immediate sense of peace and space in all suites. Large windows provide plenty of natural light and open onto the exotic gardens. A conveniently arranged terrace offers privacy, comfort and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond La Residence Phou Vao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Phou Vao By Orient-Express Hotel Luang Prabang
La Residence Phou Vao Hotel
La Residence Phou Vao Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing