We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and exquisite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil and exquisite”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Dark woods. Spacious rooms. Lovely gardens. Lovely people. Beautiful pool. Romantic dinners. Excellent staff. One of the finest hotels I have stayed in. It was a pleasure to stay in this lovely hotel. We would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    77
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
125
414
45
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is situated 10 minutes away from the centre of town and they provide free shuttle. Stunning view at the swimming pool with straight view of the mount Phousi. Everyone is caring and really tries to make their guests feel like at home. Breakfast buffet is the most extensive I have seen. Great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This may be the nicest hotel we've ever stayed in. It is first class all the way. Never saw the price for the huge room since it was part of a tour package, but it was extremely nice. The staff is all very friendly. The gardeners are also always busy making sure that any leaves that fall don't stay on the ground for longer than 15 minutes. The restaurant is also heavenly -- run by a very friendly manager, Patti. The food is great, but it is very expensive compared to other very good restaurants in Luang Prabang. We spent over $150 for dinner for the two of us, which doesn't sound like much compared to U.S. standards, but considering you can get a great meal in town for one-third of that price, it may not be worth it. Overall though, it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a phenomenal property located in the charming town of Luang Prabang. The level of attention to detail is phenomenal. My profile picture is actually a portion of their lobby. The staff is omnipresent, but not really seen. They keep things clean and just seem to appear whenever something is needed. Our room was quite large and separated into two rooms; the bed in the master bedroom was exceptionally comfortable. The pool area is absolutely lovely although my children felt that the water was a bit too cold. My only complaint is the cost of the food and drinks; while I am happy to pay for excellent service and fabulous surroundings, the food and beverage costs were equivalent to anything I would find at a top restaurant in NYC. Overall, though a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpsychologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPV, Manager at Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sir/ Mdm,

Thank you for your wonderful comments, which were shared with the team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warms regards,
The management & team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

It is a very nice place and expensive but one night there was a wedding nearby that was horrible noise until midnight next day a party nearby
In addition there offered tours were too expensive and not necessary since you could arrange on your own (the hotel emailed pressuring to sign up)
asked for a map and was given a horrible xerox one later asked again and got a good one
never told that there was a free tuk to the town
again overpriced

Room Tip: make sure there are no parties or weedings
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank apchelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPV, Manager at Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sir / Mdm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your personal observations regarding your recent stay at La Résidence Phou Vao.

It is unfortunate that you felt our hotel were not to your satisfaction. We express our sincere regrets that you did not fully enjoy the stay at our properties.

Additionally, regarding to noise of the party nearby, now the government of the Luangprabang has planning to issue the new policy for the party time around the town which need to be reduced soon. We do hope it will be done soonest. Moreover regarding to the hotel price I could confirm that they are comparable to (and in some cases actually less expensive) than other five star hotels in Luang Prabang.

Therefore, As is stated on our website and mention on arrival that, we have provided shuttle service for all day as per the schedule & on requesting from the guest.

We do hope you will have the opportunity to visit Luang Prabang again soon. Should you do so, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, so we can personally ensure that your next stay will be memorable for the right reasons.

Warms regards,

The management & team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to find this beautiful hotel in Luang Prabang. Everything was perfect. The room was lovely and so was the bathroom - very comfy bed. The whole ambiance was calm, efficient and the hotel was beautifully run in a lovely setting. The spa was lovely - the massage very calming!We had breakfast and lunch twice and all delicious and very well presented but we had dinner in town in a couple of very good restaurants. The Belgian General Manager was charming and all the staff very helpful. We did not have time to sample the infinity pool which looked very tempting. We were sad to leave and would certainly recommend this hotel and would search for other Residence hotels in the chain on our future travels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

La Residence Phou Vao is located just outside Luang Prabang with a view of the mountains and the town below. The grounds of the hotel are very nice and the extensive breakfast served inside or outside is quite good. It it is cool in the morning so small wood wires are started in outdoor containers to keep the chill off. We used the spa which is very professional and efficient with a lovely setting in separate huts. The whole staff is well trained and very helpful. We arranged a one day tour on the Mekong which was a real treat with lunch served on the beach. Shuttles are available into the town since walking is doable but a hike.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a view of the mountains and try the Mekong cruise. The monk walk at 6am is wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveledSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence Phou Vao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence Phou Vao

Property: Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Address: Luang Prabang 84330, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence Phou Vao 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned atop a hill, gazing across the sacred mountains, Belmond La Résidence Phou Vao is an unforgettable place to stay. Its calm, tranquil ambiance echoes that of sleepy World Heritage town of Luang Prabang - former royal capital of Laos - spread out below. Designed in a traditional style, this intimate hotel is gemmed with teak, silk and fresh cotton accents. The hotel's Phou Savanh restaurant is famed for its wonderful French-influenced local cuisine while Doc Champa bar offers guests a range of Laotian and classic cocktails. The award-winning Mekong Spa blends ancient techniques with modern understanding to ensure complete indulgence and well-being and is the first luxury spa in Luang Prabang, Laos. Furthermore the hotel offers a gym, boutique, tours & excursion desk, meeting room and organic garden with cooking class area. The hotel's 34 suites are elegantly furnished with emphasis on local styles and materials. The combination of parquet and traditional Lao textiles creates an immediate sense of peace and space in all suites. Large windows provide plenty of natural light and open onto the exotic gardens. A conveniently arranged terrace offers privacy, comfort and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Residence Phou Vao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Phou Vao By Orient-Express Hotel Luang Prabang
La Residence Phou Vao Hotel
La Residence Phou Vao Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing