We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful photo opportunity”

Old Quarter Luang Prabang
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.00*
and up
Full Day Pak Ou Caves by Boat from Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful photo opportunity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Loved the buzz ,great market selling really everything,temples,massage and especially French pastry shops.The attractive buildings which are now heritage protected

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanadid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    298
    47
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I just love it !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I didn't intend to stay there for any longer than 1 night but I ended up staying for 3 days. This small town is just so nice. You can see many nice temples here, some even in mountainous areas so it could bring you spectacular views around the town and the Mekong River (but I didn't like the way foreigners have to buy tickets for every single temple!!). The streets have 2 sides, and I always went to the side that has view for the Mekong (love it so much). If you ever go there, make sure you have time to see the sunset over the vastness of Mekong River in Luang Prabang (I did, and it was the most beautiful sunset I have ever ever seen)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NgocAnh08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Scenic, but too much loose trash about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Not sure if it is just trashy all the time, but so much general trash everywhere we went. We did see cleaners but it never got cleaned in the 8 days we were there. Otherwise, the town was quite nice and scenically positioned between two rivers. Many shops to visit ...very beautiful lit up at night.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelfunretired2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I loved this place too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is one of the nicest places to just walk and look around. It is peaceful and filled with little boutiques and guest houses, beauty spas and restaurants. I particularly like the colonial architecture which gives this area such quaint charm.

Another experience to share is to sit by the river in the afternoon for a leisurely drink, or wait for the sundowner. Very pleasant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marijke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenhaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Take lots of time to explore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

A lot of visitors stop in LP for very short time, but this old quarter has many parts and deserves to be explored over a few days. The two sides, one more up-market with views over the Namkam river and the other more local food, cheaper accommodation and spectacular views over the Mekong. In the middle the old shops, cafes and restaurants are great for sitting in and watch the wold go by. At every turn there is a monastery to explore.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annypurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Quarter Luang Prabang also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Old Quarter Luang Prabang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing