We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Relaxing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Yinnar, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Great Hotel with great staff. After booking manager Michael arranged for airport pickup which was excellent. Room was good and clean with a big bed. Breakfast is ample and the staff will arrange any tours or trips you want o do. Wi Fi is excellent as well. Bit of a walk into town to the night market but easy walking and enjoyable...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnP3840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    79
    25
    6
    8
See reviews for
25
138
60
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Excellent service,clean and comfortable in a quiet location near the night market and main attractions.Quality food including a generous well cooked breakfast. Thoughtful,efficient,helpful manager and staff who clearly care about their customers experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philsdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The room is clean, bed is huge and toilet is spacious. However, when my partner and I opened the small refrigerator there were only 2 big bottles of water, needed to ask the complimentary water, coffee or tea. Ohh wifi was fast too!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trinaughty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We booked this place through agoda.com but when we arrived the receptionist said they had no record of our booking. They were nice enough to put us up in another hotel in town, but the place we stayed was half the price and we received no compensation for the difference.

Latter in our trip a local told us Lakhangthong has a reputation for doing this kind of thing. My advice is book directly with the hotel and reconfirm your booking before arriving.

Room Tip: Don't book online!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kennyrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
277 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Must mention that Michael and his staff were really helpful. He emailed me in advance saying they do an airport pickup, I got there super early and they let me check in early which was appreciated. Breakfast was lovely and served on a table directly outside my room each morning, Michael also gave me a lift into town on my last day as I was running late and to not miss my trip. Room was spacious.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haribo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights in March. We had originally planned on staying for 3 nights, but the hotel was very comfortable and Michael and the staff were VERY friendly, so we opted to extend our stay an additional 4 nights. We were glad we did. There's a lot to see and experience in and around Luang Prabang!!

Our room had highly ceilings, rich dark furnishings, a large clean bathroom, strong Wifi signal and LCD TV. The bed was very comfortable and the A/C worked GREAT! We were in room #10, right behind the registration desk, but we had NO issues. The room was quiet at night and during the day. We had no problems with noise at all.

There were several Western selections and Laos noodle soup available for breakfast. The breakfast was very good, and fruit and coffee/tea/juice/shakes were also included.

Michael and his staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was very relaxing. He arranged a comfortable A/C van out to the waterfalls at a reasonable price. They also furnished a free ride out to the airport on our departure.

In short, if you are staying in Luang Prabang and are looking for a friendly, quiet place, just a nice 10 minute walk into town, then my wife and I highly recommend the Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room behind the reception desk (#10) was very quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights and enjoyed our stay, but left feeling a bit frustrated with a few things. The rooms really are unique, they are huge and beautifully done in the all-wooden style with nice furnishings. The bed is comfy and the bathroom a good size, we enjoyed having a bath as well as a shower, and the complimentary water, tea/coffee and toiletries. The location was fine for us, it was about a 15/20 minute walk to the centre of town, where you'll find most places to eat, the main sights and night market. However, despite a friendly welcome and helpfulness initially of the staff, when it came to check out they were less helpful, tried to overcharge us, and I had to be whisked on the back of a motorbike in a mad panic to another hotel to pay by card (although they advertise being able to pay this way) leaving my partner baffled behind - so that we nearly missed our bus. Our room was also right behind reception and it was very noisy, both from the staff themselves and the guests next door - the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything...breakfast was generous and tasty but it was a bit frustrating that they insisted on giving us massive portions when we insisted on less (we don't eat much), and the free wifi did not really work in the room. I think this place could be really excellent, and it is certainly marketed at travellers who want something a bit better than budget, especially given the great price (£23 a night in Dec 2013), but they need to finetune a few things first I think.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from reception, on the first floor if possible, as ground floor rooms near recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#31 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#35 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#25 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel

Property: Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Address: Noradeth Rd, Ban Thatluang, Town Center, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new hotel in the city center of Luang Prabang Laos, nearby Night Market and Mekong River, else for word king around city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing