We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed four nights in beautiful room 15 with a wrap around deck and gorgeous teak panelling. Unfortunately although this is one of the best rooms, it is very noisy from activity across the road. The bed and pillows were so comfortable and once asleep we slept well. The room was spotlessly clean and towels were changed daily. (I know this is ecologically bad but it is nice!) The breakfasts are generous portions and I had the banana pancakes every day with fresh fruit. I didn't need anything more till late afternoon.
The hotel is centrally located and an easy flat 20 minute walk into town.
However the very best feature of here is the staff. They appear as soon as you arrive back with a juice and some fresh fruit. If you are sitting on the deck they will provide endless cups of tea or coffee. Nothing is any trouble.
Thuiy was just fantastic at organizing tuk tuks and taxis for us, providing suggestions on where we should go and where we should eat. He should be rewarded by the hotel for making the stay so pleasant for everyone.
We didn't negotiate on price and felt we should have as others seemed to have much better deals than we got, so recommend this.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 314 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stumbled upon this and they were willing to give us a good price for a room. Unfortunately when we returned the next day they were not able to provide us with the room we were promised and had to stay in one behind reception but it was still very nice. Everything has lovely quality wood with blackout wooden window shutters.
The staff are amazing and very helpful. Always big smiles. Breakfast is pretty good, had better bread at cheaper places but awesome as you can have as much as you want. They also served complimentary drinks at other times of the day! Never seen this before.
Location is ok, about 5 mins walk into town where the night markets etc are but LP is a small town so no real worries. They also hire bikes for getting around which are great.
My main comment would be that the customer service skills / people skills of the staff exceed those of the manager, but you mostly deal with the staff so it isn't a problem.
On the whole my partner and I loved this place and would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs seemed nicer to sit at for breakfast as they serve it outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have tried some other hotels in Luang Prabang before, all of them are really nice. But this Hotel is different....Staff is so helpfull and friendly. I feel like I am at home. Roomes on the second floor are amazing, walls are wooden made, roof timbering is open...We love that kind ofre buildings. Staff is so friendly and helpfull i have never had this in any other city in SEA. Specially Thouy from the nightshift is a good one. He speaks a very good englsh and if you have any questions, he can help.

Even it is a bit noisy in some rooms, still a very good hotel to stay. Try it!

Room Tip: Please do not took the De-Luxe Room not in front of the road. To noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Lakhangthong has 3 outstanding assets -- incredible staff (always smiling, always agreeable, and very apologetic if anything goes wrong), free laundry, and amazing breakfasts, as others have noted. Also, beautiful but smallish rooms, and fluffy pillows but hard beds
It also has some major disadvantages: We didn't like the location much; it's a 25 min walk to the center of town, a bit much if you like to return to the hotel in the afternoon, as we do. It could mean 3 hrs a day back and forth (of course, you can get a tuk tuk for 20-30 kip; still, it adds up). Another problem was noise. Perhaps just our luck but 3 nights out of 6 we were kept awake or awakened by loud TV or talking. The walls are very thin; we could hear the snores of our neighbors. Finally, it's hard for our western eyes to see birds kept in small cages. Perhaps it's better for them than to be killed and eaten, but still hard to see. I hate to say this, but overall, I think there are better options.

Room Tip: Room 12 is the best by far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caminoista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in November. We were picked up by a hotel car from the atmospheric little airport (where's Biggles?). The hotel is a wonder in teak wood. We were given room 15 (probably the best room in the hotel). It has a little balcony running round the room, The room itself was enormous with a huge comfortable bed. The bathroom was disappointingly small - rather badly designed given the space and quality of the rest of the room. Breakfast was served at a small table on a balcony just outside the room. Every time we arrived back from town Ming would appear with fruit and juice. The breakfasts were wonderful - a choice of just about anything one might want. We hired bikes from the hotel - good quality and with a lock - which was a great way to get around Luang Prabang and see the sites. It is a lovely town and was probably the highlight of our extensive SE Asia trip. Thanks Ming for looking after us so well!

Room Tip: Go for room 15 if it's available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights, the hotel was beautiful , peaceful and our room was very clean and well air conditioned with a very comfy four poster bed. The hotel was not too far from the centre (7 min walk). Breakfast was great and staff accommodated any slight changes to the menu. The hotel staff were the best we have experience to date, always happy, very helpful and friendly nothing was to much trouble, in particular minh and Touy were fab. We really enjoyed our stay and would come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairefost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you go to luang Prabang this is the place to stay,the staff go out of ther way to help, the hotel is nice and clean & quite cosy surprisingly the breakfast is very big ( how many places do you get 3 eggs for breakfast ) fruit salad,fruit shake.
If I ever go back that is the place I would stay .The price is fine and they are negotiable if you decide to stay for a while as we did 5 extra days, whilst originally booking for one day.
They try very hard to please even organize buses and other bookings without marking up the price, just a service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#36 of 71 in Luang Prabang
222 reviews
1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#37 of 71 in Luang Prabang
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 71 in Luang Prabang
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel

Address: Noradeth Rd, Ban Thatluang, Town Center, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $38 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new hotel in the city center of Luang Prabang Laos, nearby Night Market and Mekong River, else for word king around city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing