We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Nice photos, but crowded in the evening

I went up for the sunset, like most people. The Stupa itself is simple, but the site overall is... read more

Reviewed December 9, 2023
marabujor6
,
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Great 360 views

This is a pretty little stupa beside the temple atop Mount Phousi. The views are great and you can... read more

Reviewed July 4, 2020
milliesmum2016
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Read all 121 reviews
  
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
35
54
30
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
35
54
30
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 121 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2017

The wat itself isn't anything wonderful, but the walk down the far side, (we went up from the Royal Palace Museum side), to the river with buddha images and a cave on the way, great views from the top and the fact that you get a bit of exercise makes this a worthwhile place to visit in Luang Prabang. 20,000 kip to go up, and having to pay for something every time you turn around can get a bit much, especially when a lot of places just aren't worth even a few dollars, but we enjoyed this as much for the walk as anything else.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Raelene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile

The That Chomsi Stupa located on top Mountain Phousi about 100 m high in the centre Old town Luang Prabang city, very nice gold Stupa !!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank aiiburstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 16, 2016

The views are great and cover both the Mekong and Nam Khan Rivers. The temple is small and so to the golden stupa but definitelt worth a visit up the steps some 100 meters up.The stuoa was built in 1804 by the then king and is worth seeing.The cost in 20,000 K

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 12, 2016

This is a small wat at the top of overhyped and overrated Mount Phousi. Nothing much to see really. Do not waste your time coming up here, unless you have nothing much to do.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Ngan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Lots to see on the way up (or down). Summit isn't spectacular for the Wat (but worth the trip up for the sunset!).

On the river side, there are many things to see. On the city side, mostly just stair.

If you are in Luang Prabang, this is a must see attraction.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank tazman1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews