We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wooden guesthouse near river Mekong.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phonemaly Guesthouse
Ranked #154 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“wooden guesthouse near river Mekong.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

It is a relative new guesthouse along a quiet but busy Th Hoxieng off Th Chao Fa Ngum. The upper floor offers better rooms but at a higher rate compared to the ground floor. There are a pair of timber buildings each belonging to two sisters and their families. At the central reception area are free bananas, coffee, mineral water, maps and wi fi. We can buy our meals from the market and come back to eat as utensils are also provided. In the morning at 5.30 am along Th Chao Fa Ngum is the monks procession for alms. I find this part of alms pocession to be more authentic than that at Th Sakkerin, 1 km along the same road. Best of all there is a food market in the mornings and evenings as well as the night bazaar is a 5 minutes walk from the guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamestankee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in one of the upper rooms. They are not huge but large enough and clean. Friendly owners who were willing to so something with the price (end of low season). With free coffee, tea and bananas a good place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flijten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

cheap rooms paid 60 000 kip for a double with good facilities ie tv, mosquito nets, hot water, wifi etc would stay again, there was free water all day and free coffee before 11am the location is really close to the markets and baguette sellers, just up from the river.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bexy66uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

When we arrived to Luang Prabang we stayed 2 nights in 2 different guesthouses. They both went through our bags many times so we had to keep on searching for an honest guesthouse.

Phonemaly Guesthouse is an honest one. We have a system so we know if someone has been opening our backpacks.
The oldest man was really nice (manager? owner?). They never cleaned the room but clean if you ask. We just needed toilet paper. The old man was everyday offering trips to waterfalls or caves. We bargained a better deal with a random tuktuk.
There where a couple of power blackouts but it was always the whole street.

If your looking for something cheap without stealing staff this is it !

Stayed here for a week on April 2013.

Room Tip: I bargained a double room with ac, tv, fan to 110.000 KIP = 14 USD. Room nr 7 (double) has a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikko W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Maly
Villa Maly
#10 of 69 in Luang Prabang
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phonemaly Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phonemaly Guesthouse

Property: Phonemaly Guesthouse
Address: Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing