We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
92
24
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
24
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself guided walkstotal relaxationnice hikesgreen curryswimming pool islocated minutesin townpeaceful staystayed two nightsspecial thankspad thaituk tuklao foodstayed longersaunabungalowtrekking
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 124 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2017

There is a reason this is the #1 specialty resort in luang prabang. Hillside is quiet, peaceful and relaxing and is our first choice when staying in luang prabang. the staff are attentive, the rooms are inviting, cozy and sparkling clean and the restaurant serves up delicious food and drinks. come here and you will be happy you did!

Room Tip: all rooms are cozy and quiet
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brad d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideNatureLodge, Owner at Hillside - Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Hi Brad,
many thanks for your wonderful review and feedback. We have passed on your feedback to our service team and our kitchen staff, who are thrilled on getting such a feedback once in a while.
We are in deed very proud of them all, capable to guarantee the 'Hillside' standards and taking very good care of our guests.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back here one day.
Best wishes from the mountains
Holger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2017

Conveniently remote, the Hillside is by far my favorite out-of-town resort near Luang Prabang. Only a half hour away from the busy tourist center and airport, the Hillside is situated in a steep-sided, secluded valley, the home of cave dwellers 10,000 years ago. Pierre, the host, is extremely congenial and accommodating, multi lingual and has great in-depth information about local ethnic cultures and customs. Perfect for families and one of the only places in Laos where self-guided hikes and other activities are possible, (though Buddy – the family dog – usually volunteers his guide services for free). Jake and Elwood, two playful Mongolian horses, keep the grass cropped short. Different tree species flower and fruit all year round. They grow their own vegetables (organically), the food is excellent, the stars unusually close and the beer always cold. Nice swimming pool too. Knowledgeable expatriates often come with their families to dine and relax on their days off. Trust the locals!

Room Tip: An alternative name for the Hillside could be Serenity. The rooms are all very private and comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGLearned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideNatureLodge, Owner at Hillside - Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2017

Hi,

John it was indeed a great pleasure to have you staying with us. At this stage of the Lodge and level of the team. It is extremely encouraging and rewarding to get such a great feed back from our guests

Thanks John and all the best for you and our lovely daughter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I, along with our 2 year old son and his grandma recently stayed at the Hillside Lodge and loved each and every moment.

It is a good drive up into the hills so expect to plan your activities around the immediate area, and there is plenty to do and see! But don't worry whomever is hosting the lodge will explain it all in detail. We had Pierre at the time, and he was brilliant! Friendly and welcoming and a great help.

The Lodge dog Buddy accompanied us on two long walks, he was our guide and came everywhere and even waited for us when we took our time.

What surprised us though was the food. The chef at the lodge was brilliant, each meal we had was delicious. From the brekkie, to the Lao dishes to the carbonara of all things!

All up it was wonderful being right up in the jungle. Hearing the insects and birds, watching the butterflies and spiders... It was beautiful.

TIPS: Having someone from the lodge picking you up in the airport is worthwhile. It's not up marked roads. We had the owner Holger pick us up and his wife Aloun take us back down. A wonderful friendly couple.

We used a pram on our walks to the local village, even though it's bumpy roads, if you're strong and your pram is good, its possible.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank Glaxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideNatureLodge, Owner at Hillside - Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2017

Dear Glaxor,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience of our Lodge and thank you for the kind words. We will keep on working hard to ensure all our guests have a pleasant stay. In the future, we may get the chance to welcome you back. Kind regards
Holger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Just relaxed so I am sure we missed some of the great activities close by. After a few weeks of travel it was just time to chill though
In the up side we were picked up from town by the very friendly and prompt Holga and taken out to the resort. The resort set in a superb location- really in the jungle. Little cabins spread about the hillside are sweet.
A nice welcome by the ever friendly Pierre with Maps and explanations of things to do.
Meals were great, including breakfast (included).
Pool looked a bit murky but perhaps that's just how the water is there.
Downsides are that although sheets and towels were clean things less obvious like occasional cushions and throws on the bench on the deck clearly had not seen a wash for a long time. They did smell of a combination of tobacco and hair oil. The top of the mosquito net has a thick layer of dust.
The room had no A/C or fridge, pretty dodgy hot water- and wifi only in the restaurant not in the rooms - something you expect in rooms half the price.
As you are in the jungle you do get some small animals making noise in the night. That's ok, but barking dogs, a cat fight on our room's verandah and loud music from the restaurant down the road took the mood away a bit.
Look- it wasn't terrible, but it was not what you expect for US$70 per night. Maintenance being let go a bit etc.
I would give more stars but it really was not value for money.
But, if you are good with all that and want to really stay out in the lovely jungle in the mountains - this is the place for you!
We just checked in to a $50 place just out of town on the river and it is well appointed and really clean and maintained. Hillside people should stay here for a couple of nights to check out how it can be done. It has huge potential. I hope it works out for them.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Dennis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideNatureLodge, Owner at Hillside - Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2017

Dear Dennis11,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing Hillside Lodge. " …very friendly and prompt Holger...superb location....cabins are sweet....nice welcome by ever friendly Pierre...meals were great...sheets and towels were clean...lovely jungle mountains...etc" I interpret that over all you enjoyed your stay with us. Didn't you?
Concerning others of your statements, I would like to explain something first. You compare us with a place in town, where I dropped you off on your check out day. It’s inapt to compare a 400 square meter property in town (with the full infrastructure, public water - and electric supply, access to trained staff etc) to our 5 hectare property in the jungle mountain. It’s a bit like comparing apples to pears.
To go more in details:
Internet in the rooms is simply not possible. We have tried that but there is a very weak 3G- signal reception in the rooms.
It appeared strange to me that cushion, which are 24h outdoors smell tobacco. We checked that and couldn’t locate any smell. By the way the sun bench throws are brushed on a regularly base.
The mosquito net was in deed dusty and we apologize for that.
You complain the fact that there was no A/C in the rooms. Why? Did you feel hot? (with 10 degrees night temperature in winter times.) All rooms are equipped with a fan, even in summer that’s totally sufficient at Hillside, though the nights always cool down but „seek and ye shall find“.

Your review gives the impression that our place is a noisy location and I want to clarify that it is not. See for your self by reading the other reviews. Of course it happens a few times per year that locals 400m down the road celebrate with a beloved Karaoke (which ends lately at 11.00pm) and it also happens once in a while that animals (wild ones and domestic ones) having a fight at night. But that’s an exception rather than a rule, and above all beyond our sphere of influence.

I remember that we had a couple of chats and every time I asked you if everything is ok, you told me that all is good. Why didn’t you take the chance and tell me about your complaints? For example it would have taken us 10 min to exchange your mosquito net to a fresh one...

Nevertheless all the best wishes to you and your wife. Hopefully in future you will have a lot of inspiring and exciting travels.

Holger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017

After 4 days in Luang Prabang, we wanted something different. We weren't disappointed- Hillside was a great choice! Our room was terrific, with a great view. Pierre the manager was helpful and friendly as can be. Food was fine and not expensive. Make your reservation directly and breakfast is free.

Walk to the left after you leave the compound, and there's an organic farm 5 minutes away on your right. You can have a look around, and enjoy lunch or dinner if you like.

Walk to the right for 20 minutes and you'll be at a budding Disneyland. Costs less than $2 to get in, and lots to see. Also there's a neat village a bit further down the road.

We were happy with our 2 days at Hillside and bet you will be too.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stockmktgenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideNatureLodge, Owner at Hillside - Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear stockmktgenius, Many thanks for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hillside and thank you sharing these lovely comments about your experience with us. We are happy to know that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay up in the hills
We appreciate your comments on our service, rooms, food and nearby attractions which will motivates continuing on our way.
Thank you again, We look forward to welcoming you back in your next trip to Luang Prabang soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews