We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss a meal at Joy's when in Luang Prabang”
Review of Joys Restaurant

Joys Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not miss a meal at Joy's when in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Joy's is a hidden gem! We visited LP for 6 nights in January and had 4 meals at Joy's. Each was as good as, if not better than, the last. Joy herself showed us around (the restaurant is a gallery for her husband's wonderful photos), made us feel welcome, waited on us, cooked for us and is well named - she is a joy! The restaurant is not easy to find - I found the directions on other TA reviews rather confusing. The easiest way to find it is to walk away from the centre of town to the Namphu Fountain. Once you reach the fountain take a right and Joy's is almost at the end of that road, on the right. The food is made with fresh, local foodstuffs and is just fantastic. The restaurant is small but modern, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cailin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    34
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Lao Food”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We visit Joys as often as we can during our stays in Luang Prabang. The menu is small but the food is always freshly cooked and delicious her Lao food is excellent and really good value. Joy's husband is a professional photographer and his work adorns the walls making for an interesting environment if you eat indoors though there are two outside tables.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gran123CambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We went two times in Joys and really loved it! The food is fresh and very tasty. If you want to try the Laos food, this for you. And the prices are almost the same that the street food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anais S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The only place to eat in Luang Prabang!!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Joy is an absolute delight and the food is consistently good. Fresh and served with care. The house is spotless and her husbands photographs are incredible.
Best french fries since home!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and good prices”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a great meal at Joys. Everything is freshly made so it might take a bit for the order to come out but that seems common in Luang Prabang. We had the papaya salad, Lao laap and fried noodles. Everything was fresh and very flavorful. We also had a Lao beer and our total bill was 80,000 KIP which is a great deal for the quality.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank trystdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joys Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Joys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing