We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in relaxed, child friendly environment”
Review of Joys Restaurant

Joys Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food in relaxed, child friendly environment”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We followed the directions in the reviews and were not disappointed, It was very relaxed so the kids (3 and 5) were able to play with some lego while we finished eating. The service was friendly and I would recommend the crispy fried fish with garlic. An added bonus was the cards with beautiful shots of Laos. A great find.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    30
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“OK food, pretty cheap”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I guess it depends on what you look for in a restaurant. If you are looking for basic local food on the cheap, this is your place.

If you are looking for interesting food, this isn't it.

We had green papaya salad: shredded green papaya with a dressing; and chicken laab: ground chicken, a little onion and a dressing. It was all good in a basic way, but pretty plain.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Canute_the_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nowhere better”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Joy's is slightly out of the way..but is a hidden gem. Part restaurant...part photographic gallery, the food is excellent as are the surroundings and the staff..a home from home. Indeed, a Lao friend says Joy is the the second best cook in Laos.....the best? His Mum of course!
Alan

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank afsl0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I've visited Luang Prabang six times over the last 8 years and Joy's restaurant is always the place that I want to eat at. It has remained consistently good over the years - and one of the reasons why I rank it so highly. I haven't had a dish that I've been unsatisfied with. My favourite is certainly the Pad Thai and I think that its the nicest I've eaten in my travels in Laos and Thailand. Apart from the food, the ambience is great and being able to see the photographs taken by Paul, Joy's husband, on the wall is always a delight. Only slight draw back is that its slightly tucked away - but its certainly worth making the effort to find.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Loveliest little corner of Luang Prabang”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful little place run it's namesake Joy, whose name fits her so well.

The menu is big, with many specialities, including Western and Lao cuisines. I had the pleasure of trying the noodle soup, the chicken Laap, and the Mekong weed chips. All three were delightfully tasty. Joy even made me a wonderful ginger lemon honey tea to heal my aching traveller body. I came out of her place feeling a lot better. I'm going back tomorrow to try the fish laap and her stews.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MazenKh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joys Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Joys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing