We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an in-depth background”

UXO Laos Visitor Center
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for an in-depth background”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have now been three times to this museum. Once on my own to get ready to take Laos school children, with the children and finally with my wife. The lady who welcomes you is very friendly and helpful. For a small one room museum it is packed with information. It is sad that this recent history and bomb blight exists in Laos but it is good for visitors to learn about this history. I would highly recommend a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArjanSiKaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    143
    24
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An eye-opening and moving experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you are in Laos for the first time and nothing about its history you should definitely visit this little museum just a short cycle out of town. Definitely the best museum we visited in town and it is such a shame that a beautiful country is blighted by such an awful recent history and the bombs that were dropped still cause massive issues today. (Over 80million still out in the Laos countryside). It took us an hour overall, and this was mostly taken up by an informative video. Free to enter and a donation box to help the UXO charity.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjPBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I enjoyed the information provided at the center despite its size. The cause is amazing and well worth the visit if you can.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gyobam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Touching museum”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was probably the best museum we visited in all of Laos. It is not big, but well thought through. We think it was a good combination of factual information and personal stories. Overall we were touched by this museum and would highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomenEelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting & moving”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

An interesting & moving place to visit. It is such a shame that a lovely country like Laos has the problem of unexploded bombs throughout the country when they were not involved in the Vietnam War.
The American Government needs to do more now to clean up their mess & same innocent people from further injury or death

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Likeatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UXO Laos Visitor Center also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to UXO Laos Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing