We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent change from Laos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tangor

Tangor
Ranked #6 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Alton Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An excellent change from Laos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

A really excellent French restaurant looking over Sisavangvong Road. My wife had backed Camembert and I had duck both excellent in their own right but a welcome change from ubiquitous Lao cuisine. Even equipped with TinTin L'Orient. Price good, excellent service and a nice ambiance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wobbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    251
    50
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had a beautiful meal at this restaurant on my first evening in Luang Prabang. I had the baked camembert which, came with a salad and lightly toasted baguette. It was one of the best meals I have ever eaten! Although its components were relatively simple, combined they made a delicious and refreshing meal. Furthermore, the service was superb. I felt that this restaurant epitomised Laos' French influence whilst trying to incorporate Asian or local ingredients. The restaurant has a lovely ambiance, and I would recommend eating here whilst in Luang Prabang.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice menu, relaxing ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stopped by Tangor for a late lunch, and again later that weekend for drinks. The ceviche was outstanding - fresh, flavorful, nice bread. (A bit slow, as others have mentioned.) Great iced coffee. The cocktails were perfect (excellent mojito). Nice service, reasonably priced, and great ambiance. Tangor is a very pleasant place to pass a few hours!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the best meal in Luang Prabang. Make sure you have ample time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The food is really good. Had the green curry with pork skewers as well as the springroll. Although I am not a fan of rice, the green curry made it taste so good that I just had to finish everything on my plate. The pork skewers, unlike many eateries is tasty and juicy. Ambience of the restaurant is really comfy and if time permits, allow some time to chill here with a cocktail.

However, do make sure you have enough time on hand as they take quite a while to prepare for the food

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Simple: Excellent food, well prepared with pleasurable flavours.
Count on about 10 dollars per person.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank charles v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangor also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing