We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo - merci!”
Review of Tangor

Tangor
Ranked #7 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Bravo - merci!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stopped here for drinks one day and liked the ambiance so much we came back for dinner one night. Had beautifully cooked fish, which was delicious - also very good wine, and some South African cider which we'd never come across and which we would thoroughly recommend.

Stylish decor, helpful and professional service. Couldn't fault anything.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j1954g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    260
    51
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent place for friends”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Tangor a famous restaurant in Laos has one of the exquisite dishes of North American and European blend. Situated at House No.63/6, Ban Xiengmouane, Rue Sisavangvong, Luang Prabang, Laos , this restaurant is quite famous in that area. Me and my friends during the summer holidays, when we visited Laos we tried this restaurant and we found out that they serve exclusive dishes like pork chops , rice with dips and the traditional stakes etc. When we went in we ordered for a rice with a sacusy dip and some coconut fish, we also ordered some wine. The restaurant is probably French owned with a lot of french tourists flocking around that place. Food and ambience is great but since smoking is allowed inside and outside it sometimes become full of smoke all around but other than that food is great in a decent price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“french twist, delish”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Tangor has a great atmosphere and delicious food. Yes it's more expensive (by SE asian standards) than other places, but so it should be! The quality is of highest standard and care is clearly taken with each dish. No need for the past complaints about rushed staff, its hospitality! The staff are focused and do their absolute best. Treat yourself and visit Tangor, get several mains for yourself!

Helpful?
1 Thank Llewelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sep lai Asian & French Fusion”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This restaurant was very good due to the quality of the food, the service, and the decor/atmosphere.

The spring rolls we ordered as an appetizer were the best I've had in months being in Laos- perfectly crisp on the outside with a scrumptious filling of meats and vegetables. The ceviche, their signature dish, was our other appetizer and was plated nicely as well as tasting delicious and fresh at a chilled temperature. We also ordered the lemongrass infused fish, chicken satay, and baked cheese main courses which all met our group's individual tastes.

Furthermore, the service was attentive and friendly. We did not have a reservation and they seated us at 7:30 for a table they needed for a 9PM reservation. The staff did not rush us out and patiently allowed us to finish our meal and drinks. The exception they made to seating us at a table instead of setting us up at the bar was very kind.

Finally, the decor was nice-Buddhist influences with bright colors splashed on the walls, dark furniture, and soft lighting/music. It was the perfect last dinner in Luang Prabang!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank moz4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as good as we'd hoped”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Went anticipating a great meal, but felt let down. Perhaps we hit an off night, but the ceviche, which gets such enthusiastic reviews, was incredibly oily, to the point that I felt slightly nauseated afterwards. The other dishes ranged from from good to fair. It was expensive for Luang Prabang, but had anticipated that. The owner was not there the night we visited, and the service was just ordinary. I would not say it is great value for money. I think lots of folk enjoy a beer or wine sitting out front watching the world go by.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibault J, Manager at Tangor, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for your post.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not fully appreciate your meal at Tangor.

Please be sure that I will investigate on your comment.

Indeed our Ceviche is marinated with premium extra virgin olive oil so yes the presence of olive oil is necessary to flavored the dish as long as herbs and spices.

I am sorry to hear that you did not like it as most of our custommer. Please we would appreciate that if you come back to Luang Prabang you could give us a second chance.

Best regards,

Thibault







Have a good day !

Thibault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangor also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing