We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Lunch”
Review of Tangor

Tangor
Ranked #7 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Nong Muang Khai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lazy Lunch”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a lazy lunch at Tangor, with a nice glass of wine and good cappucino. The sushi was amazing! A well as the desserts that we had (especially the chocolate cake). Enjoy!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PetraNijmegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    265
    53
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth going”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We had cevice and sushi and it was to die for! Good service with friendly staff. Good menu choice of dishes and very nice French owners always concerned about your experience. Well located, came back for some after dinner drinks everyday we stayed in Luang Prabang.

Helpful?
Thank VascoCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the pleasure of France”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Tangor is a lovely place to sip a drink in the shade and listen to first-rate jazz (recorded) at the end of the afternoon, and a lovely place to eat, too, though the French accent in the cooking is stronger than the Lao, and it's rather expensive (though not by Parisian standards). The lime-basil panna cotta was a most brilliant dessert.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesWeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
1,053 reviews
537 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,536 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I had one of the best fish dishes I ever had at this restaurant, and that means something! They do cook with a lot of herbs so you'll have an explosion of taste in your mouth.

The starters were very good also, not just nicely presented but also cooked to perfection. Our second main course wasn't as good as the fish, the meat too dry. But the owner has shown how to handle such a case: looked at it, took it to the kitchen, returned, excused, asked if we want another main course and informed that it was taken off the bill. This is perfect customer service and each and every customer will excuse because we all know that something like this can happen.

Desserts were also extremely good.

Look at my other reviews and you'll understand that it's not easy to get a 5* ranking for food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I felt bad for other restaurants because I ended up eating here so often. But it just has so much going for it. Owners who run the business side-by-side. Good, tasty, interesting food. Interesting drinks that go down way to fast. And they are on the stip with really wide opening windows so you get to people watch. It's a nice looking restaurant, and everything they are doing just works well together. You really feel like they have thought it all out, and it now seems effortless. That's the way it should be. Make sure to stop here for a dinner at least once during your stay in LP. It was the best I had while I was there. And I paid more at other places in town for a lot less (and I'm talking quality and experience). We came back with a few others we had met along the way and ended up closing down the restaurant a couple of the nights (don't do this if you are staying very far as even transportation shuts down so you are walking home at the end of the night).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RonGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangor also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing