We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astoundingly good”
Review of Tangor

Tangor
Ranked #7 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Astoundingly good”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Tangor has some of the most original and fantastic food I've had, anywhere. You could put there dishes in any top restaurant in the world and they would not be out of place. Sticky rice sushi, fried spring rolls and of course the signature dish of ceviche, all were stunning. When you get the bill you almost want to cry because it's such incredible value. I would be very surprised if there is anywhere else in the world you can get mains of this quality for only about US$10.

Helpful?
Thank JimS255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    260
    51
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Truly Delicious Spring Rolls”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We ate here twice during our four nights in LP and both times came away raving about the food. The tastes and flavors are subtle and a great blend of Laos food and French. The spring rolls are the best I have had for a long time - cooked to perfection, delicious lemongrass flavors and packed with chicken. We tried the wonton soup - good but perhaps not as good as the other dishes we had here, cerviche - wonderful and recommended, and the fish in coconut and lemongrass was to die for. Finally, against my (incorrect) instincts, I tried the basil and lime juice panacotta. This was a lovely fusion of Laos and French tastes and the sensation lingered in mouth all the way home. Yes it is more expensive than many other LP restaurants, but then it is not your average joint. We would go back a third and fourth time if we were here for longer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
251 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely setting great food”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I had a lovely drink here, sitting watching the world go by. One of the best meals i have had in Luang Prabang was enjoyed here as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Went back for a second visit in two days”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We loved this place on LP's main strip. Stopped in two of our three evenings in town for drinks and hearty appetizers or light diner. The appie platter with sushi, ceviche, and spring rolls was recommended and WOW what a great suggestion. The ceviche is some of the best I've had. The wines by the glass were good which is really saying something for Laos (I'm not a beer drinker and had been getting by on spirits...) You really must treat yourself to a dessert or two as well. The lemon tart looked and tasted like something out of a Parisienne patisserie. And the lime/basil panna cotta was amazing and different. Gotta have both, 'cause it's too hard to choose...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vobriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“French decadence & sweets that are sweet!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I've been craving something super sweet since most Lao desserts barely register on my sugar-loving western palate. I had a cider and a lemon tart here on a Saturday afternoon - delicious, and very sweet! Tangor is a delightful place to sit and watch the world go by.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangor also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing