We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant!”
Review of Tangor

Tangor
Ranked #7 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Elegant!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Tangor is a gem in the center of Luang Prabang. The decor is elegant. It is relaxing with the instrumental and American easy listening music in the background. The food list which is on a blackboard is small but has a nice variety. There was not a written menu for the food. The drink menu is large and has many offerings. I requested a green salad and was offered one with apples and tomatoes. When it arrived it was arranged attractively on a nice large plate and had just the right amount of salad dressing. The salad was inexpensive and delicious. I will frequent Tangor often in the next two weeks to enjoy the salad again. It is one of my favorite restaurants in Luang Prabang.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelasIseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    261
    52
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“style”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

small but exceptional menu, the decor, ambience and music were a tonic. we loved laos but found stepping in Tangor something of a reviver.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon_joy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Food was very good. On the pricier side for the city but it was good. The space is gorgeous. The french couple that ran the place seemed great and made something special for my GF who is vegetarian.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant/ bar”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

A nice French cuisine with friendly service. Food was beautifully plated with a taste that matched. The fish, in particular was exquisite! The owner takes a hands on approach to ensure his customers are satisfied. Highly recommended!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tia20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuggart
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A decent bar&restaurant”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was pricey but the atmospher was good. Some kind of old French colonial style. I had light dinner there with a few friends. The food was really nice. I liked the mango fish. My friends had vegetarian food. Spring rolls and brioche were delicate as well. It's on the main road of the town with good location. You can find it easily by the quality decoration. It is a nice place to spend evening time with friends. I recommend this bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StuggartMart57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangor also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing