We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
318
157
29
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
318
157
29
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night market crepes lotus pond beautiful garden lovely hotel within walking distance an oasis the main street short walk room was clean and comfortable excellent location deluxe room hotel is located quiet at night wonderful stay stayed here for nights town centre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 511 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2017 via mobile

Hello, we stayed in this really beautiful Hotel in the beginning of April. The hotel is in very good conditions with a beautiful garden like an Oase. Moreover, the breakfast is unbelievable.
The stuff is remarkable polite and helpful for Tour planing and organizing:)
The morning before we left we did the elephant tour and wanted to shower. They offered us a possibility to shower also we have already checked out. This underlines again how important the guest comfort is for the staff and the manager of the hotel.

We will never forget this high standard stay in Luang Prabang!
Hope you will stay there and enjoy your stay like we did!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Timon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistante Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear customers,

On behalf of the entire Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team, we wanted to thank you for your kind comment posted on Tripadvisor: it has made our day.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met your expectations. Remembering it is fundamental for us to satisfy our guests.

Moreover we are delighted to hear that you appreciated the environment, as well as the services offered by Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel.

We hope to welcome you again very soon. The entire Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team and I wish you a agreeable day.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistante Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Absolutely worth the price: great location, clean and simple rooms, beautiful architecture rich of wood, excellent breakfast buffet, never busy restaurant, super-friendly staff. The only complaint I have is that the wifi signal is very weak in the room.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ffrige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistante Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear customers,

On behalf of the entire team Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts we wanted to thank you for your interest in the Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel. It is very pleasant for us to read such a good comment. We are delighted to have been able to bring you satisfaction. Remembering it is fundamental for us to satisfy our guests, we ensure to meet your expectations at the best.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the environment and services offered by our hotel.

We understand that you were able to meet some Internet connection problems, and we do apologize. However this technical inconvenience is not related to a deficiency in our system, but the general situation in Laos. This country is in full development stage, is not yet entirely blameless for the quality of its Internet network.

Thank you again for choosing us for your stopover in Luang Prabang and we do hope to welcome you again soon,

Best Regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistante Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017

Expected more from a hotel of this standard. The Location is good just a short walk from the night market and the External Buildings and grounds are all beautifully kept. The rooms however are very small with limited hanging space or a space for storing a suitcase without tripping over it.
We were originally put into a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the road and above reception. It was too noisy to sleep for the road traffic and you could hear the receptionists speaking and guests coming and going. The next morning we asked to be moved and there was a room available. We packed our case and they transferred them to the new room while we were out on tour. The new room was also small but at the back of the hotel so very quiet with a balcony overlooking the ponds. The beds are very comfortable and all linens good quality and clean. Usual facilities available in the rooms.
The breakfast area is beautifully set by the lotus/lily ponds but the selection is disappointing and the coffee terrible. There was more of an asian choice than european. Bread but no croisant, pastry or cake. Fruit and yoghurt, egg station and 2 types of cereal. The servers for coffee etc seemed more interested checking their phones than checking the tables.
Because it is within the Unesco protected area there is no swimming pool.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jongleurgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistante Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your interest in our hotel, and the review that you posted on us. My team and I are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations.
We will do our best to improve our service.
For this, I am personally committed to convey the purpose of your inconvenience to the department concerned to find an appropriate solution, especially concerning breakfast.
We sincerely believed to have a wide enough range to satisfy everybody’s taste. Indeed, we offer breakfast to satisfy Westerners (baguette, jam, butter, pancakes, muesli, cereals, fruits...) but also Asians.

Moreover, our hotel is located on the UNESCO peninsula. We are in fact within the former royal city. Our location is very advantageous as we are near all the major highlights Luang Prabang has to offer. This is also why our rooms have such character and reflect traditional Lao architecture. We are limited as to possible constructions, arrangements, as our infrastructure is protected by UNESCO.

Be sure however, we work constantly to improve our services and the ones we give to our customers.
Once again I wanted on behalf of the whole time to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.

Hoping sincerely to welcome you again to prove that we have been able to consider your comments, please accept our respectful greetings.

Sincerely yours,

Marion Dukiel – Assistante Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017

As with anything in life, there are pros and cons.

Pros:
- I got one of the premium rooms on the second floor and it was a good idea.
- Hotel looks very beautiful. The breakfast by the small lake was very peaceful.
- The hotel is very quiet and has a romantic feel to it. 70% of the tourists were European over 60s, but there were some young couples and small groups too.
- The hotel is small, so there is no waiting for check-in/check-out or breakfast.
- Decent breakfast, but nothing too special.
- Service is excellent. Without asking our room was cleaning in the morning and after our afternoon trip.
- I stayed 4 nights and was still happy with everything.

Cons:
- Rooms are not too big.
- It felt that the hotel overcharged us for airport trips and tuk-tuks.
- Cooked options for breakfast won't change. So don't expect too many options but you won't get too bored if you stay less than 4 nights there.
- The restaurant is lovely. Lunch wasn't that tasty though and prices are high when compared to what we paid elsewhere.
- Restaurant is basically EMPTY at lunch and dinner, despite the beautiful setting. I stayed 4 nights and didn't see many people eating there.

All in all, they deserve 4 stars!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaoloRx1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistante Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Dear customers,

On behalf of the entire Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team, we wanted to thank you very much for your interest in our hotel, and the glowing review that you posted on us.

We are delighted to have been able to bring you satisfaction. It is fundamental for us to satisfy our guests and we do our best to ensure a service worthy of your expectations.

We are sorry concerning the transportation costs. These are the generally applicable fare in the market.

We are disappointed not to have been able to bring you satisfaction concerning lunch. We sincerely believed to have a wide enough range to satisfy everybody’s taste. Concerning the Maitoo restaurant, is located on the UNESCO peninsula. We are in fact within the former royal city and boast an incomparable setting by a lotus pond.
We offer a cooking with superior quality products which explains why we could have higher prices.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
The whole Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team and I wish you an agreeable day.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel - Assistante Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017

Hotel is in a great location near the city center and the night market with a beautiful garden and a pond in the middle. Rooms are comfy, small, but nice decorated and most of them have a balcony looking over the pond. There is nearly no space for your personal belongings as the wardrobe is quiet small. Also the bathroom is small and has no amenities except soap, shampoo and shower gel (no shower cap, paper towels or else) Wifi is free, but a bit slow.

We were first given a room to the very loud street but were able to move to a quiet room at the back of the hotel.

Breakfast is ok, but nothing special. Toast and baguette, eggs made by order, but no meat or cheese, butter is often running out as it is serveved in pieces on spoons, if fruits are running out in our case there hasn't been a refill. Coffee or tea were horrible - coffee much to strong and tea without taste. Milk is not served - you have to get it from the muesli bar, no sweetener. Service has space for improvement. Cappuccino or coffee latte only available against extra charge.

As we had a hard trip, we booked a massage at he hotel and it was one of the best massages we ever had! Can definitely recommend it and the price is more than ok.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank iweber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistante Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team, I wanted to thank you for your kind comment. It is much appreciated.

We are very disappointed not to have been able to bring you satisfaction concerning breakfast. We sincerely believed to have a wide enough range to satisfy everybody’s taste. Indeed, we offer breakfast to satisfy Westerners but also Asians. Also, our self-serve buffet formula is we believe the best way to prepare you to visit Luang Prabang, a beautiful city, bordered by the Mekong and full of architectural and cultural treasures of all kinds. Thank you for your comment, which allows us to improve our services.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoy our massages in our SPA.

Once again I wanted on behalf of the whole time to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.

We hope to see you nevertheless again very soon.

The whole Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team and I wish you a pleasant day.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel - Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews