We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst service in 3 weeks in Myanmar and Laos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Checked in today (New Years Day). Was told that our reservation had a problem and will be upgraded for one night, then will have to move to another room. Room had not been cleaned so we dropped our bags and left for an hour. When we came back we had no towels and we also couldn't get the heat to work. Called down and the one kid working the place told me to turn the heat to 30 degrees. I asked him to come up and help because we could not get warm air and bring towels. When he got here he admitted there was no heat after messing around with the air conditioner for 5 minutes. Several hours later we discovered that he dropped off soaking wet folded towels. He didn't bring the extra blanket that i asked for until I went downstairs to ask and then sent up a twin size blanket for a double bed. In general, he doesn't know where things are in town and seems completely overwhelmed. I don't blame him but whomever left him in charge should be ashamed. Grounds are nice but wouldn't recommend this place unless it dramatically improves. We have two more nights...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DesertJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Hotel L, Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Sabaidee,


Dear DesertJay,

The whole team of Sanctuary joins me in thanking you for taking the time to review us, we are very sorry that you had suffered some lack of service during your stay; we had indeed suffered lost of staffs and we've got disorganized at that point, adding up problems of laundry dryer and laundry stock…very sorry about those issues, we have already solved those matters and will continue to improve our services to our clients.

We hope you would have the opportunity to return to Luang Prabang and thus giving us the chance to welcome you and host you a stay in better condition, we are sure that we will do better to your entire satisfaction.

Unfortunately, I was not made aware that you had problems during your stay otherwise I would have responded and helped you in anyway we could have, very sorry about this.

We are all wishing you a very Happy New Year 2014.

Sanctuary Hotel Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 404 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

ACCOMMODATION
The room we had was very basic, but clean. It lacked many amenities, but for the price and its convenient location, this was expected. If you are staying in Luang Prabang for just a few days, this may be an economical option. WE stayed here just one night as our first hotel was fully booked the last evening.

LOCATION
Very close to the centre of the historic town and the activities along the Mekong river. There are several Wats in the vicinity and the night market is within 5 mins walking distance

FOOD AND BEVERAGE
As with the room, the complimentary breakfast buffet was also quite basic. You can order an omelette or fried eggs and get a coffee, but overall it was adequate.

STAFF
Similar to the other hotels stayed in Laos, the staff were very accommodating and friendly. Although we arrived quite early to the hotel, the staff were able to check us in and provide us with a room.

TIPS
If you need a tuk tuk, get the hotel to book one for you. Communicating with the drivers can be challenging, so let your concierge do it. The prices are close if not on par when approaching the drivers directly. The cost of a tuk tuk from the hotel to the airport will cost 50,000 kip (6USD, approx).

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dr_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Sabaidee,

Dear Dr_Miami,

The whole team of the Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for taking the time to review our property.

We wish you a good continuation in your traveling, Happy New Year 2014,

Kind regards,


Sanctuary Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

The location is about an 8 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of "downtown" and the grounds are very lovely. Breakfast is not luxury but perfectly good (fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries and juices with made to order eggs). As some have mentioned, the wifi is a bit spotty. Generally speaking, we were happy with what we got for the price. Be sure to arrange any transportation in writing ahead of time. We had a bit of a snafu at the airport as we arranged via phone and I think there were some communication gaps.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank travelbug_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Sabaidee,


Dear Travelbug_Io,

The whole team of the Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking your choosing our property as your preferred hotel in Luang Prabang and your kind review on trip advisor.

we also wishes you a very fine Christmas period and wonderful New year 2014,

All the best and Happy New Year,

The Sanctuary Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Truly a Sanctuary for 3 nights. Lovely room with a hand painted motif greets you. Good bath room ( no tub) .
The balconies over look a lotus pond that oozes peace and tranquility -- that speaks to the whole town. Well located with a short walk to the day and the night markets. This was my favorite stay in a 24 day 4 country trip. The breakfast was not buffet but excellent service starting with coffee and bageuttes, egg dishes were excellent.
The outdoor dining area was not well used for dining but a very nice spot for drinks and visiting.. They do not serve an al la carte dinner. Seems you need to have a group and plan well ahead to order. A strong recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Sabaidee,

Dear Mme,

The whole team of the Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for your very kind review and we are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your kindness, we wish you a good continuation in your traveling.

Wishing you the best for 2014,

Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Beautiful garden, great room, solid location a little away from the main tourist area. very comfortable stay. Two issues though: Internet is deficient, reception sporadic and limited to reception area. Also breakfast is quite slow when a tourist group shows up (2 out of the 3 nights we were there). The servers are nice but cannot handle the load. But we would return there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Sabaidee,

the whole team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for your kind review, we are happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Indeed we had suffers temporary wifi malfunction, this is now resolved, hope it was not too inconvenient.

would you have the opportunity to return to Luang Prabang, do not hesitate to contact us.

yours sincerely.

Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

It was very nice to stay 3 nights at Sanctuary Hotel Luang Prabang for my trip with my lovely sisters. The staffs are all smile and friendly, the rooms are very new and comfortable and the bathroom is also clean. Breakfast is very good with a very nice coffee and staffs are well trained to service. The fresh garden make us feel more relax while stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoupeAnusorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear PoupeAnousorn,

The whole team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for your kind review, we are very happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

we thank you also for taking the time to make your first review on our property, we wish you many travel.

very best regards,

the Sanctuary Hotel's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The setting of the hotel is beautiful , we stayed in a Deluxe room , very comfortable ,spacious and cozy.
The Staff was very efficient and professional.
The breakfast was great too , you can have it outside near the pond in the middle of the garden, charming.

My wife and I would consider to stay again there, recommended for stay in luangprabang

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear mlpvh,

The whole team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for your kind review, we are happy to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you on your next visit.

yours sincerely,

Sanctuary Hotel's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Luang Prabang
896 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 70 in Luang Prabang
382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
831 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel

Address: Kitsalat Road | Ban Aham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $90 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic heart of the city of Luang Prabang, halfway between the Mekong and Nam Khan River, the Sanctuary Hotel is a haven of peace on the edge of the peninsula, close to the night market with its typical streets, temples and restaurants.The Sanctuary Hotel is built around listed buildings. Its charm, its traditional architecture, exotic garden make it a privileged holiday resort, calm and serene, yet close to everything. You can easily explore on foot most of the architectural treasures of Luang Prabang, the historic capital of Laos, the Mecca of Buddhism, inscribed on the World Heritage List of UNESCO.Sanctuary Hotel, Luang Prabang, a garden in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing