We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Joy Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joy Guesthouse
Ranked #93 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, clean accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed here for 6 days in April 2011. We originally booked through agoda buy when we arrived there was no booking however the hotel quickly and without hassle gave us a room and we sorted the situation out later. We paid $22.50 US or 180,000 kip for a small, air con room with tv. I wouldn't pay any more than that as breakfast was not included and you could probably get breakfast at a similar place for that price.

The staff were very friendly and all in all this is a very pleasant place to spend a few days relaxing. I would have rated the service better bit after the second day towels and water stopped coming, also the room was not cleaned nor were the bed sheets ever changed during the 6 days.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantgetthestaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
14
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

I don't have any big complaints about this hotel. It was just okay - but nothing special.

The location is genuinely good, right by the river. But Luang Prabang is a small place and it would be hard to find a guesthouse in a bad location. The other good thing - the internet worked well here, which is hard to find in Laos.

I pre-booked our two night stay online and when we showed up it seemed like they had either missed or forgotten about our reservation. They seemed fairly booked up (we were there right around New Years) and ended up putting us in a ground floor room in the back of the complex that very much felt like the overflow room. Despite this it was okay, apart from the fact that the laundry area was outside of our door so we could hear the women working very early in the morning - and a rooster would start in early, which happens a lot in Laos so I don't necessarily blame the hotel for that. The room was also very dark, but I suspect their standard rooms facing the front would be quite nice.

The bed was very comfortable and everything worked fine. But it wasn't extraordinary - and our stay there was barely memorable.

There are tones of guesthouses in Luang Prabang - many of them very good. The Sokthavy is neither the best or the worst of these.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Rooms were comfortable enough and the staff were friendly. Breakfast of local noodle soup or eggs was great. Only thing disapointing was the shower, single jet stream, not ideal. It was hot but impossible to get wet! Would recommend it for the price and location, but we upgraded to a better hotel that had a view over the Mekong and a shower that worked.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristyLee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

We happened across this place by walking past looking for a room.
There are only a small number of rooms, and they are a little cramped but comfortable.
Room and bathroom were clean and tidy. They have Air conditioning, satelite TV and hot water. I think they also had complimentary bottles of water (???). The bathroom we had was very small, so the toilet gets very wet when having a shower. It is right on the river but a fair little walk from the centre of town so we chose something a little closer to the center of town for the rest of our stay.

Didn't have much contact with the staff so cannot comment on their service,

We only stayed one night as it was a little bit of a walk from the main centre of town, but it was very comfortable. We stayed here for $25 USD per night

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wander1ngStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

we found this guesthouse to be very clean and very satisfactory. the rooms are small but you have everything you need in them. Good breakfast that will fill you for hours. Staff very friendly and willing to help with any queries or problems. Our room was right next to reception which i didnt like as it meant we couldn't open our shutters but staff on reception were always quiet and never woke us. The location couldn't've been better.Right in the centre along the river and only 1min walk from night market.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sands100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

This guest house has rooms for US$35.00 including an American breakfast. It is supposed to include free wifi. Unfortunately, the wifi wasn't working properly, and the manager said that the problem must be with our computers (not so). The rooms were very small with very little room to store anything, no chair and no desk. The air conditioning was fine, but there are old unused exhaust fans in exterior walls. We blocked ours off with a plastic bag and packing tape so that no mosquitoes would enter. The management claims that the hotel amenities and facilitates are not fully completed, and hat the hotel is in "soft opening" until the end of December 2010. We are a bit skeptical about this claim, as the rooms don't look that new. The room was adequately clean -- clean sheets, clean bathroom, the floor was a bit dustier than I might have expected from a hotel that requires guests to remove their shoes before going up the stairs to the rooms. The blanket on our bed was not clean. The guest house is in the middle of a residential district, so one can hear families in neighbouring houses both late-ish at night and early in the morning. Pickup from the aiport was $12.00 which seemed high for such short distance from the airport. It is not such a bad place, and is reasonably well located, but there are many other places in town that are better value and more comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catscam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Kounsavan Guesthouse
Kounsavan Guesthouse
#41 of 257 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Singharat Guest House
Singharat Guest House
#12 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malida Guesthouse
Malida Guesthouse
#76 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kinnaly Guesthouse
Kinnaly Guesthouse
#33 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vanvisa Guesthouse
Vanvisa Guesthouse
#59 of 257 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joy Guesthouse

Property: Joy Guesthouse
Address: Mekong Riverside Road | Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang 856, Laos (Formerly Chitlatda 2 Guesthouse)
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Mekong Riverside near tourist pier in the hearth of world heritage town of Luang Prabang with only few minutes walk to the Morning market, Night Bazaar, post office, tourism department office, Phousi Mountain, Wat Mai (the historic temple), National Museum with easy step to the center point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Joy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing