We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best elephant experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Elephant Adventures - Day Tours

White Elephant Adventures - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Elephant Adventures is a team of Laotians, British and Canadians enthusiastic about organizing adventurous and educational hiking, kayaking, and mountain biking tours in the UNESCO World Heritage site Luang Prabang. We'll take you trekking through dense Laos jungle, riding and bathing elephants at crystal-blue waterfalls, whitewater kayaking down tributaries of the Mekong, and exploring remote ethnic Hmong and Khmu hill-tribes on unforgettable homestays. At White Elephant Adventures we are passionate about making sure each visitor's experiences are authentic and uncrowded and that the impact of these journeys on the local people and their environment is low. We offer professionally guided single or multi-day hiking, biking, and kayaking adventures available for small groups of two to eight people.
Marrickville, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best elephant experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend, great price, the most beautiful setting to hang out with elephants, swim with them, ride them and feed them. The elephants are well treated and have been rescued from a life of logging. Would do it again with this company if I had the chance. They're a little hidden on the main street so make sure you look closely.

Helpful?
6 Thank FelicityandMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    46
    16
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great tour company in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had originally booked a two day trek and homestay but I was sick and so we had to pull out on the morning of the trip. The policy is no refunds, but Brett at White Elephant was great and said he'd try to get us on to at least a one day trek later in the week (hopefully two days if one was leaving). We were able to get on a one day trek (the dates for the next two day trek scheduled didn't work with our departure date) as and enjoyed a day trekking, finishing at the Tad Se waterfall. The guides and lunch were excellent. The hiking was not strenuous (my husband and I are quite fit) but the scenery was stunning. The approach to the waterfall was more impressive than the base where people go swimming, bathe elephants etc (which seemed to be more like a public swimming pool and not a natural waterfall!) but still a worthwhile day out. Thanks again to Brett for being so understanding. We would use White Elephant on a return trip to LP.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank LondonGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Think before you book ahead”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The day itself was pretty much as we expected, although the 'trek' was really just a slow walk through some villages. We went to the Tad Sae waterfall, but we hadn't appreciated all the extra money you need to bathe the elephants, do the zip wire etc...they should tell you the nitty gritty when you book as we hadn't taken enough. The Laos guides are excellent, but the company is all about making money at the expense of good customer relations. We booked and paid ahead but 3 of our party were really sick the night before. There is a policy of no refunds in the small print, and no re-scheduling. They stuck to that line of course as they have all the power, so we lost US$100. The line is that all the other companies in town have the same policy, but why can't some be different? It left a bad taste in my mouth and we won't make that mistake again, especially as you call fall ill at a moments notice in places like this. They also heavily promote the riverside bar they own - which admittedly has great views during the day, but the food and drinks are over-priced.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Singaporeslingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEA_Laos, Owner at White Elephant Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Hello - thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm afraid I cannot comment on specifics about your particular tour, but as the new owner and manager of WEA I would like to reply for anyone reading this.

The one day treks near to the waterfalls are designed to be easier so they can be enjoyed by those of all ages, who then have the opportunity to visit the villages and learn about the differing cultures here. If you wish for a more demanding trek then I recommend one of our unique home stay experiences such as our N13 trek to remote hill tribe communities.

I'm sorry to hear you think we are just about making money as a refund was not available, but as you stated in places like this one can fall sick at a moments notice especially if you are unlucky with your restaurant for example, but the fact is if people cancel last minute we do still have associated costs, drivers booked, and possible single travellers who's trip we would then also have to cancel.

Regarding Utopia riverside bar, while the founder does own it, it is leased out and managed externally so nothing to do with WEA.

If anyone has any questions please do email us. Thanks, Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good fun day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We did the one day trek, with a 40 minute walk to a village, then onto the waterfalls which were lovely and not too touristy. Some people rode elephants. The zip wire wasn't too exciting and my 12 year old declined on the grounds it wasn't scary enough! A Green curry picnic lunch was cold but very nice, then lots of delicious fruit. Then on to the river to kayak back. Quite a lot of kayaking so you really need to be ok at it. Gentle rapids in places which were good fun. An energetic day out with good guides who spoke good English and were fun and informative.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerladylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were very impressed with Brett and his team from the moment we exchanged emails with him. He was straightforward, detailed, thorough and very very knowledgeable. In addition, he went the extra way to be helpful - like helping us negotiate a tuc tuc. The trips were super well organized and his staff was great. I also liked that he didn't try to sell us "extra" services/tours where a tour operator was not necessary. We wanted to visit Pak Ou caves and he said that while many tour operators would sell you a tour, it was completely unnecessary and it made a lot more sense to go down to the Mekong rent a boat and visit them that way... which was great!! and definitely A LOT cheaper. Highly recommend White Elephant Adventures!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Crshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Elephant Adventures - Day Tours also viewed

 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to White Elephant Adventures - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing