We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic beautiful town just outside town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic beautiful town just outside town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at Le Sen for 3 nights, after flying from London to Laos. We were delighted to have checked into this hotel – it is an oasis of calm. We says in the Villa which is absolutely beautiful. The room is enormous with a large outside bathroom and private spa.

The hotel, grounds and pool are immaculate.

All of the staff are wonderfully polite and welcoming. The general manager really couldn't do anything more for us: He arranged a city tour, transport and dinner recommendations. There are free bikes to hire and we enjoyed taking easy cycling around LP. This was easily the best place we stayed in Laos and a fabulous start to our holiday.

Room Tip: Villa is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    132
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
108
378
60
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

A calm, effortlessly trendy retreat in a calm, effortlessly trendy place. Located a goodly distance from the centre of the action - will be a minus for some for sure and LP maybe not the sort of place you need to escape from. Free bikes and shuttle buses reduce that slight snag for sure. Calm, zen (Le Sen - geddit) reception, opening onto pool, fountain and rooms looking onto the same.

Check in was swift and smooth. Our room, a calm (bland?) space with all mod cons and everything you expect for the price. Lighting arrangement inadequate and details like bedside tables missing (where is one to put the dentures/iPhone?) Both issues easily resolved though. Firm, comfortable, enormous bed with crisp linens.

For the size of hotel, the gym was superb. Pool far too cold to spend more than 30 seconds in. Certainly not for wallowing.

Delicious breakfast served by friendly enough staff.

Recommended with a slight hesitation. Can't help but think that the hotel is slightly overpriced. It's a great establishment but located well away from the action and we stuck our beaks into a few other places in town, charging similar wedge and would have been equally happy in these. That said, it's a great hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in Nov 2013. The owner/manager was most welcoming. Proud of his hotel (and rightly so) which he helped design. All staff helpful and polite and nothing seems too much trouble for them to assist as required. Rooms fitted out to v high standard. Food good and great breakfast. Nice pool. Although about a 15 min walk to central LP this is not a problem as covered by the hotel shuttle bus which will pick you from central restaurants if dinning late.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R5Bryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights in October and thought it was great! The boutique hotel is small but we never found to be stepping over any other guests. The rooms were decorated with modern furnishings and the pool was just outside our doors! It is a slightly longer walk into town, so we did hire the bikes which was perfect! The staff were lovely also and very helpful when organizing outings! Please go to the elephant island where we did zip lining and the elephant ride through the water!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gambit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for a few days last year which caused us to fall in love with this hotel and want a longer visit. Most of the special points - the shuttle, helpful staff, nice rooms, have been described already. One thing which no-one seems to have mentioned is the really fantastically good food. We dine here almost all the time and last year I reviewed it as a restaurant. We particularly enjoyed the Lao set menu. Another thing I should mention is the rarity of people speaking English here, or in the rest of the country. Many speak French owing to past history but most English speakers get better jobs than waiting in a dining room as there is such demand for them. I think the complaints are unimaginative. The gym is well equipped and the pool lovely.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the sun the shady side is on the left if you have your back to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlfredaBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed for three nights as part of a tour and were very sorry to have to leave this lovely hotel.

Upon arrival we were greated by friendly, helpful staff and shown our rooms. Well to say outstanding is a bit of an understatement. Our rooms were on the ground floor and opened onto the pool area which provided a very impressive surrounding. The rooms are modern, very comfortable and well appointed and the beds very comfortable which was good given hard beds experienced in earlier hotels.

The staff were very accomodating and only too welling to offer any help or assistance needed. While located a little way from the main center there is a very convienent shuttle service available and it would be an easy walk if that is what you wanted to do.

Had dinner in the hotel restaurant on two nights and found the food to be excellant and reasonably priced and again the service very attentive and excellant. Likewise the breakfast presentastion was very good with good variety for a small establishment with eggs, bacon, etc. cooked fresh on demand rather than precooked and keprt warm.

All in all a totally enjoyable experience and we would rate this hotel right up there with any large five star establishment and perhaps better due to its personal touches. Would like to think we might be able to stay there again in the future,

Room Tip: All rooms would be good but we liked the ones we had on the ground floor (A02 and A03) which opened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23PeterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in early October. I booked via email and it wasnt the smoothest process because when I phoned to give my credit card details the person on reception could not find the booking. However the booking was swiftly confirmed the next day by Phet via Skype.
When we arrived at Luang Prabang airport at about midday the Le Sen mini van was waiting for us and we were given a bottle of water each and taken to the hotel.
We were welcomed by a delightful young lady (who spoke perfect English) and offered drinks for the short wait until the villa was ready.
When we were shown the villa we were very impressed by the size and general appearance. It certainly has the Wow factor. The fixtures and fittings are of a very high standard and the bed was exeptionally comfortable with good quality bedding. The shower and jacuzzi are oudoors but very private.
There is a safe but it is located at floor level so access not great for older people.
The staff at this hotel are very helpful and the shuttle service into town was very good.
Breakfast was good but some of the restaurant staff had limited English.
During our stay we experienced problems with mosquitoes which seemed to enter via gaps at the top and bottom of the folding glass doors of the villa.
Another issue for us was the jacuzzi which was not cleaned thoroughly and a sun clream tide mark was left. We had to request housekeeping to come and clean it properly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsymarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sen Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Address: 113 Manomai Road | Mano Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Sen Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sen boutique hotel is a 3.5 star hotel with international standard of service. Situated in one of the world heritage sites - Luang Prabang city as UNESCO listed since 1995. The hotel was built in mid December 2012 with 19 rooms presenting its traditional Laotian building structure and providing a zen atmosphere, with simple touch of modern interiors and nicely fittings. Additionally, fine selected quality of bedding, which gives you comfortable and relaxing when you are home away from home. ACCOMMODATIONS Room Type Rooms Space in m2 Deluxe (include 8 Twins) 16 30 (including balcony/terrence) Suite 2 60 (including balcony/terrence) Villa 1 60 + 80 (plus private garden) All Accommodations Offers: Wi-Fi access in all public areas and rooms (free of charge) 32" Flat Screen TV with satellite channels Mini refrigerator In-room safety-deposit box Individual Air conditioning Turndown service Hair dryer In-room amenities Bathrobes and Slippers Modern bathroom with rain shower Bathtub with Jacuzzi jets (available only in Suites & Villa) Daily mineral drinking water with tea and coffee station Working space Balcony / terrence facing swimming pool (except Villa) SERVICES & FACILITIES - 24-hour reception / CCTV security cameras - In-room dining (6:00am - 10:00pm) - Fitness Centre (6:00am - 9:00pm) - Swimming pool, with mini kids pool area (( PLEASE NOTE that this is NOT a heated pool )) - Bicycle service (free of charge) - First in first served - Scheduled Shuttle service from hotel to Night Market Street (downtown); last pickup is at 10pm - Laundry service - Currency Exchange - Airport transfers (free of charge for direct booking guests only) - Credit cards accepted only Mastercard and Visa; PLEASE NOTE there will be 3 % bank charge for every transaction made by credit cards or debit cards. - Baby cot (available upon request) - First in first served - Extra bed available at $20 fees per person; PLEASE NOTE it is suitable for Suite and Villa room types only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Sen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing