We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely quiet place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Singharat Guest House
Ranked #12 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“lovely quiet place”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I really liked this place, the family that runs it really try to accommodate you, make you feel welcome and secure.
Location is a bit away from the main street but its good as its more peaceful.
The rooms are clean, and beds are of a good standard and comfy.
Breakfasts are really good.
Nothing to complain about, wonderful time and value for money.
Thank you

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    93
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
13
147
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We were met by a very kind and mild-mannered young man. Extremely helpful and nice! He set us up with a map of the area and allowed us to rent a moped for a reasonable fee.

The room itself is spacious, clean and very decent. Especially for the price.

Location is also great. Short 5-10 min walk to the night market/downtown. You can also walk to the Mekong River in about 15mins.

No hesitations in recommending the place to everyone! In fact, writing this review whilst we're still here, that's how pleasant it is.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sjaleel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Level Contributor
282 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in March 2014.

Pluses:
1) Fantastic free breakfasts. Includes fruit, choice of smoothie/coffee/tea, and choice of eggs/omelet/pancakes/egg sandwich. Best breakfast we had in all Laos.
2) Lovely rooms. We had the double ensuite, which overlooked the tiny street.
3) Secure, quiet, and very clean
4) Sweet family that owns the guesthouse- a brother and his siblings. Not much English, but very kind and helpful.
5) Hot water
6) Free wi-fi
7) Shared balcony
8) Good location from the budget area of town (Lao-Lao Bar, Utopia, etc)
9) No glass on the windows- the shutters just open to the fresh air. We loved it.
10) The whole place is just lovely and screams Luang Prabang authenticity.

Minuses:
1) A bit farther from the town than we expected. Walkable, though.
2) We got the weird towel-blanket. We just asked for a top sheet, and they gave us a duvet cover, which was perfect.
3) This is the family's home, so you will find the siblings sleeping on the floor outside your room in the morning. It's fine once you get used to it :)
4) They're still getting their rhythm. One day our room was just never made up or cleaned, and the trash wasn't taken out...which sucks in a country where you can't flush the TP in the toilet! :)

Overall, hugely recommend.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe double on the 2nd floor, overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend whilst travelling in Luang Prabang. This was our first experience of staying in a guesthouse and we were a bit skeptical but were actually very pleased with our stay. The staff were very helpful and always smiling. The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was good and included a fruit salad and fresh juice. We could not have stayed in a better location - 10/15mins walk from the main town and off the main road on a side street away from all the hustle and bustle. One thing I would say was the shower didn't have much power but that wasn't too much of a big deal. Another small criticism is that we were given a towel to use as a duvet cover - bit strange! Whatever they used to wash their laundry smelt great - compared to other places where we have had our clothes washed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TH19892014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Singharat is a very welcoming, clean and well managed guesthouse. The staff are extremely accommodating. You will have a choice of breakfasts and the banana pancakes are big! Tables are on a shared balcony or patio downstairs. It is a short walk from town, off the main road and usually quiet. Only the cockerels wake you up in the morning! We planned to stay 3 nights, but like many others stayed longer. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andydee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Its a simple guest house, 15 minutes walking to the city center, but very clean and very nice, helpfull and gentle staff (there a family of 3 vietnamese that work there). They help us a lot, even buying for us tickets to a travel to vientiane. I recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The rooms are large, beautifully decorated and extremely keen. The staff are very friendly and might even invite you to dinner. They were always willing to help or just chat and were extremely welcoming every time you came back to your room. The large towel blankets were confusing and not very warm, especially in winter, but we asked for another one every evening and had collected quite a few blankets by the end including a proper blanket. The location was good, a 5 minute walk from the centree of town. We liked it so much at Singharate and Luang Prabang that we extended our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefOred007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#21 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maly
Villa Maly
#10 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Dalabua Hotel
Maison Dalabua Hotel
#6 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singharat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singharat Guest House

Property: Singharat Guest House
Address: Ban Thadluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Singharat Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Singharat Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing