We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST spot in town”
Review of Icon Klub

Icon Klub
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The BEST spot in town”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were in Luang Prabang for 4 nights. We stopped by the Icon Klub . . . 4 times. You do the math. =)

As we walked from our hotel towards town, we noticed a sign saying "cocktails" and knew where we'd return after dinner. Icon Klub is run by an amazing woman, Liza, who has the soul of a poet and will befriend anyone given a chance. We keep returning because it felt like home. We've been traveling for 3 months and this bar was the first place that we actually got a sense of home. It's amazing. She also makes AWESOME cocktails.

Pro Tip: There's a gallery upstairs with an incredible exhibit currently (we wound up buying a piece)

Pro Tip: Ignore the lone bad review from the d**chebag from NYC.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank drnicomartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    13
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely place, lovely owner, levely crowd”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

found this place on my first night in Luang. the moment i got in Liza introduced herself and within 2 minutes i found myself talking to all the people in the place (not like im a shy person but being a solo traveler, some bars can be boring a bit boring)
didn't order cocktails but being a former bartender myself i can tell you liza knows what she is doing behind the bar. very nice music and usually very mature crowd.
i ended up getting there for the three nights i stayed in Luang.
Liza and a regular customer marianne recommended a yoga session at utopia facing the river which was an amazing experience.
make sure u pass by liza's shop the next day where i bought myself a nice scarf.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WilliamLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Two very different nights”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went to this cute little bar two nights in a row.

First night very crowded - which is a good thing, the next night, was quiet with only a few people. Got more of a chance to talk to the bartender...a funny, interesting woman. She even remembered what we ordered the previous night.

This place is definitely not Laos...but worth a stop for a drink!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DGATallTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cocktails”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I visited the Ikon club on three separate occasions. Each time there was something unexpected. Tonight for example a tarot reader from San Francisco was offering his services. The owner, Lisa seems to attract interesting clientele and the cocktails are excellent. I highly recommend you spend an evening or two at Ikon if you are in Luang Prahbang.

Helpful?
Thank Vevaonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ripoff city”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

When you walk in the eastern european bartender insists that you have a mojito. I didn't want one so she poured us a whiskey. Then she charged us for doubles. I'm pretty laid back about these sorts of things, but it's basically a pretty grimy bar that's trying to be hipster.

Helpful?
6 Thank map_the_world_anew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icon Klub also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Icon Klub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing