We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Somjith Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Somjith Guesthouse
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Pros:

Free wifi - medium speed
Great Location!
Wood floors
Choice between fan or AC, balcony or no balcony, private or shared bathroom - range of price
Free drinking water
Friendly dude

Cons:

Can feel the springs in my bed
Old sheets
Minimal furnishings
Kindof sad atmosphere
Old side is definitely not as nice

Got a fan room with shared bathroom for 100,000 kip/night. A bit pricey in my opinion, but i'm not sure if this is a reflection on the hotel or Luang Prabang in general.


Yeehaw!

-Chinese Cowgirl

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChineseCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Somjith Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 30 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at the old side and got a perfectly decent double room with a balcony for 70,000 kip. Great location near the night market. The place was clean and the owner was friendly and helpful. There is a safe in the room, but you need your own padlock. Pack earplugs, unless you want to be woken up by roosters at 5am (like everywhere else in SE Asia). I enjoyed my stay and would recommend Somjith Guest House to others!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is not the newest, the trendiest nor the best guesthouse in LPB, the lobby is just so so (but then this is a guesthouse, more like a family house, not a hotel-to compare it with one is unfair.) But, what is really nice about this place:

1. Clean room, bathroom and beds.
2. Location - in the lovliest lane of LPB, and so near to the night market, the temples, and the Mekong and the jetty to board the boat to Vang Vieng, all within walking distance.
3. Almost the whole house is made from teak wood - wow! This is great in putting me in the context of LPB as a UNESCO World Heritage City.
4. The front room on the upper floor is best - with balcony and the view is nice.
5. Free coffee and bananas.
6. The boss is very nice and helpful with useful info (though other staff are not that good in English.)

Just regret that we didn't take any pics, but it looked authentic Laos-fantastic!

The only down side is that more competition is coming out, and many newer and more modern places can be found even in the same lane. The next time I come to LPB, I might consider staying here again, or head to the newer one - though choice!

Room Tip: - The front room on the upper floor is best - with balcony and the view is nice. - We went there in...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I found this Guesthouse to be good value, I had air-conditioning, wifi, good shower and comfortable bed in my room. Free tea coffee and bananas were a welcome touch. I loved the location in this part of town

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank 103suell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bunyarin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: ta rummen på andra våningen och i byggnaden längst från floden
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#60 of 266 in Luang Prabang
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
#51 of 266 in Luang Prabang
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Philaylack Villa
Philaylack Villa
#27 of 266 in Luang Prabang
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nocknoy Lanexang Guesthouse
Nocknoy Lanexang Guesthouse
#76 of 153 in Luang Prabang
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Chanthy Banchit Guest House
#150 of 266 in Luang Prabang
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Joy Guesthouse
Joy Guesthouse
#108 of 266 in Luang Prabang
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somjith Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somjith Guesthouse

Address: 27/2 Ban Hoa Xieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $17 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Somjith Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Somjith Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing