We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Global Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Global Guesthouse
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

What a delightful place to stay, in a quiet location within five minutes walk from the centre where there is plenty of places to eat, not to mention the excellent night market where you can get excellent food at good prices. Minh, the owner is very friendly and cheerful, he speaks perfect English, and has a good knowledge of the area. The rooms are spacious and clean, the showers provided hot water and are equally spacious. If we do come back to Luang Prabang we would definately come back to stay here a well recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: I would imagine all the rooms are good as the Guest House is in a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    62
    27
    12
    10
See reviews for
12
71
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This guesthouse is definitely overpriced and significantly overrated for the condition offered. $20 for a single bedroom and $25 for a double bedroom with air conditioning, compared to the average price in the town of $13 to $15 for a double bedroom with air conditioning. The toilet and the open plan shower facility are quite bad. There is no fan in the toilet and the window of toilet was very tiny. Water is easily built up on the toilet floor after a shower. No hot water was available for a shower in my room before 9 am. I suppose this might be due to the fact that many people took a shower in the morning. The hot water became available after 9 am in my room but the amount was very small and could be easily diluted by a larger amount of cold water. Finally, I had to keep the total water flow very small and could not have a clean wash of my body during my whole period of stay. However, a girl met in the guesthouse said the shower in her room was okay when I asked her.

The ventilation and lightening in the room is very bad, too. The window of the room is made of wood rather than glass so you cannot see outside. The window cannot be opened. There is always an odour in the room. I also went into a double bedroom to have a check. The room was spacious but smell was very bad, too.

The acoustic insulation was bad, too. The music played by the neighbour next door could be heard clearly in the room.

The Vietnamese owner stays and sleeps in the reception for 24 hours. His English is not good. Sometimes, he is even a bit rude. For example, he very unpleasantly questioned me why I was still looking for accommodation when I read a travel guidebook in the common area. He also required everyone to take off the footwear inside the house, even though as mentioned above, the toilet floor was so wet that one cannot stand on it with bare feet. He even shouted to me when I forgot to take my slippers off after coming back from the front yard of the house.

The location of the guesthouse is not ideal, either. It is not in the town center or along the Mekong River. Most tourists would not come to this side of the town if they did not book this accommodation online beforehand, as there are plenty of choices in a better location and with a cheaper price in the town.

Overall, I believe this guesthouse is significantly overrated and overpriced. I booked it on internet in advance. As it had a good rating, I accepted the higher price compared to the average offered in the town. However, the stay definitely disappointed me when i was there. The house condition is at most at the average level in the town, although the price is 50% higher than those with the same house condition and an even better location.

The last comment is that the air conditioning does not have the function of heating, even though it is very cold over the night and in the early morning. The lowest temperature was 8 Celsius degrees when I was there in December. Therefore, there was in fact no need to have a room with air conditioning in this season. A double bedroom with fan facilities costs only $10 to £12 in the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang Province, Laos
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Minh, the guy guy on the front desk has an amazing atittude and hes is aleays eager to help you. Rooms are nice and clean. Close to city center (5min walk) and to all the main atractions. Definetly a yes.
Gonzalo.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed for three nights at liberty guest house. The rooms are clean, big (ample room for two people with 2 big backpacks, 2 small backpacks.) The bathroom was clean and also spacious. However, the shower has no curtain/ door. This meant that the rest of the bathroom got soaked each time we had a shower. Not a big problem.

The owner, Minh was very friendly and extremely helpful. He made us feel welcome and gave advice on attractions, local life and restaurants. The guesthouse also offers plenty of services including laundry, tour bookings and bike hire. We took advantage of the laundry which was cheap (approx $1.50 per kg) and was the best smelling laundry we have experienced in south east Asia.

The location is slightly out of the main town (approx 15min walk). We didnt find this a problem at all. However if you do, renting a bike can solve it easily.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller01627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Minh is an angel. He is cheerful, helpful, and honest. The rooms are perfectly adequate, with a nice homey feel. Breakfast, at $2 is great. I think my favorite thing is that Liberty Guest house is just the right distance from the heart of town; it is quiet and away from the bustle, but you can be home after a day out with a short walk. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rumor is that the rooms are warmer upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheine, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

The owner, Minh, is the biggest attraction of liberty guesthouse. You meet him everytime you come or leave and he is always willing to help you very goooood! The hostel is quiet and clean, the rooms are big enough. We stayed six nights and loved their lovely breakfast with omelette, pencake and banana-shake! Its not far to the nightmarket, only about 5 minutes to walk. If you ever come to Luang Prabang, i recommend you to enjoy your time with the 27 year old vietnamese Minh-Master :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thaifischflosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gove, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Although this was a nice guest house with friendly staff, the price and location leave me suggesting that there are better options in Luang Prabang. I met many travellers who were in much better locations with nicer and cheaper rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamF1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Moon's House Hotel
Moon's House Hotel
#1 of 152 in Luang Prabang
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sita-Norasingh Inn
Sita-Norasingh Inn
#33 of 264 in Luang Prabang
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 264 in Luang Prabang
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Singharat Guest House
Singharat Guest House
#13 of 264 in Luang Prabang
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lao Lu Lodge
Lao Lu Lodge
#4 of 152 in Luang Prabang
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#17 of 264 in Luang Prabang
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Guesthouse

Property: Global Guesthouse
Address: Norlanalai Street, 79/4 Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Liberty Guest House)
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Global Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Global Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing