We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guest house but a little pricey without the location”
Review of Global Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Global Guesthouse
Gove, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice guest house but a little pricey without the location”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Although this was a nice guest house with friendly staff, the price and location leave me suggesting that there are better options in Luang Prabang. I met many travellers who were in much better locations with nicer and cheaper rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamF1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    62
    26
    12
    9
See reviews for
11
71
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Liberty guesthouse Luang Prabang:

The guy who runs this place is really nice, sweet and hard working! Room was fine, bathroom a bit basic but all you need. Aircon and (medium) wifi in room so good. Breakfast was cheap and was always nice. Walls in room VERY thin. The two chatty women in the room below felt like they were in the same room as us, and could hear our neighbours skype conversations. But no one kept us up at night. I would still recommend ear plugs if you have them, because (and this is by no means the fault of the guesthouse) one of the near by properties has a rooster and he starts early! Room per night very good value we thought. Always very clean. Good walking distance to the main town and all the restaurants and bars. Guy who runs it very helpful in helping us book tours even when we kept changing our minds! We had to leave at 5.30am to get our morning flight and he was up to wave us goodbye. He's always around and very friendly and easy to get along with and able to help. We really enjoyed our stay here, would defiantly recommend and would stay here again. If it weren't for the really thin walls, a bit of a brighter bathroom (our light was very dim and sometimes took a while to switch on) and slightly faster wifi, would give this 5 stars. As there is no 4.5 I have rated as 4 but it's more than that.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank zobug3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

One of the best owners of a guesthouse we have met on our travels. He was so crazy and good fun. The guesthouse is well located as it only takes 10 minutes to the Main Street where the night market is. And in the other direction about 10-15 minutes to more restaurants. The breakfast was ok but nothing special and costs $2 but hey...go somewhere else for brekky if you don't like it or think it is expensive. At least you have the choice. The owner was great at organising our trip especially as we changed our minds twice! The room can be noisy in the morning due to the cockerel chirping away from 5am but other than that it is fine. The room was very clean and like most guest houses on our travels the shower and toilet are close together so more of a wet room. But this is common.

Would definitely stay here again and we loved Luang Prabang. We also loved the owner!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great stay, the room was clean, has a lot of character, the manager Minh is great and always helpful. Great location with just a few minutes walk from the main street, breakfast is great for only $2, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely guesthouse. Nice clean rooms and hot water. The staff go out of the way to help you (e.g driving to another hostel to get me a kindle charger and posting my friends jumper back to Oz) so friendly and happy we stayed for longer.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Rooms and bathroom were clean. Staff very helpful, if a little crazy!! Helped us to organise trips, around the area, restaurant recommendations, transfers etc. very good breakfast for just 2$. Only about 5 -10 mins walk to the Main Street of Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonsaroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed four nights here and thought it was one of the best guesthouses we've stayed at on our travels. The manager is very friendly and chatty and makes sure you have as good a stay as possible. The location is a little out of town - but only about an eight minute walk from the night markets so don't worry. The rooms are clean and the optional breakfast (16,000 kip) is tasty and good value for money. In fact the entire setup is good value for money! Only a couple of quibbles though - our toilet was a bit smelly at night as some gasses from the septic tank were coming up through the pipes. Also - we were on the ground floor and could hear the couple in the room directly above us "expressing their love physically". Which is absolutely fine, I'm not a prude - I'm just saying if you stay here you'll need to bear in mind the guesthouse has thin walls so you'll need to be a bit more discrete than usual if you're keen to do the wild blue monkey dance for 40 minutes. Side note: if you're reading this review, dude - well done!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam_daley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Moon's House Hotel
Moon's House Hotel
#1 of 148 in Luang Prabang
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kinnaly Guesthouse
Kinnaly Guesthouse
#28 of 261 in Luang Prabang
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#12 of 261 in Luang Prabang
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Khammany Backpackers
Khammany Backpackers
#35 of 148 in Luang Prabang
2 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 261 in Luang Prabang
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#17 of 261 in Luang Prabang
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Guesthouse

Property: Global Guesthouse
Address: Norlanalai Street, 79/4 Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Liberty Guest House)
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Global Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Global Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing