We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet”
Review of Global Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Global Guesthouse
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very clean guesthouse, helplful staff (there was one lady that was there all day long during our 5 nights stay, but she was very nice!). There guesthouse lookes a bit empty and is not a place to meet other people, but great if you want to have a quiet place to sleep. About 5 minutes to my favorite bakery in Laos, Joma! And close not far from the night marked. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hege L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Global Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 240 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Staying here for 2 night on middle dec 2012, and average need for traveler or backpackers. No matter where you stay in Luang Prabang , its quiet place. Less 10 min walk to market or busy area in the cente(Mekong river), Liberty guesthouse are nice, clean and simple (with attach bathroom,with wifi).the girl staff are well in English and be helpful to advice at the moment you arrive here.( Laos can be annoyed with people reply with "I can't speak English" everywhere).a good house guide will do good.value for money and clean place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wantedperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A little walk to the centre but in a lovely quiet road. Nice staff and super clean. We would have stayed longer but it was all booked. Would stay again for sure. There is tv and ac in the rooms. No kettle but hot showers. Laundry facilities close by or you can use the guest houses washing line.

Room Tip: Sorry iPad malfunction there is no pool!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuartdeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed for three nights at the Liberty Guest House in Luang Prabang at the end of September 2012. The place is nice and clean, no problem about that, and it's on a quiet street so there's no noise around.

The problem is that it's not very central, and Luang Prabang is a charming little town offering loads of accommodation in the main street and surroundings, so this place doesn't come very handy. Furthermore, I checked some other hostels and guesthouses in the main street offering better prices that the Liberty Guest House (although I didn't check them to be fair), so I guess there are better options in the area.

Breakfast was simple but it was included on the price. The service was pretty fair, no big fuzz. Recommendable but just take a look at some other options first... just in case.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We weren't sure about this guesthouse at first because they had limited reviews. After staying five nights, we couldn't be happier with our decision. The rooms are extremely large, the AC chills the room very nicely, flat T.V., and the breakfast will save you 30-40 thousand kip per person.

It is a little bit of a walk to "the main part of town". But only takes ten minutes by foot. If you really don't want to make the stroll, grab a bicycle for 10,000 kip.

It is a very peaceful part of town in what is a fairly peaceful area of Laos anyway. If you are worried about being in the "party" area, don't. Past 11:00pm everyone heads to the bowling ally or disco (out of town) anyway.

For more about Luang Prabang and activities in the area, copy and paste the link below into your browser.

http://aroundtheworldtripping.com/2012/10/07/luang-prabang/

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We booked a double room at this guesthouse. It is not a bad place, clean and spacious room, however our experience of the place was average. We found the lady who runs the place efficient but not overly friendly. She provided us with good info but we just found her slightly cold.

The 15000kip breakfast is a bit overpriced for what is offered.

My biggest complaint about this guesthouse though is the building itself. We had a very loud group of Americans in the room above us. They were exceptionally loud but the acoustic insulation is awful as you could her everything from neighbouring rooms!

Also the gueathouse is a goos 10minute walk from the centre which isn't bad but considering that are so many options in town, I don't think the place is worth the trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyrfsa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights. It was clean and the staff very friendly. But we had some cockroaches at night in our room. This is a no-go for me, because I'm really afraid of them. That's why I wouldn't book the guesthouse again. Apart from this it's a nice place to stay. Breakfast was included and quite good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyelessView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Moon's House Hotel
Moon's House Hotel
#1 of 153 in Luang Prabang
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khammany Backpackers
Khammany Backpackers
#42 of 153 in Luang Prabang
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
DownTown Backpackers Hostel
DownTown Backpackers Hostel
#6 of 153 in Luang Prabang
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sita-Norasingh Inn
Sita-Norasingh Inn
#34 of 266 in Luang Prabang
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Vongprachan Hotel
Maison Vongprachan Hotel
#9 of 153 in Luang Prabang
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tony Central Hostel
Tony Central Hostel
#4 of 153 in Luang Prabang
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Guesthouse

Address: Norlanalai Street, 79/4 Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Liberty Guest House)
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $15 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Global Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Global Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing