We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A lovely, relaxing stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2007

There are a few disappointing reviews for this hotel, and I’m not sure why: perhaps the other reviewers paid more than we did. We got a very good deal direct from the hotel’s website, which included breakfast every day, and an evening meal one night.

Some people have said that they’re surprised that it’s part of the Banyan Tree group, but it is part of the more downmarket “Colours of Angsana” brand: it’s like comparing an InterContinental to a Holiday Inn.

The hotel was in a good location: it was right on the edge of town, but that means it’s five minutes’ walk from the town centre – Luang Prabang is very small.

Pick-up from the airport was friendly and efficient. Check-in was easy, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The room wasn’t huge, but it was big enough. And it had a lovely big balcony. The bathroom decor may have been a good idea at the time (although I can't think when), but it’s frankly rather Trading Spaces / Changing Rooms. The shower screen is orange perspex. Orange! And the sink is orange plastic. Orange again! Ugh. The bed was comfortable, and there were lots of TV channels: I do find too few TV channels is a common failing in hotels where I’m planning to do as little as possible, so this was a good thing.

Again, the pool wasn’t massive, but it was big enough, and there was enough shade. The food was lovely: our free “Lao speciality meal” was delicious, and the buffalo steak baguettes by the pool were great.

All in all, I’d say the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room and pool were good, and the food was lovely. The location was good too. If you can get a good deal (sub US$100 or so), this is a very good hotel for the money.

And Luang Prabang was great. People were friendly; the food was great; the buildings were lovely; and we didn’t get any of the hassle that you get in some other cities in the region. It’s not an exciting place, but it is beautiful, and for a week of relaxing, it’s brilliant.

  • Liked — Friendly service, comfortable rooms, good location.
  • Disliked — Orange bathroom! What were they thinking?
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    181
    38
    19
    9
See reviews for
107
424
65
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

This was the worst hotel. Do not stay there unless you want to die of heat stroke.

It's above 100 degrees in Luang Prabang and the air conditioning kept going out. We would lie in bed at night, sweating and being completely miserable.

The pool water was worse than bath water and not refreshing at all.

We were not impressed with the food either. It was totally lousy.

Go somewhere else but don't stay here.

  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peroukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2007

We stayed at the Souvannaphoum in late Feb/early March 07. Our room (ground floor, next to fence) was broken into whilst we were asleep. The hotel has no CCTV and what purports to be 24 hour security proved useless. The next day the hotel management called the police who took our passports and subjected us to a rather unpleasant interrogation. We were effectively forced to retract our statements and pay a US$100 bribe to the police officer to get our passports back and just about catch our return flights to Bangkok.

The hotel manager assured us at our departure that the hotel's insurance would cover us for the stolen items. Subsequently, he failed to live up to his word and refused compensation. Lengthy email exchanges with Banyan Hotels also proved fruitless, all we were offered was 4 free nights in some remote Chinese hotel.

To summarise, we are still in disbelief at the appalling treatment we received from the local hotel manager and Banyan Tree head office. We chose a Banyan Tree hotel for the chain's high standards in looking after guests and to provide a safe comfortable stay - we were left entirely disappointed.

We were somewhat disconcerted to read through the hotel reviews again and come across a February 07 review which noted that "you need to be suspicious of any hotel that makes you sign a waiver of liability" upon check-in. We cannot stress this point enough following our bitter experience.

The Souvannaphoum hotel itself is nice enough, but not especially luxurious. You will be disappointed if you expect usual Banyan Tree standards. Apart from the hotel's questionable security, we would mention the overall standard of the accommodation, particularly our rather small substandard bathroom, with some weird plastic and natural stone design which was covered in mould. Overall, this wasn't great value for money.

We dined at the Residence Phou Vao one evening, which appeared much classier and more luxurious. We regretted not having spent the extra few dollars to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank CM002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2007

I found Luang Prabang really charming, people were warm and friendly and the town worth visiting.

The positive points of the hotel: The location was ideal, hotel design and decors in the reception and other public areas were quite nice, staff was friendly and service was good.

Then the negative: I did not like the garden view (at the rear of the hotel) we got on the first floor. First, it was too small. Second, the bathroom was terrible! I was hoping that the toilet and bath was clean enough even if it's not big, but no...the bath's design with rocks on the flooring were so dirty! We could not even take a bath without wearing rubber slippers on! Third, the white towels and robes provided were old and quite tattered (it is not white anymore)...Lastly, there were a lot of flies on the open dining area everytime we have our breakfast (it makes you wonder if they have a problem with waste disposal)

For the price we paid, and for being in the #2 slot in TA, and for the MS to be a member of the Banyan Tree Group and the SLH group, I was expecting for more than what we got. Had we known its negative points, we could have booked with a cheaper, newer and cleaner guest house (in the $30 to 50 range). I have my doubts recommending this hotel to others.

  • Liked — breakfast was tasty, wide range of choices
  • Disliked — cleanliness and bathroom design
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank maxliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

Compared to similar hotels in the price range in Luang Prabang, it seemed a bit disappointing. Location was good and the balcony was relaxing, but the room was small and the bathroom looked a bit dated (though it seemed to have been refurbished somewhat with a bit of garish orange). Restaurant was lacking in lighter options. Overall the hotel was fine but for the price in this town you would expect more.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank traveller11London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

The people were amazingly kind, even driving to the airport to check on our flight b/c the airline was not picking up the phone. We didn't even ask for this and they did not charge for this.

Rooms are almost bed and breakfast like moving away from the typical hotel space, this also means some quirks like a strange shower design that leads to a leak for the maids every day.

Nice location, close to the town center but not in it.

Hard to go wrong with this choice I would stay here again.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The Shower
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TokyoDroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

We came to Luang Prabang not knowing what to expect. This hotel met our expectations and then some. Usually when you hear charming you think old and decrepit. This is not the case here. The hotel has local charm jsut like the city itiself. We just spent 2 weeks in SE Asia and this city was the nicest place that we visited. The Lao people are kind and gentle and this is reflected in the hotel. The rooms are small but nicely furnished. The A/C works and the bathrooms are unique like a zen garden. This is not a chain hotel so if you expect that type of environment you will be disappointed. We loved the place. The pool is good for lap swimming and refreshing. Service was good as was the hotel retaurant though I think the Elephant Restaurant is a better choice.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank drjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
756 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
644 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Property: Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing