We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Lovely hotel with beautifully groomed grounds. My room was spacious and well appointed with nightly turn-down service. As a female traveling alone, I felt very comfortable at the hotel and appreciated the friendly and helpful staff. I arranged for an airport pick-up by the hotel and was greeted immediately after getting my baggage by one of the gracious staff. Breakfast was delicious - especially the freshly made coconut pancakes! The hotel is located a short distance from the center of the old town, which can be reached easily by foot or on one of the hotel's bicycles. If you go to the morning alms giving, they will pack a box of rice and fruit for you to give to the monks (just ask the day before). If I return to Luang Prabang, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTravelMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear Mary M,

I trust you have had exciting onward travels and a safe way back to Texas.

Thank you for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your hotel of choice for your recent sojourn in Luang Prabang. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your time in this wonderful town so much and it is delightful to know that my team was able to contribute to a memorable holiday. Thank you for your kind words!

The coconut pancakes we serve for breakfast are a local specialty and one can easily get addicted to them for their sweet taste and crunchy texture. Please do not hesitate to contact us as we would be delighted to share the recipe with you.

Mary M, we truly hope you will be able to travel to this wonderful part of the world again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.

In the meantime, I wish you happy travels and all the best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    181
    37
    19
    9
See reviews for
107
424
65
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We arranged to be collected from the Mekong River and taken to the hotel. It was red carpet treatment all the way. We were checked in by staff with excellent english and presented with drinks. The room was lovely, the pool is great, the location awesome. Borrow the bikes and ride around Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteAndSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear PeterandMichelle,

Thank you very much for your review which I have read with much joy.

We are really glad to know you had a comfortable and memorable stay with us. It is great to learn that you found our rooms, pool and location to be a perfect fit for you. Please trust that we are all fully committed to making Maison Souvannaphoum a more pleasant and enjoyable place on a daily basis and shall certainly not rest on our laurels.

Once again, thank you for your kind words of praise and we look forward to welcoming you back to Luang Prabang in the hopefully not too distant future.

In the meantime, I wish you happy travels and all the best.

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

A nice boutique hotel. Very well maintained. Very helpful staff with a good command of English.

Swimming pool is rather small (photos might trick you), but sufficiently big still. Breakfast was good. And hotel is close to city center and night market.

Only small suggestion for improvement is the sometimes rather weak WIFI signal.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms in the Garden Wing, rooms 201 (especially), 202 and 203 have great views and are locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Casper N,

I trust you have had a smooth and uneventful journey back to Seoul.

We were delighted to read in your review that you have had an overall pleasant stay with us. I would like to particularly thank you for your kind words of praise for the team. Your feedback has been very well received.

I did duly take note of your feedback regarding the WIFI connectivity. While it can be a challenge to find a reliable and consistent supplier here in Laos, I would like to ensure you that we are currently testing two more outdoor repeaters that will bring more stability to the network. My sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused to your good self in this regard.

Casper N, we would certainly be delighted to be of service to you again and look forward to welcoming you back to Maison Souvannaphoum.

In the meantime, I wish you a good day and all the best.

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Rooms were nice, the pool refreshing, good Wifi and great location. Staff were wonderful, day spa had nice facilities but I was a little disappointed with my treatment. The massage therapist seemed a little inexperienced but eager to please.

Rooms were well soundproofed and beds very comfy. A quiet small hotel with good service.

The buffet breakfast was a little limited in comparison to other 5 star hotels but selection was adequate.

Room Tip: Garden wing at back away from main road. We preferred the upstairs rooms (202-205) as people often w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlayfulPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear PlayfulPup,

Thank you very much for kindly having taken the time to share your impressions with us and fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor.

I did read your review with much attention and joy and have not missed to share your praise with my colleagues.

At the same time I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the disappointment with your SPA treatment. We strive for top quality treatments at our Angsana SPA and our SPA manager has taken due note of your invaluable feedback.

Once again, PlayfulPup, thank you for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your hotel of choice and we look forward to welcoming you back.

In the meantime, I would like to wish you a good day and all the very best.

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is only a small hotel with only 24 rooms. The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough to help you. Rooms were nice overlooking the gardens. Pool was small but with only so few rooms wasn't ever an issue. Try the chili cocktail it was beautiful, with a little bit of bite.
Breakfast was basic, but had everything you needed.
Hotel in great location, just down the road from the night market and many restaurants.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubtychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Aubtychris,

Thank you for kindly having taken the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that we, at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel were able to contribute to an overall pleasant and memorable sojourn in Luang Prabang.Thank you also for your kind words about our employees and I do indeed realize just how lucky I am to be working with such a delightful group of young and eager people.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime I wish you happy travels and all the very best!

Best regards,
Katejiraporn Ms.
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We spent the first three days of our honeymoon at maison souvannaphoum and what a wonderful experience it was. The staff were extremely helpful and very diligent. The breakfasts made to order with the freshest of ingredients and the freshly squeezed pineapple juice was to die for. We also sampled the evening taster menu which was presented in a magnificent boat and was nice but the catfish curry portion was special!! We stayed in the garden wing and loved our spacious clean room. The hotel is only a short walk from the market etc so the location is perfect. The WiFi in our room was slightly temperamental but that didn't bother us because everything else was so perfect. If we ever return to luang praban we wouldn't stay anywhere else!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank libertinesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear libertinesrule,

Greetings from Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel and many thanks for your encouraging feedback.

We were all delighted to read your review and thank you for choosing Maison Souvannaphoum on your Honeymoon trip in Luang Prabang. I am particularly happy to learn that you found our staff to be friendly, our breakfast delicious and the rooms to be comfortable and well serviced. Please trust that we are fully committed to upkeep and improve our services and facilities on a daily basis in order to make “Maison” an ever more comfortable and pleasant place.

It would certainly be a great pleasure to welcoming you back when you may return to Luang Prabang.

In the meantime, I would like to wish you happy travels and all the very best.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K Ms.
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a lovely little hotel with probably the most helpful and courteous staff you will find anywhere in the world. Note that 5 star in Luang Prabang is probably only 4 star anywhere else in the world. My only word of advice is ensure you do NOT stay on the ground floor. Guests can start checking out as early as 5.a.m. and if they're in any of the rooms above you, you will certainly be woken up. It happened to me twice and once you're awake, you're awake. It's a good time to get up and watch the monks receiving morning alms though. The room has aircon and the bathroom would have been a little better with a bath but all in all, very comfortable, clean & nice. There is Wi-Fi but my Samsung Galaxy would not connect unless I went to the pool area. The breakfast is pretty good except when they do the a la carte breakfast (nowhere near as nice even though it's the same food). The drinks at the pool are very expensive so make the most of happy hour. Ideal location for the river, night market & town centre. Had a superb 6 nights here & would love to go back one day. Taxi or tuk tuk to airport is about £3 max and only 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: You must get a room UPSTAIRS if staying in the Garden Wings. Otherwise you will be woken up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coxyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear coxyr1,

I read your review here on Tripadvisor with great interest and joy. It is really wonderful to know that we have been able to provide a comfortable stay in Luang Prabang. This is certainly all my team and I could possibly wish to achieve. Thank you for your kind feedback on the breakfast spread as well as the room allocation and please trusts that we shall make every effort to upkeep the levels of our service and the attention to detail.

Once again, thank you very much for having stayed with us at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel during your recent sojourn in Luang Prabang and for having taken the time to share your account with fellow travelers. We would be delighted to host yet another comfortable stay for you in the hopefully not too distant future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
754 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
644 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Property: Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing