We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel Staff in Luang Prabang” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best hotel Staff in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I went to Luang Prabang first time during 11-15 April 2014, To enjoy Songkan Festival. And we stayed at a garden wing at room 207. During my stay, Miss Katejiraporn Kaewngarmsa-ard (Apple), Acting as Hotel Manager was very nice to us, professionally and helpfuu;y. She maked us feel welcome all 5 days. She really care and helpful, It was very hot and we justed came back from a short walking, MS Apple went to get us some cold drink water and ran after us to our room just to offer the best drinking water and best services mind. Breakfast very nice and a special dinner was wonderful the chef Mr. Sujinda was very nice and his cook was great, He told us that if we wanted any special menu, he would do it for us. All local staff was very helpful, very nice and all speak English and Thai very well. Peaceful and safety and clean. The balcony very nice touch. Turn over bed was very nice. The Spa was nice and I enjoy it a lot. The hotel really located in the best location in Luang Prabang. only 5 minutes to night market and morning market. Room services was nice. I would like to thanks all satff, espeacially MS Apple. I will come back again and stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Room on the deep gaeden wing where you can see swiming pool are more quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawyernui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear lawyernui,

First and foremost I would like to wish you a happy and healthy “Laos new year.”

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your review with us and fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you thought to have made the right choice with booking Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel. I have not missed to share your kind feedback with my team as it really is my staff who merits the praise. I was also very happy to have read that you found everyone at our hotel to have rendered delightful and considerate service. Once again – thank you very much. Please trust that we are fully committed to making Maison Souvannaphoum a more enjoyable and pleasant place every day and in any way we can and shall keep improving on our facilities and the services rendered.

We would certainly be delighted to provide you with yet another comfortable stay when you may return to Luang Prabang next visit.

In the meantime, I would like to wish you a good day and all the very best.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director Of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    173
    36
    19
    9
See reviews for
101
410
59
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel deserves its good reviews for the ambiance, service, history, and location. I especially enjoyed the decorations from local fabrics.

The main negative about this hotel is the lackluster air conditioning, which may only be a problem in the hot season. In our garden wing room, the A/C is not pointed toward the bed, and it really wasn't powerful enough to cool the entire room. It was an older model, and we were very hot at night. I wouldn't recommend this hotel in the hot season. It would really benefit from some ceiling fans to push the cool air down toward the bed.

A second, albeit small point, is that the slotted door to the restroom provides little if any privacy.

Room Tip: During the hot season, ask for a room with a new A/C unit or a room that has a ceiling fan (I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear DC3s,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your review here on TripAdvisor.


I am really sorry to hear your disappointment in regard of the air-conditioning condition in your room. As well as we have taken note on your suggestion of the slotted door to the restroom. Nevertheless, I do certainly understand the inconveniences this may have caused to you and would therefore like to extend my apologies to you yet again.

On the other hand, I am really glad to learn that you found our location, ambiance and services to be excellent and our team to have contributed to an overall pleasant stay. Thank you for your kind words of praise in this regard!

We would certainly be delighted to be of service to you again when you may return to this wonderful part of the world and please do not hesitate to contact me directly – I would be pleased to assist with arrangements.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Location, vegetation and overall spirit contributed to an unforgettable 5 night stay! The staff was help full and kind however the waiters and waitresses need some additional training! The menu is extensive and all plates tried were delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_burgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear peter_burgers,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review here on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to learn that you have throughout been delighted with your stay with us at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel. I have shared your encouraging feedback with my Kitchen team as it is really them who merit your kind praise. Please trust that we are fully committed to making Maison Souvannaphoum a more enjoyable and pleasant place every day and in any way we can and shall keep improving on our facilities and the services rendered.

We would certainly be delighted to provide you with yet another comfortable stay when you may return to Luang Prabang.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I think i will come back again if have a chance for this coming new year 2015

I visit here in summer, very hot but i can calm down by staffs services, plus it s a nice place, good food good taste. Also enjoy with the price comparing with over all services and atmosphere.

.

Room Tip: Happy stay at Maison
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sittichai U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Sittichai U,

Thank you yet again for sharing your impressions of Maison Souvannaphoum here on TripAdvisor.

I am really glad to know that you were overall delighted with the location of our hotel as well as with the services rendered to your good self. We very much hope that you are already planning your next visit to Luang Prabang on which occasion we would love to welcome you back!

Until then , I would like to wish you a good day and all the very best.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Very much impressed about their services, plus nice place, good food good taste. Also enjoy with the price comparing with over all services and atmosphere.

Will come back again if have a chance and i will bring more guests to join.

Room Tip: Good place to visit and stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Titiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Titiang,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your preferred hotel for your recent visit to Luang Prabang.
Your kind words of praise have been conveyed to my team here and your feedback certainly made everyone very proud. I am happy to learn that we have been able to contribute to an overall memorable first visit to Laos and hope that you may be traveling to this wonderful part of the world again soon. It would certainly be delightful to welcoming you back to Maison Souvannaphoum on this occasion!

Kind Regards,
Katejiraporn K.
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here during Laos new year the city was crowed however hotel provide great food in the restaurant. The had everything for what the country are allow to I believed some item are hardly find in the city. The hotel is unique, feel like stay home. All staffs are attentive nice, polite and try every effort the assist you with. Lovely garden, pool and lotus pond. Spa is lovely they have special promotion which worth of every penny. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Gerden wing nice overlook garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Kwan L,

On behalf of everyone here at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind praise and encouragement. We were delighted to read your review here on Tripadvisor. I am particularly pleased to learn that you enjoyed our Hotel Facilities, Food and Services as well as the convenient location of our hotel.

Kwan L, we would certainly love to be of service to you again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to “Maison” again soon.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Have seen this hotel rated as four and five stars it is neither, however the staff and service are. The front desk people were excellent, helpful, knowledgeable and attentive.
We arrived late and had the option of eating in the hotel dining room. It was one of the most unappealing I have sen in a long time. Breakfast is served in the same room and to say it is tired is an understatement, furniture and decor both need updating. There was plenty to eat at breakfast but again not four or five star standard.
Our room had been updated but it did not live up to Angsana standards. Bathroom was fine but simple shower room. I had a nice massage in a good room, but the area leading to it was like a stagnant pond.
People say hotel has been renovated but just adding another coat of paint to woodwork that has been done many times over is not the same.
Having stayed at Banyan Trees and seen other Angsana this does not compare. There is nothing wrong and we enjoyed our stay but please give it a correct rating as it leads to high expectations. This was by far our worst hotel in Asia one of which had also been 4 star but was light years away from this. Service here was comparable to our other hotels. Having seen others hotels in LP we would not stay here again or recommend to friends as the other hotels, in our opinion are nicer.
I know this is meant to be a little old fashioned but so were others we stayed at which were so much better.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark and Wils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Mark and Wils B,

Thank you for kindly having taken the time to post your review here on tripadvisor. I did read your account with much interest. We are glad to learn that you had an overall nice stay with us and that you were pleased with the services rendered by our front office team.

In the meantime, I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback on the area of maintenance and I would like to assure you that we make every effort to constantly upkeep and improve our facilities and services.

Mark and Wils B, once again thank you very much for your time and consideration and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We would certainly be pleased to be of service to you again in the future.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.0 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Property: Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing